create rmvb

TSkokyun
post Aug 22 2007, 07:29 PM, updated 19y ago

770 posts

i would like to convert my avi files to rmvb, 1 pass 500k. what recommended software can i use ?

realplayer just can play, cannot convert.
benQue
post Aug 22 2007, 08:01 PM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

why dont u try isquint?
not sure can or not.
TSkokyun
post Aug 23 2007, 07:49 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(benQue @ Aug 22 2007, 08:01 PM)
why dont u try isquint?
not sure can or not.
sorry mate, that is not what i want le. no rmvb option

wei
post Aug 23 2007, 09:37 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

There's a codec for QT from Real. Just search in Real website.
It will enable you to export as .RM from QT.

Ain't this lovely? It's FREE.
Bad Cyborg
post Aug 23 2007, 11:05 AM

828 posts

Are you doing this by thinking that RMVB gives you the best quality/size? Then you'd be mistaken because it isn't. Plus RMVB doesn't play that well on OS X. Try H.264+AAC instead. It's supported by the greatest range of handheld devices, including iPod and iPhone.
carpathia
post Aug 23 2007, 12:34 PM

2,619 posts

i really freaking hate RMVB. why dont people just use divx which gives better quality and file size anyways?
allvin
post Aug 23 2007, 12:54 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Aug 23 2007, 01:34 PM)
i really freaking hate RMVB. why dont people just use divx which gives better quality and file size anyways?
the problem is divx or xvid codec in avi/mp4/mkv or whatever container will give you big file size. The quality is great but not as good as H264 tongue.gif Why ppl (mostly china/taiwan ppl) use it? Cos' of the file size. it is quicker to upload and download as well. Those ppl don't care about quality but they only want quantity, you should know about those china dvds brows.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Aug 23 2007, 12:55 PM
TSkokyun
post Aug 23 2007, 02:35 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 23 2007, 09:37 AM)
There's a codec for QT from Real. Just search in Real website.
It will enable you to export as .RM from QT.

Ain't this lovely? It's FREE.
wei, i can't find it, where is the codec file ? so far i found the real player download button only, no codec download. from here

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Aug 23 2007, 11:05 AM)
Are you doing this by thinking that RMVB gives you the best quality/size? Then you'd be mistaken because it isn't. Plus RMVB doesn't play that well on OS X. Try H.264+AAC instead. It's supported by the greatest range of handheld devices, including iPod and iPhone.
QUOTE(carpathia @ Aug 23 2007, 12:34 PM)
QUOTE(allvin @ Aug 23 2007, 12:54 PM)
the problem is divx or xvid codec in avi/mp4/mkv or whatever container will give you big file size. The quality is great but not as good as H264  tongue.gif Why ppl (mostly china/taiwan ppl) use it? Cos' of the file size. it is quicker to upload and download as well. Those ppl don't care about quality but they only want quantity, you should know about those china dvds  brows.gif
to bad cyborg and carpathia, compare with all video formats, we can get the highest quality with h.264 plus aac, you can even put many subtitles on a mp4 file, same goes to audio too, and you also can have one video file divide into many parts, totally like what you have on DVD but due to the file size, i still perfer rmvb, why. like allvin said, small files and watchable, better than those flv format available on internet. rmvb saves space too smile.gif
wei
post Aug 23 2007, 02:53 PM

6,496 posts

Haiya... you ah...
next time u can't find again i gonna user posted image you.... tongue.gif
http://forms.real.com/rnforms/products/too...port/index.html
Bad Cyborg
post Aug 23 2007, 05:14 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Aug 23 2007, 02:35 PM)
to bad cyborg and carpathia, compare with all video formats, we can get the highest quality with h.264 plus aac, you can even put many subtitles on a mp4 file, same goes to audio too, and you also can have one video file divide into many parts, totally like what you have on DVD but due to the file size, i still perfer rmvb, why. like allvin said, small files and watchable, better than those flv format available on internet. rmvb saves space too smile.gif
False. See pictures below. These are taken at same low bitrate. RV10 is the video codec used in RMVB these days.

H.264

RV10

H.264

RV10

If you shrink a DVD down to one CD size or even less that, I can assure you the H.264 version looks a whole lot better and capable of preserving more details, not to mention the black will be solid instead of gray-looking like in RV10. An important thing to bear in mind. MP4, MKV, RMVB and the whole bunch of these formats are only containers. Codec is the key. Traditionally RMVB is desired because the Chinese people picked it up prior to the standards we have today. There is simply no reason to fall back on RMVB now thanks to the versatility in today's MP4 and MKV standards. Another point of note, when compressed beyond a certain threshold, your video clip will cease to entertain your audience, but will instead grate on them. Such is the case with the bulk of Youtube videos. For extremely compact sizes, a good rate you want to maintain is not below 512KB/s and definitely not above 640 horizontal resolution.
TSkokyun
post Aug 23 2007, 06:25 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Aug 23 2007, 05:14 PM)
False. See pictures below. These are taken at same low bitrate. RV10 is the video codec used in RMVB these days.

