Question about spare parts for Proton, Original, OEM, and aftermarket brands

TSSteponlego
post Jan 17 2021, 10:47 AM, updated 5y ago

938 posts

Hi. I'm planning to do a full restoration of the rear suspension of my Persona, replace the lower arm, short and long arm, trailing arm bushing and the shock absorber. However I'm confused with the price difference between some no name OEM available on the online market. So far the cheapest I can find is from Shopee claiming to be Mitsubishi OEM part. And then there's local aftermarket brand such Saiko, Mounting King, Schmaco and Muteki. The most expensive are the Proton original parts.

Is there a big difference between these spare parts of different prices? Because it doesn't look like anything much will fail in a rear lower arm: it's just a huge chunk of metal and some rubber bushings. I know that for engine parts, it is always recommended to stick to original.

And does Mitsubishi really makes OEM part for Proton?
clockpulses
post Jan 17 2021, 01:52 PM

386 posts

Lower arm very hard to bend, it is the bushings inside that it's harden or cracked

Some workshop provides restoration of arm bushing, they pushes the new bushing into the lower arm using special tools

This post has been edited by clockpulses: Jan 17 2021, 01:52 PM
speedy3210
post Jan 17 2021, 04:29 PM

518 posts

About to replace same exact items for my 21yrs old Wira too.

I would think the quality difference between some OEM brands with genuine Proton parts is quite big. For instance, I changed out the ori Proton short dog bone, and replaced with some cheap OEM ones. Difference in lifespan; 7.5yrs for genuine and less than 2yrs for OEM.

FYI, I am using Waja/Gen2/Persona type of dog bone on my Wira, so you can relate directly the lifespan.

As for the rear lower arms, mine is 21yrs old (came with car from factory). Wira/Waja/Persona all share the same rear lower arm. Genuine lower arms got this reinforcement plate at the bottom part, while a lot of OEMs don't have this plate.

Pricing for genuine rear lower arm is significant more. But you get back in terms of lifespan. If you factor in Shopee cashback and coins redemption, you will find genuine lower arm price is quite close to those OEMs. Only thing left is you gotta pray hard the seller is selling real genuine parts.

About trailing arm bush, there are 2 versions of genuine parts. 1 is Waja/Wira/Persona version (spaced rubber) and another is Satria Neo version (full rubber). Was told by spare parts shop that ori spaced rubber is more comfortable than the full rubber ones. There is also PU full rubber version from OEM. Your pick.

Lastly I personally will never get Mitsubishi branded parts meant for older Protons for 1 simple reason; it is the most frequently imitated parts.
zeng
post Jan 17 2021, 05:07 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Jan 17 2021, 01:52 PM)
Lower arm very hard to bend, it is the bushings inside that it's harden or cracked

Some workshop provides restoration of arm bushing, they pushes the new bushing into the lower arm using special tools
Mind sharing if you know of any of these restoring the bushings or those providing made to order (modified) bushings ?
clockpulses
post Jan 17 2021, 05:13 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Jan 17 2021, 05:07 PM)
Mind sharing if you know of any of these restoring the bushings  or those providing made to order (modified) bushings ?
Few months ago was recomended by our fellow forummer THE CLASS OF 13 his friend's workshop. Unfortunately i didnt have time to go yet as quiete far from my house.

tuners revolution

https://m.facebook.com/pg/tunersrevolutions/

Saw the fb, and the review, not bad eh

Will spare my free time to go the for sure
croydon
post Jan 17 2021, 05:28 PM

533 posts

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?stor...103538193065925

zeng
post Jan 17 2021, 05:56 PM

1,810 posts

Thank you, Sirs .

Cheers . notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Jan 17 2021, 05:56 PM
TSSteponlego
post Jan 17 2021, 06:40 PM

938 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Jan 17 2021, 01:52 PM)

My Persona should be 14 years old this year. All the bushings is intact except the rear stabilizer link which has turned into a rotten piece of rubber on a stick. The trailing arm bushing makes creaking noise when passenger enters the car. I'm thinking that just replace the part would be more economical since the labor cost for changing the bushings might be more expensive.

I didn't have any issues with uneven tire wear or anything. Maybe I don't need a full restoration of the rear suspension?

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jan 17 2021, 04:29 PM)

Pricing for genuine rear lower arm is significant more. But you get back in terms of lifespan. If you factor in Shopee cashback and coins redemption, you will find genuine lower arm price is quite close to those OEMs. Only thing left is you gotta pray hard the seller is selling real genuine parts.

About trailing arm bush, there are 2 versions of genuine parts. 1 is Waja/Wira/Persona version (spaced rubber) and another is Satria Neo version (full rubber). Was told by spare parts shop that ori spaced rubber is more comfortable than the full rubber ones. There is also PU full rubber version from OEM. Your pick.

Lastly I personally will never get Mitsubishi branded parts meant for older Protons for 1 simple reason; it is the most frequently imitated parts.
That's why I'm leaning more to local aftermarket parts. At least I'll get what I'm paying for, instead of paying more for non-original and claimed to be original. hmm.gif Right now I'm looking at Mitsubishi parts by TroyParts on Shopee, I gotta say the price really makes you wonder.
alexei
post Jan 18 2021, 04:14 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Jan 17 2021, 06:40 PM)
My Persona should be 14 years old this year. All the bushings is intact except the rear stabilizer link which has turned into a rotten piece of rubber on a stick. The trailing arm bushing makes creaking noise when passenger enters the car. I'm thinking that just replace the part would be more economical since the labor cost for changing the bushings might be more expensive.

