the candidates so far are:
Koss KSC75
Sennheiser HD201
Philips SHP805
Which one should I get? thanks in advance...
Koss KSC75, Sennheiser HD201 or Philips SHP805?, < RM100
Aug 22 2007, 11:45 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
217 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Greetings guys... i'm looking for a pair of head/earphones for my laptop that costs below RM100...
the candidates so far are: Koss KSC75 Sennheiser HD201 Philips SHP805 Which one should I get? thanks in advance... |
Aug 22 2007, 11:57 AM
74 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Never heard any of those... but from the review, I vote KSC75.... coz cheap and sound good, and also can be portable and modable....
Let's wait until I tried the super moded KSC75 from Bro Scottie... that i can tell how it sound like... what sort of music do you like? |
Aug 22 2007, 12:04 PM
2,753 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Metropolitan College(KL) or JB Johor Bahru |
imho, 201 and 805 canot fight with ksc75....
Aug 22 2007, 12:21 PM
ah.. so 2 votes for KOSS.... will look into it then...
thanks guys! QUOTE(shw24 @ Aug 22 2007, 11:57 AM) Never heard any of those... but from the review, I vote KSC75.... coz cheap and sound good, and also can be portable and modable.... cool! do let me know how it sounds.... i usually listen to a little metal and also trance...Let's wait until I tried the super moded KSC75 from Bro Scottie... that i can tell how it sound like... what sort of music do you like? |
Aug 22 2007, 12:44 PM
84 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
personally, i have d all of those 3 ear/headphones, koss ksc75, sennheiser hd201, phillips shp805. plus d shp2700 n others.
fyi, d phillips shp805 have been replaced by a newer model, i think shp2700, if not mistaken. so u still can purchase it in d bulk section, or from those shops which still has d old shp805 stock. if u would prefer portabality n a good pair of earphones n budget constraint, purchase d koss ksc75. u would not regret it. it would be different experience to use a ear/headphone. personally, for a budget of approximately rm100, i think(my opinion), d philips shp2700 would be a better choice. |
Aug 22 2007, 12:52 PM
3,813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i had heard SHP2700. It is really impressive at its price tag.
Koss kcs75 is only a good budget model for portable usage. HD201 lack of bass, shallow mid. Too weak sound, muffy.. I will pick SHP2700 anytime if i dun care bout On-the-Go style. |
Aug 22 2007, 12:54 PM
10,530 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Petaling Jaya & Mid Valley |
my vote also goes to the Koss KSC75.
but if you want comfort with good sound (not as good as KSC75, but good enough) id say go for the Philips SHP2700. i dont like clip ons coz i find them very unconfortable at times...especially KSC75 clip ons..ugh....hence the reason i did my Franken PhilKoss |
Aug 22 2007, 02:12 PM
oh.. i don't really need portability since it's only for my laptop...
where did you guys find the philips shp2700? so far i have only seen the 805 on sale in shops... EDIT: looks like there's some1 selling the shp2700 in this forum... pls ignore this post.... This post has been edited by AREA51: Aug 22 2007, 02:27 PM |
Aug 22 2007, 02:42 PM
for Metal, i think super modded KSC-75 sounds really good according to Bro Scottie...
Bro Madman mod of franken phillkoss should resolve the comfy issue for home usage but maintain the sound quality. I don't think people will bother modding the KSC-75 if they don't have those hidded quality to explore.... and also a lot of headband mod of KSc75 can be found in head-fi. |
Aug 22 2007, 03:25 PM
6,489 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Serdang |
=(
my own modded ksc75 were borrowed by yuheng.... |
Aug 22 2007, 03:31 PM
lol, if wan cheap, just order from d bulk section, i think davis is bulking it, should be around rm80(if not mistaken) or just buy from shop @ price tag of around rm90+ i think.
Aug 22 2007, 03:41 PM
har?davis got bulk ksc75 meh?
coolerthings bulk that. |
Aug 22 2007, 04:15 PM
sorry for d confusion, i was refering to the d phillips shp2700.
ts, he's selling it for only rm80, d last time i bought it at allit, it was selling @ rm99. really worth d buy from davis. |
Aug 22 2007, 04:34 PM
460 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: 2.27,102.55 |
i vote for shp 2700 if without amp and kcs75 if pair with amp
Aug 22 2007, 04:45 PM
![]() poison time.. =P |
Aug 22 2007, 04:59 PM
2,012 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
wonder PcDude done my fren ksc-75 o not
but i duno he want it stock or recable version, might give him as gift since his bday near |
Aug 22 2007, 05:06 PM
Aug 22 2007, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Aug 22 2007, 04:59 PM) wonder PcDude done my fren ksc-75 o not dude, come over my place, listen ksc75(pc-audio modded)+ PPAv2but i duno he want it stock or recable version, might give him as gift since his bday near u will know wat is the maximum for ksc75, it may have the chances to pawn ur ELAC, be careful |
Aug 22 2007, 05:39 PM
actually ah....i should have passed my PhilKoss to yuheng yesterday to pass to PcWork to try out......
