Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now

TSfrags
post Dec 4 2007, 03:39 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 4 2007, 11:57 AM)
How come no Chinese Empire, no Indian Empire nor the great Mongol Empire. I demand these empire always white empires. mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Hmmm...a possible avenue for an expansion pack? hmm.gif Empire Total War : Asian Invasion? tongue.gif
Dark Steno
post Dec 4 2007, 07:44 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 4 2007, 11:57 AM)
How come no Chinese Empire, no Indian Empire nor the great Mongol Empire. I demand these empire always white empires. mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Given the time span, the China dynasty didn't interested in adding more lands through power. India at that time wasn't India of now. It was separated kingdoms with different religions until British came and united them. On the other hand, even middle eastern empires weren't that aggressive to conquer more lands even though they'd encountered the far easteren kingdoms earlier than those europeans.
fujkenasai
post Dec 4 2007, 09:33 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Dec 4 2007, 07:44 PM)
Given the time span, the China dynasty didn't interested in adding more lands through power. India at that time wasn't India of now. It was separated kingdoms with different religions until British came and united them. On the other hand, even middle eastern empires weren't that aggressive to conquer more lands even though they'd encountered the far easteren kingdoms earlier than those europeans.
Yeah thats true also but some how there were still disputes and great influence of power using military might, and there are lots of politics and trade goin on especially during the silk route era. Thus there are those parts that can be used, and Total War has alot of management of the cities and allying, so I guess that comes into play.
Dark Steno
post Dec 4 2007, 10:24 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

Well, what can you understand from the phrase 'Total War'? Means, full scale of wars and battles. Cities management, allies, and more importantly about real world are not really their main dish. Simply a game about war.

On the other hand, even if they included other races, this would make the game bigger in term of hard disk spaces. Plus, they only want to cope with European and American markets (developers).

Do you know that Koei made games like Sengoku Musou for PS2 whatsoever which simply about Chinese Romance of Three kingdoms and Japanese Warring States? The games sold pretty well in Asia. Right now, Koei already released a similar game about Frenchh and British 100 years war (Bladestorm). Guess what? Because the game has included France and Britain inside, the game sold pretty well in the West and also in Asia because people already know about the game. It is just about market needs.
alwizbthere
post Dec 4 2007, 10:53 PM

10,222 posts

but thing is, from the looks of the previews, the game is during the push of europeans all over the whole as they search for money, spices, and to spread their religion

tat time, time, china's navy mana ada power, india lagi mana ada navy?i dun recall any history saying indian navy power at all even before the rise of the european
even middle east countries are more to land power, like genghis, or those islamic empire which managed to conquer spain.
TSfrags
post Dec 5 2007, 12:46 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Dec 4 2007, 10:53 PM)
but thing is, from the looks of the previews, the game is during the push of europeans all over the whole as they search for money, spices, and to spread their religion

tat time, time, china's navy mana ada power, india lagi mana ada navy?i dun recall any history saying indian navy power at all even before the rise of the european
even middle east countries are more to land power, like genghis, or those islamic empire which managed to conquer spain.
While that history may be so...Total War games may not necessarily be based on historical fact...for instance the expansion pack for Shogun Total War which is based on what might have happened if the Mongols reached Japan...it never happened...Did romans really use Flaming pigs???Or did the Aztecs actually have hornet throwers? rclxub.gif

What im trying to say is that its not 100% historical accuracy...they do bend history a little to make a fun game...as for an Asian based game i dont see why its so much of a problem...AOE3 did that with Asian Dynasties...On the thing about Koei games its just a fact that those type of games are not really popular in Europe or the states...period...Doing hundred years war might have made it easy for some people to decide buying that game...but it didnt translate into it being a success did it? That game is just not very good...Europens like complex games thats why total war and that Anno series does so well tongue.gif
nabelon
post Dec 5 2007, 02:31 AM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

Great, im gonna buy it and play it half way again tongue.gif.
Jedi
post Dec 5 2007, 07:45 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

i want to pwn keris man in the game!

sink down sampan
exterminate populace and spread .... "cough its sensitive"

Aoshi_88
post Dec 5 2007, 10:09 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Dec 4 2007, 07:44 PM)
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Dec 4 2007, 09:33 PM)
Yeah thats true also but some how there were still disputes and great influence of power using military might, and there are lots of politics and trade goin on especially during the silk route era. Thus there are those parts that can be used, and Total War has alot of management of the cities and allying, so I guess that comes into play.
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Dec 4 2007, 10:24 PM)
Well, what can you understand from the phrase 'Total War'? Means, full scale of wars and battles. Cities management, allies, and more importantly about real world are not really their main dish. Simply a game about war.

