Fellas, any of you came across mechanical hard drive failure? Any recovery service based in West Malaysia to recommend? Thanks in advance TT
Data Recovery Service Recommendations?, external HDD failed, valuable data..
Jan 19 2021, 02:38 PM, updated 5y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
Probation
9 posts Joined: Jan 2021 |
Fellas, any of you came across mechanical hard drive failure? Any recovery service based in West Malaysia to recommend? Thanks in advance TT
Jan 19 2021, 02:45 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,389 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(jazzytune @ Jan 19 2021, 02:38 PM) Fellas, any of you came across mechanical hard drive failure? Any recovery service based in West Malaysia to recommend? Thanks in advance TT How critical is the data ? Got cheap and expensive providers. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 02:47 PM
Probation
QUOTE(waghyu @ Jan 19 2021, 02:45 PM) around 1.2TB out of 1.4TB, I'd say quite valuable as half of them are work related, I'm open to suggestions, don't mind the price, do tell me anyway jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 03:40 PM
592 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
Jan 19 2021, 03:46 PM
37 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Petaling |
QUOTE(brkli @ Jan 19 2021, 03:40 PM) got malaysia provider? ontrack nearest is singapore jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 03:58 PM
592 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
QUOTE(kkxhamtan @ Jan 19 2021, 03:46 PM) got to know about this from my recent purchase of WD ext hdd. as it have limited coverage for data recovery under the 1 year warranty.i dun think have provider in malaysia, but rather we might need to send over the HDD (not sure directly or through WD or what) and they handle the data recovery on their side. haven't inquire more info on that part. may need to check with them for the details. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 06:30 PM
3,389 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(jazzytune @ Jan 19 2021, 02:47 PM) around 1.2TB out of 1.4TB, I'd say quite valuable as half of them are work related, I'm open to suggestions, don't mind the price, do tell me anyway Which brand / make? Write to the manufacturer as you want to get service from reputable recovery provider. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 06:33 PM
Probation
seagate expansion portable jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 06:51 PM
13,210 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
got lalu one shop name is smart data recovery at penang. dunno good or not jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 06:55 PM
6,733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
I used this company service few years ago. https://www.mydatarecovery.my/ I brought in a Toshiba 1TB external. Cannot recover. The new T&C today says no charge. But i was charged RM150 last time for diagnosis. So if TS want to use their service, ask if they charge for diagnosis. Their No Data, No charge is open policy. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 19 2021, 07:02 PM
112 posts Joined: Jun 2019 |
have you tried put in the freezer? i had one inaccessible external hard disk last time. someone suggest put in freezer overnight and after that the disk work like normal. so i backup all the data to cloud. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 20 2021, 03:05 PM
Probation
QUOTE(Hardcore Leveling Warrior @ Jan 19 2021, 07:02 PM) have you tried put in the freezer? no i havent, I suspect it's click of death, I'll try this as the last resort before sending it to recovery centeri had one inaccessible external hard disk last time. someone suggest put in freezer overnight and after that the disk work like normal. so i backup all the data to cloud. |
Jan 20 2021, 03:08 PM
1,712 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
dont do anything to hdd anymore and go to professional recovery services. dont go lowyat and do cheap recovery, u get rubbish data back. You will waste time and money. jazzytune liked this post
Jan 20 2021, 06:28 PM
Probation
Thank you all for your responses, appreciate'em. On hindsight, I have lost faith in Seagate.. nope, im not concluding that Seagate is bad just because of my bad encounter, well, u know.. ptsd
Sep 10 2021, 12:18 PM
68 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Hi guys, wanted to share my experience on the same bad luck I'm having with my external HDD and my experience with Seagate customer service so far.
