Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now

Gormaz
post Jun 12 2009, 04:22 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Real Monkey @ Jun 12 2009, 04:17 PM)
Is that true that the only way to update the game is via Steam? There is no way that I can download from work and then apply the patch at home? Thanks.
Yes, it is Steam or nothing.

You "could" download using Steam from work and transfer using USB the whole Steam folder, but that would be quite troublesome

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 12 2009, 04:22 PM
Gormaz
post Jun 19 2009, 09:10 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Jun 19 2009, 08:31 AM)
Can you imagine that after waiting for the game to install for the whole night, it still in the progress. It did not prompt me for the disc change at all. After I register the code, steams says that it will now proceed to install. I click yes and then a box come out that says preparing the local cache or something like that which took very long. I go to sleep as cannot tahan. I then wake up half way and go to check. I forgot what the msg says oredi and I click finish. It then proceed to update and guess what!! the update % only increase to 1% when I wake up to prepare to work. Why is this so? Anything that I can do to make it work? Or anything that I done wrong.

I never had problem with installing game before. This is the first time I am installing game via steam. Pls help.
Okey:

- Close everything

- Take out CD1 from cd-player

- Put back CD1 from cd-player

- Wait for autoplay from the cd, click on Install or Setup (this to make sure you are installing FROM cd and not downloading it)

- Do normal install, Steam will take a while at the "Caching local file" thinggy but that's normal

- Then it will start to install from the CD. If it does not... not sure what happening, could be internet issue or something

- After a while it will ask for you CD2 (but it takes a long time)

- ????

- PROFIT!

Gormaz
post Jun 19 2009, 09:47 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Jun 19 2009, 09:14 AM)
Thks for your advice. If I take out disc 1 and put it in again (do I need to exit steam?) and click on setup, its to install steam right? Just wanna make sure before I go back tonight and try again. Losing sleep and no mood to work because of this failure. Thks again.
I would suggest just restart your computer to make sure everything is "clean". Let Steam off.

Put your CD, then click Install.

The installation you launch from the CD is to install Total War. During the installation of the game it will try to detect if you have Steam installed or not.
If you have it, it will just start Steam to use the installation wizard in it.
Gormaz
post Jun 23 2009, 10:20 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, I saw it was downloading it yesterday nigh but I was busy in Eve tongue.gif

Guess I will give another go to it and see if it's stable for me now, the multi-processor support would be great too (I guess it's only supporting 2 cores right? no support for quad core?)

Hopefully I will be able to finish my first long campain ever...

EDIT:

Oh shit I didnt read properly, so this is the mysterious paying DLC you were refering to a week or two ago?

Price isnt too expansive... but still... I am not gonna bother with it, and I think lots of people are going to be pissed off they are trying to milk the cow some more with the current state of the game...

CA really need better marketing/PR guys... I am affraid ETW will be a bleamish on their reputation for a while...

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jun 23 2009, 10:23 AM
Gormaz
post Jun 24 2009, 12:11 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 24 2009, 08:59 AM)
I have bought the extra units. However, there are no downloads after the update I have done last night.

How to activate these new units?
from some stuff i read on forums, the DLC units were downloaded inside the 1.3 and are only activated when u buy it, might means it's normal u dun see new download. Do u see the units inside the game?
Gormaz
post Jun 24 2009, 03:42 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 24 2009, 03:10 PM)
Aiyooo...i hate it like this way....need money buy Unit......need credit card also....haiz

Gormaz got credit card?  help me buy France Swiss Army for Napolean.

can ask CA? i just want to buy France Swiss Army only...LOL others I dun want got discount or not
My card is french, I get some charges each time I use it for online (plus the conversion from euros to USD) which are gonna be more than the price of the DLC... so sorry but can't do. sad.gif
Gormaz
post Jun 29 2009, 09:27 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

"June 26, 2009 - New York - Sumthing Else Music Works, Inc., through its licensing relationship with SEGA, proudly presents Empire: Total War - The Soundtrack featuring the musical score from the latest installment of The Creative Assembly's multi award winning Total War PC gaming franchise. Empire: Total War - The Soundtrack will be released on June 30th to retail outlets through Sumthing Else Music Works, and will be available for digital download on Sumthing Digital and iTunes.

Empire: Total War - The Soundtrack features the epic orchestral score composed by Richard Beddow (Viking: Battle For Asgard), Richard Birdsall, Walter Nair, Simon Ravn and performed by The Slovak National Symphony Orchestra at the Slovak Radio Concert Hall in Bratislava. The score was orchestrated and conducted by Nic Raine (Viking: Battle For Asgard) and the soundtrack was produced by lead composer Richard Beddow.

"Undertaking the challenge of the music production for Empire: Total War was no simple task," said composer Richard Beddow. "The game needed music to convey its size and breadth, covering the various countries at war, delicately accompanying campaign gameplay and underpinning the various cinematics and events in the game."

Empire: Total War is set in the 18th century, a turbulent era that is the most requested by Total War's loyal fan base and a period alive with global conflict, revolutionary fervor and technological advances. With themes such as the Industrial Revolution, America's struggle for independence, the race to control Eastern trade routes and the globalization of war on land and sea, Empire: Total War delivers one of the richest and most dynamic PC RTS game experiences of all time. For more information on the game, please visit www.totalwar.com.

