TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 10:52 AM, updated 5y ago

1,039 posts

I want to add new toy to my Man Cave
Also in future teach my kid about coding
Anyone here expert in Lego Mindstorms ?

My question is this:
1) How long these toys can last before rosak ? especially the motors ? 3 years ? 5 years ?
2) Can I order separate spare parts if one part of my robot rosak via Lego ?
3) Where to buy ? I notice Lego shops like not offer this ? order online ?
4) My kid only < 5 years old, I want to wait another 3 more years, before I play with the robot than teach him how to play with it. Can the toy last another 3-5 years ?
5) Is it useful for kids to learn coding ?

TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 10:55 AM

1,039 posts

toothgnasher
post Jan 10 2021, 10:58 AM

204 posts

U takut rosak, just play fisher price toys saja
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 11:00 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(toothgnasher @ Jan 10 2021, 10:58 AM)
U takut rosak, just play fisher price toys saja
I also want to play with the toy.

fisher price not for me lah

I want to code
pretty23
post Jan 10 2021, 12:00 PM

1,791 posts

lego so expensive to play. so luxury price as a toy.
thunderloh
post Jan 10 2021, 12:10 PM

71 posts

Did consider to buy, but the price is a bit too high.
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 12:12 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(thunderloh @ Jan 10 2021, 12:10 PM)
I saw other coding robot toys like Vex.

wacrop
post Jan 10 2021, 12:12 PM

50 posts

Recommend age 10 +
5 years old too early
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 12:18 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(thunderloh @ Jan 10 2021, 12:10 PM)
but is it useful for kids to learn

kind of expensive just to learn programming by moving icons.

I mean its not rocket science.

thunderloh
post Jan 10 2021, 12:22 PM

71 posts

lol, my daughter stop playing lego with me n rather play minecraft on my phone.

So i'm the only one playing it at the end. tongue.gif
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 12:47 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(thunderloh @ Jan 10 2021, 12:22 PM)
lol, my daughter stop playing lego with me n rather play minecraft on my phone.

So i'm the only one playing it at the end. tongue.gif
dunno about this Minecraft

spoil my eyes when watch it
sohigh
post Jan 10 2021, 12:48 PM

Too expensive not pipit standard
netmatrix
post Jan 10 2021, 12:50 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

I wanted to get these a long time ago. But then found the prices really crazy. I might as well just spend more time buying small cheap programmable controllers, small motors/ actuators and built/ code from it.
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 12:52 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 10 2021, 12:50 PM)
I wanted to get these a long time ago. But then found the prices really crazy. I might as well just spend more time buying small cheap programmable controllers, small motors/ actuators and built/ code from it.
But what block programming do you use ?

unless you know Python or some software language, you can program.

How to do these by yourself ? where to get the motors and actuators ?
You need to know coding and CS in order to built code from it.

janszmatt
post Jan 10 2021, 12:52 PM

363 posts

Newer version coming out to replace EV3. But covid may cause it to delay.
netmatrix
post Jan 10 2021, 12:59 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 10 2021, 12:52 PM)
But what block programming do you use ?

unless you know Python or some software language, you can program.

How to do these by yourself ? where to get the motors and actuators ?
You need to know coding and CS in order to built code from it.
Buy a simple kit like this

https://shopee.com.my/%F0%9F%94%A5%F0%9F%94...0880.1825888472

And start learning from youtube. Should not be afraid of programming also. Tons of ready made codes that you can copy & paste from internet. Its not like 1980-1990s' where you still need to code manually from scratch.
TSMaria Takagi
post Jan 10 2021, 01:06 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 10 2021, 12:59 PM)

And start learning from youtube. Should not be afraid of programming also. Tons of ready made codes that you can copy & paste from internet. Its not like 1980-1990s' where you still need to code manually from scratch.
but this robot didn't come along with the program.

So I have to do my own.

Sorry I am not from CS background

how do I copy and paste code from internet ?

I have zero knowledge of code.
netmatrix
post Jan 10 2021, 01:10 PM

6,733 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jan 10 2021, 01:06 PM)
but this robot didn't come along with the program.

So I have to do my own.

Sorry I am not from CS background

how do I copy and paste code from internet ?

I have zero knowledge of code.
You should go to youtube and look at robotics for beginners. Or basic robotics. Also beginner robotic coding/ programming. Look and understand what is needed. Then plan how you wanna start. With Mindstorms you pay for convenience.

Anything you do from scratch will be hard. But the satisfaction is much more higher. Bragging rights is higher too. laugh.gif
limfreelance
post Jan 10 2021, 01:48 PM

343 posts

hobby kami mahal
thunderloh
post Jan 10 2021, 02:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 10 2021, 12:59 PM)

Interesting indeed! Thanks for sharing.

0.0196sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:24 PM