227 posts

Clerk poorer by RM112k after falling prey to scammers
By JUSTIN ZACK
NATION
Friday, 15 Jan 2021

1:13 PM MYT
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021...rey-to-scammers
KUALA LUMPUR: Scammers have struck again, leaving an accounting clerk poorer by RM112,000.

Sentul OCPD Asst Comm Beh Eng Lai said the victim was contacted by a man, claiming to be a bank officer.

"The caller told her that there were several credit card charges under her name but she denied knowledge.

"The call was then passed to another person, said to be an officer from Bank Negara.

"The victim was convinced by the scammers to reveal her account details.

"A day later, she checked her account and found that RM112,000 had been transferred to several other bank accounts," he told a press conference on Friday (Jan 15).

ACP Beh said in a similar scam, a businessman lost RM5,000 to the fraudsters.

"He was contacted on Jan 7 by someone who introduced himself as an acquaintance and a customer.

"The caller convinced the victim that he had changed his number and needed financial help.

"Two days later, the victim realised that he was duped," he said.

ACP Beh urged the public to be more vigilant of such calls and to verify with the authorities first if unsure.

Last year, Sentul police received 193 reports on phone scams, with losses estimated at around RM6mil.

Around 30% of these cases were considered solved.

cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jan 15 2021, 02:06 PM

937 posts

i working as manager also dont have 112k cash to be scammed.
Pikichu
post Jan 15 2021, 02:08 PM

2,278 posts

Is there really someone call Justin Zack in Malaysia working for Star Publications?
statikinetic
post Jan 15 2021, 02:09 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Damn. When kena scam rubber tappers, teachers and now clerks got T20 money. When not kena scam, all layak BR1M. Win win.
SUSDaylight2018
post Jan 15 2021, 02:09 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jan 15 2021, 02:06 PM)
Where is F they get the money
Ukeke
post Jan 15 2021, 02:10 PM

91 posts

Why these kind of need clerk got scammed, teacher got scammed, the victim always got few hundreds cash to be scammed.

Feel like malaysia income is even higher than australia
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 15 2021, 02:12 PM

1,833 posts

Im always surprised to see the amount of money they kena scam. And supposedly the victims always work in mid to low income jobs...
ps3 fanboy
post Jan 15 2021, 02:14 PM

18 posts

got insider in the bank..if your money over 100k in the bank beware.

seems that they started to target low savings
popopi
post Jan 15 2021, 02:14 PM

1,197 posts

I envy clerk also can have 112k savings... me want 1k savings also hard..
netmatrix
post Jan 15 2021, 02:16 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jan 15 2021, 02:06 PM)
I think majority does not have 112k to be scammed.
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Jan 15 2021, 02:17 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Daylight2018 @ Jan 15 2021, 02:09 PM)
Where is F they get the money
i very mindfarked everytime see news junitor kena scammed 100k, clerk kena love scammed 500k, supervisor kena scammed 900k.

fark wei, i dont even have half of it.
klch87
post Jan 15 2021, 02:23 PM

779 posts

most likely someone obtained the users' financial records from bank institutions and use that for opportunity to scam
OnePiece999
post Jan 15 2021, 02:23 PM

405 posts

Very good get rich quick
whyamiblack
post Jan 15 2021, 02:24 PM

70 posts

Why would you have that much cash sitting in a bank acc unless you rich af?
fu'house
post Jan 15 2021, 02:25 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Jan 15 2021, 02:08 PM)
Is there really someone call Justin Zack in Malaysia working for Star Publications?
Not full name.
taga
post Jan 15 2021, 02:27 PM

171 posts

i got this scam before. indian guy scammer was talking at that time.

i almost got bait coz he tikam correct my bank name, but not the card type, card number.

went he transfer me to a "bnm officer", he give a me a creepy "heeellooooooo" greeting in a lazy tone. i straight away tell him i will call bnm instead of my call getting transfer automatically. fuck that two guy.
Stusssy
post Jan 15 2021, 02:42 PM

67 posts

feeling safe as im poor af thus nobody wants to scam me

syukurrrrr
FAMNIG HJARTA
post Jan 15 2021, 02:44 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Jan 15 2021, 02:08 PM)
https://my.linkedin.com/public-profile/in/j...n-zack-194a2486
Chrix
post Jan 15 2021, 02:44 PM

1,187 posts

works in bank

not aware how FI works

ok.
SUSBug Juice
post Jan 15 2021, 02:46 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ps3 fanboy @ Jan 15 2021, 02:14 PM)
got insider in the bank..if your money over 100k in the bank beware.

seems that they started to target low savings
100k in bank macam considered high. How many here have 100k in their saving.

0.0212sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:32 PM