H.264

RV10

H.264

RV10

If you shrink a DVD down to one CD size or even less that, I can assure you the H.264 version looks a whole lot better and capable of preserving more details, not to mention the black will be solid instead of gray-looking like in RV10. An important thing to bear in mind. MP4, MKV, RMVB and the whole bunch of these formats are only containers. Codec is the key. Traditionally RMVB is desired because the Chinese people picked it up prior to the standards we have today. There is simply no reason to fall back on RMVB now thanks to the versatility in today's MP4 and MKV standards. Another point of note, when compressed beyond a certain threshold, your video clip will cease to entertain your audience, but will instead grate on them. Such is the case with the bulk of Youtube videos. For extremely compact sizes, a good rate you want to maintain is not below 512KB/s and definitely not above 640 horizontal resolution.
Thanks Bad Cybord, for giving out knowledge on video formats, since i'm not converting DVD format, which is higher bitrate, but just a few avi files to rmvb, i think it should be ok. so Bad Cybord, what software do you use to convert your video ? again thanks for those pictures, i can see the difference now. although h.264 is very impressive, but then talk about file size, i still perfer rmvb, i haven't convert any h.264 file yet, if the file size of h.264 is smaller than rmvb with the same bitrate, i might consider to change too.

and wei Thanks for the link ya. i found it this time, rclxms.gif

problem here wei,
i downloaded that real 10 export, installed, restarted, and make sure using quicktime pro, clicked on the export, no 'movie to realmedia' ??whats going on ? then i read through the 'readme' file, correct a, no wrong a

This post has been edited by kokyun: Aug 23 2007, 06:44 PM

wei
post Aug 23 2007, 09:34 PM

6,496 posts

Sorry bro, forgot to mention it's PPC only.
supafreak
post Aug 23 2007, 09:44 PM

188 posts

since we are on the rmvb subject matter, any idea how to convert rmvb to avi or dvd?...
wei
post Aug 23 2007, 10:09 PM

6,496 posts

You need windows. LOL... yeah I know I said that...
mdernest
post Aug 23 2007, 11:12 PM

46 posts

I think is a bit off topic, can anyone tell me which is the best software to convert movies files to Ipod playable?
wei
post Aug 23 2007, 11:16 PM

6,496 posts

Hold it kokyun, there might still some hope, try put QT into rosetta mode, the codec might just work. Report back will ya?

This post has been edited by wei: Aug 23 2007, 11:17 PM
supafreak
post Aug 23 2007, 11:29 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(mdernest @ Aug 23 2007, 11:12 PM)
I think is a bit off topic, can anyone tell me which is the best software to convert movies files to Ipod playable?
mdernest... try isquint or visualhub... isquint is free...
Bad Cyborg
post Aug 23 2007, 11:33 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Aug 23 2007, 06:25 PM)
Thanks Bad Cybord, for giving out knowledge on video formats, since i'm not converting DVD format, which is higher bitrate, but just a few avi files to rmvb, i think it should be ok. so Bad Cybord, what software do you use to convert your video ? again thanks for those pictures, i can see the difference now. although h.264 is very impressive, but then talk about file size, i still perfer rmvb, i haven't convert any h.264 file yet, if the file size of h.264 is smaller than rmvb with the same bitrate, i might consider to change too.

Here's a suggestion: try it before jumping to conclusions. And do re-read the last few lines of my previous post.

QUOTE(supafreak @ Aug 23 2007, 09:44 PM)
since we are on the rmvb subject matter, any idea how to convert rmvb to avi or dvd?...
Wouldn't recommend converting RMVB to DVD at all. You'll find that RV10 already degrades the video quality so much that it totally isn't worth the effort. On top of it, subsequent recompression comes with further quality loss. For every video title you download in RMVB, the same can be found in AVI or other. If it's precious enough for you to want to press to DVD, then for your own sake, take the time to download it again off somewhere else at higher bitrate. You'll thank yourself later. If you absolutely must however, you can google for FFMPEGX. Same thing for iPod.
TSkokyun
post Aug 24 2007, 12:06 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 23 2007, 11:16 PM)
Hold it kokyun, there might still some hope, try put QT into rosetta mode, the codec might just work. Report back will ya?
Yes, it can run in rosetta mode, thanks wei, but can't encode. sad.gif

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Aug 23 2007, 11:33 PM)
Here's a suggestion: try it before jumping to conclusions. And do re-read the last few lines of my previous post.
Wouldn't recommend converting RMVB to DVD at all. You'll find that RV10 already degrades the video quality so much that it totally isn't worth the effort. On top of it, subsequent recompression comes with further quality loss. For every video title you download in RMVB, the same can be found in AVI or other. If it's precious enough for you to want to press to DVD, then for your own sake, take the time to download it again off somewhere else at higher bitrate. You'll thank yourself later. If you absolutely must however, you can google for FFMPEGX. Same thing for iPod.
I have a few 350MB avi video files, and 700MB too, i will try to convert those files with rmvb and H.264, will be report back soon.

This post has been edited by kokyun: Aug 24 2007, 12:25 AM
wei
post Aug 24 2007, 12:48 AM

6,496 posts

sorry bro... i think it's PPC only.

0.0215sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:54 AM