Device : Seagate Agent Free Go Flex 1TB (warranty expired 2014) Problem : Have been using this HDD almost every other day and yesterday, it failed on me (no direct physical damage happened - eg. dropping it, liquid got in, etc). It appears on device manager and the task bar "safely remove hardward and eject media" but DOEST NOT appear on disk management/diskpart And surprisingly, googling revealed this as quite a common problem (not seagate specific but HDD) and some have manage to fix it by a few different methods proposed on the web. Also, found 1 user who had the exact same issue with me is that, when it is plug it in to my desktop, my PC wont be able to restart or shut down, it just goes to the windows bluescreen. Attempted solution (aside from googling which didnt work) : 1/ shorlisted a few local companies for data recovery (thanks to reviews and post by forumers) - yet to call them 2/ called up Seagate https://www.seagate.com/as/en/contacts/ Got connected very quickly to a customer service staff. I explained the situation and he recommended : 1/ open up the casing and try to plug it in directly from the internal drive While still on the phone, I was trying this method with a screwdriver, I could not (without trying to use excessive force) 2/ He mentioned that Seagate would provide a COMPLIMENTARY data recovery service onto a new external HDD FOC. This includes FOC shipping/logistics to their lab at Netherlands and back through UPS. The only thing he mentioned that I might have to pay for is any government tax that might be imposed. He'll be sending me an email with all the details required and labels required for the UPS logistics. TAT : expected to take 1 month from UPS picking up my HDD, data recovery and sending back to me I'm not sure bout you guys......but FOC service with 1 month TAT (considering it's in netherlands) seems like a damn good deal to me. Will try to update what happens 1 month later Anyways, hope this sharing helps. Cheers! |
Sep 10 2021, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(vernee26 @ Sep 10 2021, 12:18 PM) Hi guys, wanted to share my experience on the same bad luck I'm having with my external HDD and my experience with Seagate customer service so far. can u provide some email evidence and details of what you said?Device : Seagate Agent Free Go Flex 1TB (warranty expired 2014) Problem : Have been using this HDD almost every other day and yesterday, it failed on me (no direct physical damage happened - eg. dropping it, liquid got in, etc). It appears on device manager and the task bar "safely remove hardward and eject media" but DOEST NOT appear on disk management/diskpart And surprisingly, googling revealed this as quite a common problem (not seagate specific but HDD) and some have manage to fix it by a few different methods proposed on the web. Also, found 1 user who had the exact same issue with me is that, when it is plug it in to my desktop, my PC wont be able to restart or shut down, it just goes to the windows bluescreen. Attempted solution (aside from googling which didnt work) : 1/ shorlisted a few local companies for data recovery (thanks to reviews and post by forumers) - yet to call them 2/ called up Seagate https://www.seagate.com/as/en/contacts/ Got connected very quickly to a customer service staff. I explained the situation and he recommended : 1/ open up the casing and try to plug it in directly from the internal drive While still on the phone, I was trying this method with a screwdriver, I could not (without trying to use excessive force) 2/ He mentioned that Seagate would provide a COMPLIMENTARY data recovery service onto a new external HDD FOC. This includes FOC shipping/logistics to their lab at Netherlands and back through UPS. The only thing he mentioned that I might have to pay for is any government tax that might be imposed. He'll be sending me an email with all the details required and labels required for the UPS logistics. TAT : expected to take 1 month from UPS picking up my HDD, data recovery and sending back to me I'm not sure bout you guys......but FOC service with 1 month TAT (considering it's in netherlands) seems like a damn good deal to me. Will try to update what happens 1 month later Anyways, hope this sharing helps. Cheers! |
Sep 10 2021, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Selectt @ Sep 10 2021, 12:42 PM) sure. hopefully I've censored all personal details =)another email on a ticket they have created for the technical support with the steps to take for the logistics witth UPS (sorry, lazy to edit/censor it, print screen and post it). rest assured, I've no malicious intent. I just wanted to give back to LY forumers as I myself have found lots of information on LY. Super stress last night googling on method to fix this problem and other forumer's experience and data recovery centres recommendations. As a selfish LY reader for years, I feel bad, and sometimes I act upon it to share back. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by vernee26: Sep 10 2021, 01:34 PM |
Sep 10 2021, 01:46 PM
473 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
If you have important data never store it on one HD. Always have a backup of the data. I have my data on my PC HD and backed up to a portable HD. If you store your data only on one HD you are asking for trouble. This is very basic advice.