totally forgot about it |
Aug 22 2007, 05:43 PM
Aug 22 2007, 05:47 PM
2,499 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Tyneside |
Aug 22 2007, 09:31 PM
6,934 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Audiophilia valley... |
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 22 2007, 12:52 PM) i had heard SHP2700. It is really impressive at its price tag. I think you should listen to PPAv2+KSC75, crazy sh1t! Anytime of the day pawns you SR60 to floor. Koss kcs75 is only a good budget model for portable usage. HD201 lack of bass, shallow mid. Too weak sound, muffy.. I will pick SHP2700 anytime if i dun care bout On-the-Go style. Now I am seriously reconsidering wanna sell my PPAv2 or not liao QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 22 2007, 12:54 PM) my vote also goes to the Koss KSC75. Any crazy idea of taking out the clip cos it very painful to me too. but if you want comfort with good sound (not as good as KSC75, but good enough) id say go for the Philips SHP2700. i dont like clip ons coz i find them very unconfortable at times...especially KSC75 clip ons..ugh....hence the reason i did my Franken PhilKoss |
Aug 22 2007, 09:42 PM
3,980 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: HeAv3N |
Aug 22 2007, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 22 2007, 09:31 PM) I think you should listen to PPAv2+KSC75, crazy sh1t! Anytime of the day pawns you SR60 to floor. only way i can think of is transplanting it to full size headphones lor...Now I am seriously reconsidering wanna sell my PPAv2 or not liao Any crazy idea of taking out the clip cos it very painful to me too. other than that.... find some cheap foldable headphones, and try to find a way to stick the KSC75 onto the headband....at least ull still have portability.... |
Aug 22 2007, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 22 2007, 09:31 PM) I think you should listen to PPAv2+KSC75, crazy sh1t! Anytime of the day pawns you SR60 to floor. haha... Pls dun mentioned my SR60 now. I am listening more to a RM50 philips headphone oftenly.Now I am seriously reconsidering wanna sell my PPAv2 or not liao Any crazy idea of taking out the clip cos it very painful to me too. Goin to sell it off once i satisfy wif my new baby. Dun worry, no intend for high end model still. GAGAGA... Added on August 22, 2007, 11:14 pm QUOTE(walabies @ Aug 22 2007, 09:31 PM) I think you should listen to PPAv2+KSC75, crazy sh1t! Anytime of the day pawns you SR60 to floor. haha... Pls dun mentioned my SR60 now. I am listening more to a RM50 philips headphone oftenly.Now I am seriously reconsidering wanna sell my PPAv2 or not liao Any crazy idea of taking out the clip cos it very painful to me too. Goin to sell it off once i satisfy wif my new baby. Dun worry, no intend for high end model still. GAGAGA... This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Aug 22 2007, 11:14 PM |
Aug 22 2007, 11:24 PM
1,359 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
LOL i got one good old Philips HP800, wonder how it going to sound after a possible cable mod from PcWork?!
Aug 22 2007, 11:34 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Miri,Sarawak |
can mod my SHP2700 mou??mod till geng geng??hehe
Added on August 22, 2007, 11:36 pm This post has been edited by michaelyii1988: Aug 22 2007, 11:36 PM |
Aug 23 2007, 01:31 PM
Aug 23 2007, 05:34 PM
818 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang/Kajang/Bangi :D |
QUOTE(AREA51 @ Aug 22 2007, 11:45 AM) Greetings guys... i'm looking for a pair of head/earphones for my laptop that costs below RM100... I have both the ksc75 and the hp805. Comfortability wise, both is quite ok not bad. Both sounded pretty decent unamped too. Amping them, would be a good idea but that will definitely affect your budget. Sound quality, both sounded pretty different. Which one is better? I am not sure, but the ksc75 sure gives a better first impression than the hp805. Some songs sounded better on the ksc75 and vice versa.the candidates so far are: Koss KSC75 Sennheiser HD201 Philips SHP805 Which one should I get? thanks in advance... QUOTE(PcWork @ Aug 23 2007, 01:31 PM) You think you can mod my hp805 |
Aug 23 2007, 07:31 PM
6,934 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Audiophilia valley... |
QUOTE(naruto_kun @ Aug 23 2007, 05:34 PM) I have both the ksc75 and the hp805. Comfortability wise, both is quite ok not bad. Both sounded pretty decent unamped too. Amping them, would be a good idea but that will definitely affect your budget. Sound quality, both sounded pretty different. Which one is better? I am not sure, but the ksc75 sure gives a better first impression than the hp805. Some songs sounded better on the ksc75 and vice versa. Modding is available if you have the creativity. You think you can mod my hp805 KSC75 is highly potential if you are willing to spend on amps and sources. |
Aug 24 2007, 09:42 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Miri,Sarawak |
got any modded pics??share share
Aug 24 2007, 10:31 AM
u should try the PCdude modded one.... I can't say anything apart from just stay quite and listen with burning chest beating fast.... If i was in my room, I think I can't just sit and listen....