On the other hand, even if they included other races, this would make the game bigger in term of hard disk spaces. Plus, they only want to cope with European and American markets (developers).

Do you know that Koei made games like Sengoku Musou for PS2 whatsoever which simply about Chinese Romance of Three kingdoms and Japanese Warring States? The games sold pretty well in Asia. Right now, Koei already released a similar game about Frenchh and British 100 years war (Bladestorm). Guess what? Because the game has included France and Britain inside, the game sold pretty well in the West and also in Asia because people already know about the game. It is just about market needs.
Like I said in the earlier page... this latest version concerns the rise of Europe and the conflicts ranging from Trafalgar to the rise of Napoleon etc etc. There were NO SIGNIFICANT developments OUTSIDE of Europe at this period of time EXCLUDING the American War of Independence.

Dark Steno
post Dec 5 2007, 11:40 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Dec 5 2007, 10:09 AM)
Like I said in the earlier page... this latest version concerns the rise of Europe and the conflicts ranging from Trafalgar to the rise of Napoleon etc etc. There were NO SIGNIFICANT developments OUTSIDE of Europe at this period of time EXCLUDING the American War of Independence.
I know and I like to tease fuji because he likes to complaint the same thing before (as in why China/etc. didn't included in the game?).
dfcloud
post Dec 5 2007, 12:48 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Dec 5 2007, 02:31 AM)
Great, im gonna buy it and play it half way again tongue.gif.
same here laugh.gif
empire23
post Dec 5 2007, 12:53 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Damn i want.

The only thing i'm worried about is the interface when it comes to commanding gun powder units as their commands and strategies were very demanding for that age.

TSfrags
post Dec 8 2007, 02:24 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Here's a small treat..Some pre-alpha screenshots...

AS you can see there is a shot with the user interface in it...its a prototype user interface so its not final...you can see a 800X600 link to the screen in the first post of this thread(if you want to look at the UI closer)...Its very different from previous Total Wars and has more options...well...commanding a naval fleet is a complex task...

The skies look as great as always rclxms.gif ...these CA guys always very good at getting the look of the sky in their games...

This post has been edited by frags: Dec 8 2007, 02:26 AM
Aoshi_88
post Dec 8 2007, 10:38 AM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Who will be the next Nelson eh?
TSfrags
post Dec 8 2007, 12:51 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Dec 8 2007, 10:38 AM)
Who will be the next Nelson eh?
"Nelson? Who is this Nelson?" Napolean Bonaparte
fujkenasai
post Dec 9 2007, 01:13 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Dec 8 2007, 02:24 AM)
Here's a small treat..Some pre-alpha screenshots...

AS you can see there is a shot with the user interface in it...its a prototype user interface so its not final...you can see a 800X600 link to the screen in the first post of this thread(if you want to look at the UI closer)...Its very different from previous Total Wars and has more options...well...commanding a naval fleet is a complex task...

The skies look as great as always  rclxms.gif ...these CA guys always very good at getting the look of the sky in their games...
Hmm this reminds me of Pirates of Carabean, I wanna see Captain Jack Sparrow and that octopus guy brows.gif

I hope the expansion is about pirates and pirate kingdoms(ahem Japan) during the ming dynasty.
ataris
post Dec 9 2007, 04:45 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

omg, its damn gorgeous.
limjix
post Dec 21 2007, 01:08 PM

224 posts

i cant wait for this!!!!!!

i also passed up the oppertunity to buy Medieval 2 total war kingdoms to save money for this lol!!

hope they can support my computer
anyone got the computer specs for this?
Monster Hunter G
post Dec 21 2007, 01:13 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(limjix @ Dec 21 2007, 01:08 PM)
i cant wait for this!!!!!!

i also passed up the oppertunity to buy Medieval 2 total war kingdoms to save money for this lol!!

hope they can support my computer
anyone got the computer specs for this?
Too early to tell, as far as the Developers claimed it is not even 70% completed yet.
alwizbthere
post Dec 21 2007, 02:09 PM

10,222 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Dec 8 2007, 12:51 PM)
"Nelson? Who is this Nelson?"  Napolean Bonaparte
LOL, Nelson is the person who whacked his arse back to France twice
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horatio_Nelson

57 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top