Taobao Tax on Pc Parts?, cpu from taobao got tax?

TStkandy
post Jan 13 2021, 06:28 PM, updated 5y ago

244 posts

Anyone here got experience buying pc parts particularly cpu from taobao? Will kena tax when reach malaysia? I'm asking about for direct delivery to your doorstep one not through middleman or agent
LNB1
post Jan 13 2021, 06:38 PM

164 posts

anything below rm500 is duty free
therain01
post Jan 13 2021, 06:38 PM

257 posts

Sea freight taxable. Air shipment no tax.
TStkandy
post Jan 14 2021, 09:25 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(LNB1 @ Jan 13 2021, 06:38 PM)
anything below rm500 is duty free
Im not familiar with how it works. Item reach malaysia, kastam calls you?
TStkandy
post Jan 14 2021, 09:25 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 13 2021, 06:38 PM)
Sea freight taxable. Air shipment no tax.
even for items above rm500?
therain01
post Jan 14 2021, 11:46 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 14 2021, 09:25 AM)
even for items above rm500?
Yup. It's clearly stated in the official shipping terms.

Anyway I never get charged by kastam even my items are more than 500. Maybe I just lucky.

If you are worry about kastam, just ask seller to lower the price to below 500, then charge the balance to any item,normally 补差价。

This post has been edited by therain01: Jan 14 2021, 11:57 AM
TStkandy
post Jan 14 2021, 06:29 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 14 2021, 11:46 AM)

Anyway I never get charged by kastam even my items are more than 500. Maybe I just lucky.

If you are worry about kastam, just ask seller to lower the price to below 500, then charge the balance to any item,normally 补差价。
What about direct shipping to your house? Kena tax?
Andrewtst
post Jan 14 2021, 07:08 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,784 posts

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 14 2021, 06:29 PM)
If you kena tax, your item is held at custom, you will get a notification and you must go clear it before you can received the item.

If you use courier services, normally you can paid to courier services to settle it.
If using forwarder, I think you can deal with them to settle it. Sorry I never bought from Taobao, but the system strategy is similar - kena tax must settle it else you won't get the item.

If you bought from Amazon (not Taobao) now, the tax is pre-collect since few years ago. Kena tax or not, they not refund you the pre-collect tax fees.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jan 14 2021, 07:13 PM
CPURanger
post Jan 14 2021, 07:53 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 14 2021, 06:29 PM)
It does not matter if is direct shipping to your house, office, etc. If is taxable, the custom will collect tax from you.
TStkandy
post Jan 14 2021, 11:14 PM

244 posts

I guess better stick to Malaysia then. Not worth saving rm200 over the hassle
hexacyll
post Jan 19 2021, 07:16 PM

22 posts

My B450M and 3600 just arrived from taobao today. No tax whatsoever. Got it for RM1013. Air shipment oso.

This post has been edited by hexacyll: Jan 19 2021, 07:17 PM
TStkandy
post Jan 19 2021, 07:34 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(hexacyll @ Jan 19 2021, 07:16 PM)
My B450M and 3600 just arrived from taobao today. No tax whatsoever. Got it for RM1013. Air shipment oso.
Damn bro, did you choose option 2 when checking out? Thru agent?
hexacyll
post Jan 19 2021, 07:46 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 19 2021, 07:34 PM)
Damn bro, did you choose option 2 when checking out? Thru agent?
No lah. No agent. Instead of taobao consolidate via air/sea, I chose direct shipping to my home address. Pay only once.

This post has been edited by hexacyll: Jan 19 2021, 07:46 PM
TStkandy
post Jan 19 2021, 08:04 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(hexacyll @ Jan 19 2021, 07:46 PM)
No lah. No agent. Instead of taobao consolidate via air/sea, I chose direct shipping to my home address. Pay only once.
Can you give the link to the taobao page?
Cold|Drawn
post Jan 19 2021, 08:07 PM

1,138 posts

hmm~ mobo got the small battery also can ship?
normally electronics nowadays regardless apa type electronics cannot direct air freight, only sea freight.
hexacyll
post Jan 19 2021, 08:19 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 19 2021, 08:07 PM)
hmm~ mobo got the small battery also can ship?
normally electronics nowadays regardless apa type electronics cannot direct air freight, only sea freight.
yeh got
hexacyll
post Jan 19 2021, 08:21 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 19 2021, 08:04 PM)
Can you give the link to the taobao page?
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09...._u=j2o0dgre6f4c

