177 posts

Glove bear JP Morgan tells clients gloves ain’t needed during vaccinations
Ahmad Naqib Idris
/
theedgemarkets.com

January 13, 2021 13:22 pm +08

Glove bear JP Morgan tells clients gloves ain’t needed during vaccinations
-A+A
KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 13): JP Morgan, which initiated coverage on the Malaysian rubber glove sector with "sell" calls in December, reminded investors that gloves are “not needed” while administering vaccinations.

“With vaccinations now underway, we expect demand for gloves to continue to ease,” wrote JP Morgan in a research note dated Jan 11.

This is in contrast to consensus expectation that the demand for disposable rubber gloves will not shrink sharply as frontliners still need them during vaccinations.

Citing the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of the US, the National Health Service of the UK and the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control of Canada, the American bank said medical officers are not required to wear gloves while carrying out vaccination.

“Gloves are needed only if the healthcare workers are likely to come into contact with body fluids or if there is an open wound. Guidelines also state that even after wearing gloves, constant sanitisation between each patient would be the best way to minimise the risk of disease transmission,” it wrote.

Furthermore, JP Morgan stressed that glove prices may have peaked as testing efforts have started to plateau in most countries, especially developed ones. The bank pointed out that the current unprecedentedly strong demand was due mainly to high testing activities globally, particularly in the developed countries.

“Malaysian glove producers’ aggregate market capitalisation is 86% correlated to the US daily new testing data. The high 90% correlation was due to higher hospitalisation rate, driven by more testing, which in turn leads to higher demand for medical supplies and glove,” the bank commented.

The anticipated slower demand, JP Morgan said, implies limited upside to the average selling prices of the rubber glove.

In an earlier note dated Jan 6, JP Morgan said it expects glove prices to reach a peak by the first half of 2021, with prices and profits to normalise thereafter.

It maintained “underweight” calls on Top Glove Corp Bhd with a target price (TP) at RM3.50, Hartalega Holdings Bhd (TP: RM8.50) and Kossan Rubber Industries Bhd (TP: RM3.80).

However, it said risks to the calls include a second global wave of Covid-19 which could lift glove prices to new heights, unscheduled capacity shutdowns, a significant fall in input costs such as nitrile and natural rubber, a significant step-up in dividend payouts as well as a substantial degree of ringgit depreciation.

At noon break, Top Glove fell five sen to RM6.63, giving a market capitalisation of RM54.54 billion. Hartalega dropped 12 sen to RM13.02, with a market capitalisation of RM44.76 billion. Kossan fell five sen to RM4.51, with a market capitalisation of RM11.51 billion.

Sauce: https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/glov...ng-vaccinations

This post has been edited by wotvr: Jan 13 2021, 02:07 PM
mickeysew814
post Jan 13 2021, 02:05 PM

380 posts

lol...since the first injection i had until today, i never see an injection without wearing glove.

This post has been edited by mickeysew814: Jan 13 2021, 02:05 PM
SUSSGLT2
post Jan 13 2021, 02:10 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Jan 13 2021, 01:05 PM)
lol...since the first injection i had until today, i never see an injection without wearing glove.
Poor you. How many vaccination you did entire life? Talk like inject 100 times.
post Jan 13 2021, 02:13 PM

746 posts

If not mistaken, isnt it not mandatory use glove while vaccinating? In fact, if gloves are used, they would need to cycle gloves between every patient. So I dont think anyone would be using glove
ohman
post Jan 13 2021, 02:14 PM

1,178 posts

you trust JP Morgan?

they want to collect the glove stock at low price only.

COVID19 is just a flu!!!
ze2
post Jan 13 2021, 02:16 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Jan 13 2021, 02:14 PM)
you trust JP Morgan?

they want to collect the glove stock at low price only.
COVID19 is just a flu!!!
IC
SUSMPKL
post Jan 13 2021, 02:22 PM

Yesterday eurocham, today jp morgan. I don't understand why these white wolves so jealous of our country success until kept on sabo us?
mickeysew814
post Jan 13 2021, 02:23 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(SGLT2 @ Jan 13 2021, 02:10 PM)
Poor you. How many vaccination you did entire life? Talk like inject 100 times.
Hepatitis A & B for many years. and yearly check up.
Never for once i see the nurse nor doctor not wearing glove, and mask too.

lagi during pendamic, ppl going for vaccine, try ask the doctor not to wear glove n mask. biggrin.gif
urbanite
post Jan 13 2021, 02:26 PM

272 posts

Where is the glove?
HuorEarfalas
post Jan 13 2021, 02:29 PM

382 posts

GG TG Supermax
emburrar
post Jan 13 2021, 02:30 PM

14 posts

Habis glove
ApocalypseSoon
post Jan 13 2021, 02:31 PM

209 posts

5 months ago, i oledi told everyone this:
> Vaccination: Wearing of gloves is UNNECESSARY!, GG gloves counter!! LOL
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5016584&hl=

This post has been edited by ApocalypseSoon: Jan 13 2021, 02:32 PM
SUSSGLT2
post Jan 13 2021, 02:54 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Jan 13 2021, 01:23 PM)
Hepatitis A & B for many years. and yearly check up.
Never for once i see the nurse nor doctor not wearing glove, and mask too.

lagi during pendamic, ppl going for vaccine, try ask the doctor not to wear glove n mask.  biggrin.gif
Bro, im one of the healthcare worker. Never in my practice said wearing gloves during vaccination is compulsory. Plus im holding OSHA certificate.
ClericKilla
post Jan 13 2021, 02:56 PM

1,778 posts

Not only JP say no need, many other institutional investors and banks already highlighted it..

However we have many Fb groups / Telegram chat, keep BBBUUU
desmond2020
post Jan 13 2021, 02:59 PM

797 posts

betul lah

bangsat apa pakai glove buat vacination

bukan inject T virus pun.....

ohwai.
viole
post Jan 13 2021, 03:00 PM

KFC Lover
838 posts

jp morgan who?

if elon tweet about this baru la stock crash.
knumskul
post Jan 13 2021, 03:01 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(SGLT2 @ Jan 13 2021, 02:54 PM)
Bro, im one of the healthcare worker. Never in my practice said wearing gloves during vaccination is compulsory. Plus im holding OSHA certificate.
Not compulsory, but is it recommended? Do many other healthcare workers don't wear as well?

Curious about situation on the ground and actual practice, not the rules. Sometimes rules say no need, but some kiasi will do anyway.
estcin
post Jan 13 2021, 03:04 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(MPKL @ Jan 13 2021, 02:22 PM)
Yesterday eurocham, today jp morgan. I don't understand why these white wolves so jealous of our country success until kept on sabo us?
eh I tot u resign from JASA/JKOM already. When want to come reply this tered https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5086304
Eurocham and Eurochem also cannot differentiate
MasterConfucion
post Jan 13 2021, 03:05 PM

909 posts

No glove then the doctor accident cucuk herself how?
SUSthrowaway account
post Jan 13 2021, 03:05 PM

24 posts

Die liao.. I want to close my position. Hopefully at 1-2% higher.

0.0174sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:53 AM