For more information on Sumthing Else Music Works and its complete catalog of video game soundtracks, please visit www.sumthing.com and www.sumthingdigital.com.

SEGA, the SEGA logo and Empire: Total War and Viking: Battle For Asgard are registered trademarks or trademarks of SEGA Corporation. The Creative Assembly is a trademark of The Creative Assembly Limited. All rights reserved.

About SEGA Corporation
SEGA Corporation is a worldwide leader in interactive entertainment both inside and outside the home, encompassing consumer business, amusement machine sales and amusement center operations. The company develops, publishes and distributes interactive entertainment software products for a variety of hardware platforms including PC, wireless devices, and those manufactured by Nintendo, Microsoft and Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. SEGA Corporation's Web site is located at http://sega.jp.

About Sumthing Else Music Works, Inc.
Since its creation in the late 1990's by the world-renowned song writer, musician and record producer, Nile Rodgers, Sumthing Else Music Works has become the acknowledged industry leader in licensing and distributing video game soundtracks. Possessing full in-house services worldwide, from retail marketing and sales through physical and digital distribution, Sumthing is partnered with the world's leading video game developers and publishers including BioWare, Bungie Studios, Capcom, Crytek, Eidos Interactive, Epic Games, Gearbox Software, Microsoft, Mistwalker, Rare, SEGA, Silicon Knights, Sony Computer Entertainment and Ubisoft. Their catalogue of titles includes the best selling video game soundtrack of all time, Halo 2: Volume One, as well as award-winning titles including: Resident Evil 5, Street Fighter IV, Halo Wars, Halo Trilogy, Gears of War 2, Fable II, Too Human, Brothers In Arms, Crysis, Advent Rising, Fable, Gears of War, Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo 2 Volume Two, Halo 3, Hitman: Blood Money, Hitman: Contracts, Jade Empire, Kameo: Elements of Power, Mass Effect, Red Steel, Unreal Tournament 3 and many others.

http://pc.ign.com/articles/998/998644p1.html

Meh, I found the soundtrack of ETW to be pretty subpar to be honest, 1-2 of the songs were ok, the rest I can't really remember it.
Marketing, marketing...
Gormaz
post Aug 17 2009, 06:55 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

A quick home made translation of the whole article seen at the bottom right:

"The developers already announced that this part of the game will be improved, which should satisfy the people who found a bit too limited compared to the technical exuberance deployed during battles. While we are talking about graphism, things have also quite evolved in them. If ETW was very impressive we are wondering which adjective to use for Napoleon TW: Magnificent? Peerless? Sublime? One thing is sure its that even with the very strict historical rigor found in the game, it will be possible to modify reality by acting on your own. We ignore yet which exact amount of freedom will be left to the player but according to Mike Simpson (CA creative director) declarations you can expect to build something bigger than the empire obtained by the Small Corporall ("Le petit Caporal" is a Napoleon's nickname).

Last but not least this sequel will have a specific focus on the multiplayer games. Let's name for example the avatar system, Steam achievements management, an uniform editor and the possibilities to use voice command to give order.
This accumulation of very attractive qualities and options prove that CA did not feel asleep on its laurels even with the huge success of ETW. Great."

Roughly your list had the main points frags.

The beginning is a bit weird since it seems they were referring to the previous page or something when talking about "this part of the game"

Overall I am not sure, CA screwed me in the butt with ETW and I am still bitter with what I have now. I do not think I will buy this before few months after it's release. Some of the points are interesting but it just sounds too much like the usual PR crap to me.

Wait and See for me.

And lol@:

- "Steam achievement" (isnt that ALREADY in?)
- "Very strict historical rigor" especially with the changes to boats they plan for 1.4...

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 17 2009, 06:59 PM
Gormaz
post Aug 19 2009, 07:49 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar, frags posted this in Steam community....

It really sounds to me like it's going to be a full sequel of ETW, with full price.

Planned date Feb 2010...

I am really pissed off, it's gonna be a cold day in hell before I buy another CA game...

Edit: and yeah, all post on the official forums that criticize this get deleted, mine last 10 minutes only because I dared ask if it was a full extension or a PDLC and saying I was pissed off at that...

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Aug 19 2009, 08:12 PM
Gormaz
post Sep 8 2009, 03:24 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(hiroshi @ Sep 7 2009, 06:19 PM)
Empire: Total War update 1.4 patch plans
Creative Assembly has announced that it will release a patch for Empire: Total War, Creative Assembly's RTS sequel, in late September. The focus for the update has been AI, both campaign and battle along with improvements to sieges and the naval rebalancing. A lot of work has been put into the campaign and diplomacy AI, focusing on how it wages war, makes alliances and peace as well as use of naval invasions. Battle side improvements have been made to most areas of the AI with the focus on the siege AI which has had major changes made to it. Sieges have also had a lot of work done on them with a lot of bugs fixed, improvements made to pathfinding and how guns and troops on walls work.
Wait... that reminds me of something I heard before..... oh yar, the pre-release talk when they compared ETW to previous TW games....

I guess I will give it a try once 1.4 hits but at this stage I have pretty much abandonned the game.
Gormaz
post Dec 12 2010, 09:45 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Would have liked a Napoleon only for 9,99, I got Empire already...

Guess I will wait Xmas sales, high chance it's there on Steam or another DD smile.gif

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0241sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:09 PM