The store also got asus and asrock mobo iirc. Seller is also helpful.
Cold|Drawn
post Jan 19 2021, 08:22 PM

1,138 posts

wa, lucky oh. I buy items containing small battery also kena reject by warehouse. Have to return to seller
hexacyll
post Jan 19 2021, 08:27 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 19 2021, 08:22 PM)
wa, lucky oh. I buy items containing small battery also kena reject by warehouse. Have to return to seller
Is it tao's warehouse?
xKeneshirox
post Jan 20 2021, 09:23 PM

338 posts

Anyone got recommendation/guide for buying stuff from tao bao? You guys usually use agent?
Rhetoric
post Jan 21 2021, 07:33 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jan 20 2021, 09:23 PM)
Anyone got recommendation/guide for buying stuff from tao bao? You guys usually use agent?
Language aside its pretty straight forward. search what you want to buy, put it in cart, pick shipping option(thankfully taobao support direct shipping to Msia), pay. Depends on your shipping option, if you pick direct, you only have to paid once. If you buy multiple item you can use consolidate option and paid when all item arrived at warehouse and weighted.

If you want guide you probably need to find guide about creating an account. I make account few years ago and it probably changed now but iinm need to make Alipay account too.
xKeneshirox
post Jan 21 2021, 03:32 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Jan 21 2021, 08:33 AM)
Language aside its pretty straight forward. search what you want to buy, put it in cart, pick shipping option(thankfully taobao support direct shipping to Msia), pay. Depends on your shipping option, if you pick direct, you only have to paid once. If you buy multiple item you can use consolidate option and paid when all item arrived at warehouse and weighted.

If you want guide you probably need to find guide about creating an account. I make account few years ago and it probably changed now but iinm need to make Alipay account too.
Hmm.. any experience buyin electronics e.g. CPUs?
quadcube
post Jan 21 2021, 07:30 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 19 2021, 08:22 PM)
oh damn..I just bought parts for a new server, wished I asked the seller to toss the CMOS battery first from the server mobo
Skylinestar
post Jan 21 2021, 07:52 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Jan 21 2021, 07:33 AM)
thankfully taobao support direct shipping to Msia
i always have a problem with this. could you please screenshot and highlight the correct shipping option for this direct shipping?
there are times i select the direct shipping, then the seller PM me and said item is only shipped within China doh.gif
Rhetoric
post Jan 21 2021, 10:58 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 21 2021, 07:52 PM)
i always have a problem with this. could you please screenshot and highlight the correct shipping option for this direct shipping?
there are times i select the direct shipping, then the seller PM me and said item is only shipped within China  doh.gif
Google translate help. just remember to change back to English before proceed because i found that if you click while the page translated sometimes the button will not work.

There are certain items that wouldnt ship direct but most of the times there will be a reminder saying item cannot be shipped.
Rhetoric
post Jan 21 2021, 10:59 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jan 21 2021, 03:32 PM)
Never buy CPU, but bought drone before. that count as electronics right?
TStkandy
post Jan 22 2021, 03:09 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Jan 21 2021, 10:58 PM)
Google translate help. just remember to change back to English before proceed because i found that if you click while the page translated sometimes the button will not work.

There are certain items that wouldnt ship direct but most of the times there will be a reminder saying item cannot be shipped.
The direct shipping option was available upon checkout. But i screenshot the checkput page and ask seller again. seller always say not available
nyunyu
post Jan 22 2021, 04:00 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 14 2021, 11:46 AM)

I thought there is no tax for computer parts for personal use? Should be stated in http://mysstext.customs.gov.my/tariff/
Skylinestar
post Jan 22 2021, 05:40 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Jan 21 2021, 10:58 PM)

官方直送 to china depot or 官方直送 to my house (in malaysia) ?

QUOTE(tkandy @ Jan 22 2021, 03:09 AM)
The direct shipping option was available upon checkout. But i screenshot the checkput page and ask seller again. seller always say not available
ya. this is my worry.
Rhetoric
post Jan 22 2021, 08:01 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 22 2021, 05:40 AM)
官方直送 to china depot or 官方直送 to my house (in malaysia) ?
There is a section up above the one I screenshot where it show your address. Your home address or your warehouse address if you have agent and using their shipment. I have my own home address selected up there.
I just click checkout and its done. Just keep track of the shipment like normal online shopping.