I didn't have any issues with uneven tire wear or anything. Maybe I don't need a full restoration of the rear suspension?
That's why I'm leaning more to local aftermarket parts. At least I'll get what I'm paying for, instead of paying more for non-original and claimed to be original.  hmm.gif Right now I'm looking at Mitsubishi parts by TroyParts on Shopee, I gotta say the price really makes you wonder.
Look for reputable mechanic to replace only as needed.

You can choose to replace with good quality parts, Proton also change supplier over time. Recently I see they got TRIM to build their parts. Some times, price don't justify it.

Or, press polyurethane bushing like shown in ALK picture above. Those bushing can last very long, except when kena oil or abrasive things like rusted parts.
frontierzone
post Apr 12 2024, 10:05 AM

735 posts

May I know what is currently the best mounting (engine) brand for Saga Iswara? Is the original Proton part still manufactured? Heard Schmaco is bad, Mitsu mostly imitation.

And I also heard several shops said Iswara Lower Arm they don't replace ball bushing? This true or they just lazy to? Apparently they say need to change while arm and only got OEM brands which is unsure of quality IMO.

This post has been edited by frontierzone: Apr 12 2024, 10:08 AM
littlegamer
post Apr 12 2024, 10:11 AM

664 posts

Persona owner here. Mine is the BH model. I been using saiko and muteki and schmaco.

It is a 8 year old car so I went for aftermarket parts. To be honest I don't see the point of buying ori proton parts, they are almost the same after replacing them I just feel it return to original feel.

Ofc the concern of durability comes to mind.
I asked mounting king before including installations and all parts they have, the full price +1 year warranty they give is assuring.

Also the price of mounting king can let me replace 2 times over original proton.

My ori proton parts last 8 years lesser, if those oem parts last 4 years, is good enough for me.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Apr 12 2024, 10:12 AM
caviars
post Apr 12 2024, 10:49 AM

1,144 posts

Original Proton is the best. Provided that the workmanship is good. But you may need to wait for parts.

OEM is a hit and miss. I think the quality has degraded, but still ok if you plan to use it for 2-3 years. The worst is that you get bad parts and has to waste time in workshop multiple time.

GamersFamilia
post Apr 12 2024, 11:09 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

depending on your budget , original definitely the best but the price not as cheap as oem and after market brands .. but original will last long which is cheap in long term
sg8989
post Sep 15 2024, 10:20 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Apr 12 2024, 10:11 AM)
Persona owner here. Mine is the BH model. I been using saiko and muteki and schmaco.

It is a 8 year old car so I went for aftermarket parts. To be honest I don't see the point of buying ori proton parts, they are almost the same after replacing them I just feel it return to original feel.

Ofc the concern of durability comes to mind.
I asked mounting king before including installations and all parts they have, the full price +1 year warranty they give is assuring.

Also the price of mounting king can let me replace 2 times over original proton.

My ori proton parts last 8 years lesser, if those oem parts last 4 years, is good enough for me.
I checked saiko lower arm price in Shopee is quite cheap.
How is the durability for brand saiko
One paid less than RM200.
littlegamer
post Sep 15 2024, 10:44 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(sg8989 @ Sep 15 2024, 10:20 PM)
I checked saiko lower arm price in Shopee is quite cheap.
How is the durability for brand saiko
One paid less than RM200.
Is been 4 years since I change my lower arm.
Can say is already worn. Time to change.

Compare to ori proton I would say same durability.

Same goes to suspension mounting also 4 years is worn
sg8989
post Sep 15 2024, 10:58 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Sep 15 2024, 10:44 PM)
Is been 4 years since I change my lower arm.
Can say is already worn. Time to change.

Compare to ori proton I would say same durability.

Same goes to suspension mounting also 4 years is worn
4 years is fine for me since the price is much cheaper
Saiko lower arm rm190 one pair
Proton lower arm rm1000 one pair for my proton preve.
littlegamer
post Sep 16 2024, 01:43 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(sg8989 @ Sep 15 2024, 10:58 PM)
4 years is fine for me since the price is much cheaper
Saiko lower arm rm190 one pair
Proton lower arm rm1000 one pair for my proton preve.
I rmb I heard from somewhere that, most manufacturers make parts for proton or peroduo also makes parts as 3rd party branding.

Their quality is relatively the same. If the shop give 6 months warranty for aftermarket parts that's a plus.

I would say daily car like saga and persona just buy any parts that is safe and decent.

You can check on mounting king or muteki or munster, they are all from Batu Caves area surprisingly maybe all come from same manufacturer.

Do visit muteki, they have a concept store for inquiries.
sg8989
post Sep 16 2024, 12:13 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Sep 16 2024, 01:43 AM)
I rmb I heard from somewhere that, most manufacturers make parts for proton or peroduo also makes parts as 3rd party branding.

Their quality is relatively the same. If the shop give 6 months warranty for aftermarket parts that's a plus.

I would say daily car like saga and persona just buy any parts that is safe and decent.

You can check on mounting king or muteki or munster, they are all from Batu Caves area surprisingly maybe all come from same manufacturer.

Do visit muteki, they have a concept store for inquiries.
Yes

I heard my foreman recommend JEB brand
They do supply to proton as well.
As long as not those
Fake proton genuine
Fake mitsubishi
Those, SCHMACO, saiko, gsp, lucas ,trw should be fine
am i right?hehe

0.0224sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:44 PM