Sep 10 2021, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(kluseng @ Sep 10 2021, 01:46 PM) If you have important data never store it on one HD. Always have a backup of the data. I have my data on my PC HD and backed up to a portable HD. If you store your data only on one HD you are asking for trouble. This is very basic advice. Yup, totally agreed...unfortunately I backed up that ext HDD to another external HDDD....but have been complacent in doing it (regret now).....definitely user problem (ie me) |
Sep 10 2021, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(vernee26 @ Sep 10 2021, 12:18 PM) Hi guys, wanted to share my experience on the same bad luck I'm having with my external HDD and my experience with Seagate customer service so far. Come to think of it, should I be concerned that seagate customer service could proactively just offer me a so called "one time of data recovery" ? warranty expired in 2014 and they will bear the cost of all logistics to Netherlands!?!!?Device : Seagate Agent Free Go Flex 1TB (warranty expired 2014) Problem : Have been using this HDD almost every other day and yesterday, it failed on me (no direct physical damage happened - eg. dropping it, liquid got in, etc). It appears on device manager and the task bar "safely remove hardward and eject media" but DOEST NOT appear on disk management/diskpart And surprisingly, googling revealed this as quite a common problem (not seagate specific but HDD) and some have manage to fix it by a few different methods proposed on the web. Also, found 1 user who had the exact same issue with me is that, when it is plug it in to my desktop, my PC wont be able to restart or shut down, it just goes to the windows bluescreen. Attempted solution (aside from googling which didnt work) : 1/ shorlisted a few local companies for data recovery (thanks to reviews and post by forumers) - yet to call them 2/ called up Seagate https://www.seagate.com/as/en/contacts/ Got connected very quickly to a customer service staff. I explained the situation and he recommended : 1/ open up the casing and try to plug it in directly from the internal drive While still on the phone, I was trying this method with a screwdriver, I could not (without trying to use excessive force) 2/ He mentioned that Seagate would provide a COMPLIMENTARY data recovery service onto a new external HDD FOC. This includes FOC shipping/logistics to their lab at Netherlands and back through UPS. The only thing he mentioned that I might have to pay for is any government tax that might be imposed. He'll be sending me an email with all the details required and labels required for the UPS logistics. TAT : expected to take 1 month from UPS picking up my HDD, data recovery and sending back to me I'm not sure bout you guys......but FOC service with 1 month TAT (considering it's in netherlands) seems like a damn good deal to me. Will try to update what happens 1 month later Anyways, hope this sharing helps. Cheers! As per the staff email following my call with him, it reads "...I’d like to provide you with a one-time only exception. You’re aware this is not our normal policy, but to ensure you’re completely satisfied." |
Sep 10 2021, 02:35 PM
just call seagate malaysia and confirm if they do
Oct 15 2021, 03:44 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Sharing updates from my previous post. I printed out UPS stickers, packed my ext HDD with protection/wrap/styrofoam and ringed up UPS. Straightforward with UPS, came and collect my ext HDD. Was a bit shocked initially that when my Ext HDD arrive at their lab in netherlands, automated email mentioned it would take up to 30 days. The initial conversation with the Seagate service personnel mentioned 10 days, but I'm not complaining as it's not urgent, as long as my data can be recovered. Received email notification that it was successful (don't know 100% or partial or what). Shall wait for the device to come back to update last part. For now, here's some screenshots. ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Oct 15 2021, 03:55 PM
3,970 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Dayum i didn't know they willing to do that . Complimentary somemore...
Oct 27 2021, 08:00 PM
quick update on final status. I received a new 2TB seagate HDD (my ori was only a 1TB) with data recovered in it 2-3 days ago via UPS.
Don't know if they manage to recover 100%, but looks like most of it was recovered (there was about 400+GB initially if I recalled). even some deleted files I think was recovered cos I saw a few "recycle" folders in there with files in it. Some files were in wrong folders, but I guess it's not surprising. Time to clean it up. P.S. because of this incident, I got traumatized and have subscribed to google 1 and synced all my important folders |
Oct 27 2021, 08:07 PM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Seagate so good service
Dec 29 2022, 01:59 PM
Probation
9 posts Joined: Dec 2022 |
QUOTE(vernee26 @ Oct 27 2021, 08:00 PM) quick update on final status. I received a new 2TB seagate HDD (my ori was only a 1TB) with data recovered in it 2-3 days ago via UPS. Hi thanks for your experience sharing and I think this is very useful tips for me, but can I know finally did you pay anything for the custom charges or any charges when you get back your recovery hard disk or replacement hard disk? Is it totally FOC?? Or how much does it cost?Don't know if they manage to recover 100%, but looks like most of it was recovered (there was about 400+GB initially if I recalled). even some deleted files I think was recovered cos I saw a few "recycle" folders in there with files in it. Some files were in wrong folders, but I guess it's not surprising. Time to clean it up. P.S. because of this incident, I got traumatized and have subscribed to google 1 and synced all my important folders Thank you. |
Dec 29 2022, 02:17 PM
2,508 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Feb 20 2024, 10:17 AM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Feb 20 2024, 04:44 PM
312 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Sep 13 2024, 11:23 AM
445 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 19 2021, 06:51 PM) They have a branch in KL now. Can vouch for them as I used them recently and they came through. Managed to save 95% hours of my data from a laptop drive. Took over a month though (time depends on how bad your drive is). Also reasonable price compared to other data rescue places from my research. Only just a bit of communication issues, had to kinda make the initiative of messaging them weekly for updates. Other than that would recommend them. ktek liked this post
Sep 13 2024, 11:26 AM
13,210 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(subaiku @ Sep 13 2024, 11:23 AM) They have a branch in KL now. Can vouch for them as I used them recently and they came through. Managed to save 95% hours of my data from a laptop drive. Took over a month though (time depends on how bad your drive is). Also reasonable price compared to other data rescue places from my research. Only just a bit of communication issues, had to kinda make the initiative of messaging them weekly for updates. Other than that would recommend them. yup x2, boleh pakai one |
| Change to: | 0.0318sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:21 AM |