Technically the seller will shipped it to Taobao warehouse first before it was shipped to Malaysia.
Rhetoric
post Jan 22 2021, 08:03 AM

554 posts

That one I dont know. never encounter that problem before.
therain01
post Jan 22 2021, 01:26 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jan 22 2021, 04:00 AM)
I thought there is no tax for computer parts for personal use? Should be stated in http://mysstext.customs.gov.my/tariff/
What I meant was if you choose to use taobao official shipping method, tax will be incurred when you choose sea shipping, chargeable upon making shipping payment based on item price.

Anyway, about the rm500 by Malaysia kastam, not really sure what is excluded, and not sure if the taobao sea freight tax actually cover that.
therain01
post Jan 22 2021, 01:29 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(xKeneshirox @ Jan 21 2021, 03:32 PM)
I bought used cpu and ram from 三弟科技 multiple times. All arrived safely without issue.
igx0908
post Jan 22 2021, 01:39 PM

95 posts

The seller can't really see the option because it's specific to Malaysia region. You just choose the direct shipping option (if available) and pay. Seller will receive a China address to ship your item to Guangdong. Part of the address also contain your Malaysia address and the people in Guangdong will help to forward your shipment to Malaysia based on your address.
therain01
post Jan 22 2021, 01:42 PM

257 posts

It is because seller don't understand about the direct shipping stuff.

Anyway, direct shipping to your home means that you only pay once upon buying the item, that says, you pay the shipment together with the item upon purchase, the rest just let seller and logistic handle.

Direct shipping to warehouse means you don't pay shipping fee upon paying for your item. Once you paid for the item, seller will ship out to guangzhou warehouse. When it reach guangzhou warehouse, then only you pay shipping. The advantage with this method is you can buy item from different seller, accumulate everything at once in guangzhou warehouse, and pay shipping according to total weight.

When using taobao official shipment, just make sure you have you home/receiving address selected.
xKeneshirox
post Jan 22 2021, 02:08 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Jan 21 2021, 11:59 PM)
Never buy CPU, but bought drone before. that count as electronics right?
Lol. Of cuz. How did ya buy? Jz beli and ship direct?

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jan 22 2021, 02:29 PM)
I bought used cpu and ram from 三弟科技 multiple times. All arrived safely without issue.
Wah. I'll keep an eye out. Very interested in using taobao
TStkandy
post Jan 22 2021, 05:41 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(igx0908 @ Jan 22 2021, 01:39 PM)
The seller can't really see the option because it's specific to Malaysia region. You just choose the direct shipping option (if available) and pay. Seller will receive a China address to ship your item to Guangdong. Part of the address also contain your Malaysia address and the people in Guangdong will help to forward your shipment to Malaysia based on your address.
Damn bro i wish I've read your comment dulu before buying on shopee for rm200 more LOL. Thanks anyway, will keep this in my mind for future purchases
Seth Ho
post Sep 2 2021, 10:26 PM

436 posts

QUOTE(hexacyll @ Jan 19 2021, 08:16 PM)
Hey bro, i know this thread so long liao wanted to check how is your mobo? i planning to buy one but worried the the small parts on mobo get damage.
the mobo and cpu actually i buying similar as yours.
Peter_APIIT
post Oct 14 2021, 04:22 PM

364 posts

Just create an account at Taobao. It support many payment options nowadays.
cms
post Oct 15 2021, 06:13 PM

763 posts

My cpu, ram, power supply, gfx, ssd are from taobao.
V3nz
post Jan 25 2024, 11:32 PM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Oct 15 2021, 06:13 PM)
My cpu, ram, power supply, gfx, ssd are from taobao.
im looking for information on this. is the power supply plug provided with uk plug or china plug?
xxboxx
post Jan 28 2024, 11:19 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jan 25 2024, 11:32 PM)
im looking for information on this. is the power supply plug provided with uk plug or china plug?
Check with the seller? If the power supply follow the normal standard, the cable can disconnected and change to uk type plug cable.
cms
post Feb 1 2024, 08:13 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jan 25 2024, 11:32 PM)
I remembered it was China style. But can just change with the UK type easily its the same cable as your kettle etc

0.0260sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:09 PM