Really good one... and also the sound sig... Actually I prefer this one for my type of music instead of ES7... This post has been edited by shw24: Aug 24 2007, 10:33 AM |
Aug 24 2007, 10:48 AM
3,988 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Sennheiser HD201 cannot match at all?
KSC75 good for clarity? Will it comfortable for people who wear specs? I also considering below Rm100 headphone/clips/or whatever as long comfortable and good to listen the to clarity. |
Aug 24 2007, 11:38 AM
You can bend the clip a bit la to make it comfy. No critical listening yet, but from the first impression... the clarity is good.... the bass as well.
Aug 24 2007, 12:28 PM
well well well.... look what's happened to my thread when i'm not around! it's now filled with mod talks...
hehe j/k... after some thoughts i have decided to go with the shp2700.... again thank you all! |
Aug 24 2007, 02:40 PM
2,012 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(Kelv @ Aug 24 2007, 10:48 AM) Sennheiser HD201 cannot match at all? PCwork n me is wearing specKSC75 good for clarity? Will it comfortable for people who wear specs? I also considering below Rm100 headphone/clips/or whatever as long comfortable and good to listen the to clarity. so u think is the clip bother? |
Aug 25 2007, 03:00 AM
1,352 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(iamnofreak07 @ Aug 22 2007, 12:44 PM) personally, i have d all of those 3 ear/headphones, koss ksc75, sennheiser hd201, phillips shp805. plus d shp2700 n others. Since you have tested shp805 and shp2700, do you find any different between them? Or is it practically the same?fyi, d phillips shp805 have been replaced by a newer model, i think shp2700, if not mistaken. so u still can purchase it in d bulk section, or from those shops which still has d old shp805 stock. if u would prefer portabality n a good pair of earphones n budget constraint, purchase d koss ksc75. u would not regret it. it would be different experience to use a ear/headphone. personally, for a budget of approximately rm100, i think(my opinion), d philips shp2700 would be a better choice. |
Aug 25 2007, 08:03 AM
102 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
how much all the 3 headphones cost you ?
Aug 25 2007, 09:29 AM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
I think ksc75 can modded a lot type version each of it has the different potential and significant sound....good stuff..
Aug 25 2007, 02:37 PM
yeah..Haha.. Still thinking to mod SR60 too. Dunno does it worth to make such change or not.
Aug 26 2007, 01:13 PM
4,540 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: US > LOS > KL |
Aug 26 2007, 07:34 PM
411 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Miri, Sarawak |
emm, sorry.. ask a question here, do you noe where i can get SHP805? afaik, philips has stopped production on SHP805
Aug 26 2007, 11:20 PM
1,140 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Equine Park |
lol, just get the ksc75 and ask bro PcWork to recabled / mod, seriously it pawn many higher end earphone..
I just listened to his recabled and modded (or so called 'revived from death' punya ksc75), my eyes also wanna pop out.. seriously sound great, even side by side with 580 in vocal songs, it doesn't loss much, but of course don't expect it to be better than 580 in vocal la, but in metal song (test it with metallica song), it pawns 580 miles away hahaha.. The revived from death punya ksc75 has deeper bass and less bright than the recabled ksc75 (if i remember correctly, too many headphone he let me tried, even the AT M30). Now i wanna get a ksc75 already.. thanks to PcWork haha.. This post has been edited by nicholas_1213: Aug 27 2007, 02:55 AM |
Aug 27 2007, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Aug 26 2007, 11:20 PM) lol, just get the ksc75 and ask bro PcWork to recabled / mod, seriously it pawn many higher end earphone.. ANYTHING would blow the Sennheisers away when it comes to metal la.....I just listened to his recabled and modded (or so called 'revived from death' punya ksc75), my eyes also wanna pop out.. seriously sound great, even side by side with 580 in vocal songs, it doesn't loss much, but of course don't expect it to be better than 580 in vocal la, but in metallic song (test it with metallica song), it pawns 580 miles away hahaha.. The revived from death punya ksc75 has deeper bass and less bright than the recabled ksc75 (if i remember correctly, too many headphone he let me tried, even the AT M30). Now i wanna get a ksc75 already.. thanks to PcWork haha.. i even prefer the cheapo Philips HP250 for metal compared to the HD595 or even the HD650 |
Aug 27 2007, 03:18 AM
1,140 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Equine Park |
Hehe, sorry for the needless comparison then
Aug 27 2007, 01:11 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
mADmAN you're right. I just got myself a KSC75 and listening to Metal now is like nothing ever before!!! Compared to my previous Spark Plug, I can wear this for hours comfortably, and I don't feel like wanna take it off forever.. ahhaahh
| Change to: | 0.0264sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:17 PM |