Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

From industrial engineering to programmer, Need advice and guidance

views

TSDominion101
post Jan 13 2021, 04:44 PM, updated 4y ago

Getting Started
104 posts

Hello everyone, I am 28 years old unofficially. My background is I graduated in 2016 in manufacturing engineering and management from USM. Right now I'm doing my masters, MBA in one university in China. I have been in China for about 2 years and will graduate in 2022. I am in Malaysia right now since we are not allowed to come back because of pandemic worldwide.

Having a lot of free time right now has allowed me to think about my future career prospect. I don't think the knowledge that is teach in my masters is of adding much value to me and so I take the initiative to learn a lot of things by myself. Mostly reading books about a lot of topics .

I get a few job invitation in LinkedIn as an industrial engineer. Somehow, I feel that it doesn't excite me as much but it's not that bad too. But due to current situation I have to refuse the job offer since I still have to go back to my university sooner or later.

I think becoming a programmer as my career seems like a good option. The pay is quite good and the things that I will be doing is ok too. There's a good balance of pay, future career prospect and thus a nice lifestyle.

Right now I am thinking to start learning about programming. I read other people experiences from blog and I also watch videos on YouTube. I ask people that I know in my circle that works as a programmer too. Now, I come across this evergreen lowyat forum website, I hope to get your advice and perspective on this. Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you !
thirumaran
post Jan 13 2021, 04:54 PM

On my way
579 posts