TP-Link Deco that supports 500MBPS TM Unifi?

TSAlfredKoh
post Jan 7 2021, 03:30 PM, updated 5y ago

154 posts

I am upgrading my internet plan to 500MBPS.

TM will be giving 2-pack TP-Link Deco M4. Based on what I checked, M4 can support up to 300MBPS.

I want to utilize 500MBPS speed. Since I am in a 3-storey bungalow, 2-pack deco is not enough. Which model that I should purchase to have 500MBPS? I plan to buy another 1-pack or 2-pack.

I've narrowed down to the following few:
1) TP-Link Deco M9 Plus
2) TP-Link Deco X20

If i dont purchase the above 2 models, i will not be maximizing the speed that i subscribe right?

This post has been edited by AlfredKoh: Jan 7 2021, 03:31 PM
Alpha_Tay
post Jan 7 2021, 03:32 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

TP-Link M4 Box Sticker is 500Mbps

i test it personally, it be able to run 500Mbps no problem CPU wise, but 800Mbps unstable.
soonwai
post Jan 7 2021, 03:43 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(AlfredKoh @ Jan 7 2021, 03:30 PM)

TM will be giving 2-pack TP-Link Deco M4. Based on what I checked, M4 can support up to 300MBPS.

I want to utilize 500MBPS speed. Since I am in a 3-storey bungalow, 2-pack deco is not enough. Which model that I should purchase to have 500MBPS? I plan to buy another 1-pack or 2-pack.

1) TP-Link Deco M9 Plus
2) TP-Link Deco X20

If i dont purchase the above 2 models, i will not be maximizing the speed that i subscribe right?
Deco M4 wired 500Mbps no problem. Probably 800Mbps also can.

Here are some speed tests for M4 and M9.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96378294
shahie
post Jan 7 2021, 06:20 PM

506 posts

1) TP-Link Deco M9 Plus
2) TP-Link Deco X20

how come TM give you M4? suppose M9 plus! i got M9 plus from TM and spend my own pocket on X60.

This post has been edited by shahie: Jan 7 2021, 06:21 PM
heidarren
post Jan 7 2021, 07:40 PM

248 posts

In router mode, M4/M5 both can handle 500mbps, but unable to handle 800mbps

In Wi-Fi, both can reach around 500mbps+, but only nearly half speed if wireless backhaul is using.

In WAN to LAN speed, M4 can reach 700mbps+- while M5 can only handle 550mbps+-, be aware that LAN to LAN is also limited to that speed, I think it’s due to TP-Link doesn’t use hardware acceleration to offload traffic, maybe they need it to be disable for traffic calculation.

M4 is actually faster in both WAN, LAN and Wi-Fi speed, M5 offer better function such as QoS and so.

This post has been edited by heidarren: Jan 7 2021, 07:42 PM
heidarren
post Jan 7 2021, 07:41 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(heidarren @ Jan 7 2021, 07:40 PM)

In Wi-Fi, both can reach around 500mbps+, but only getting nearly half of the speed if wireless backhaul is using.

In WAN to LAN speed, M4 can reach 700mbps+- while M5 can only handle 550mbps+-, be aware that LAN to LAN is also limited to that speed, I think it’s due to TP-Link doesn’t use hardware acceleration to offload traffic, maybe they need it to be disable for traffic calculation.

M4 is actually faster in both WAN, LAN and Wi-Fi speed, M5 offer better function such as QoS and so.
TSAlfredKoh
post Jan 11 2021, 05:51 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jan 7 2021, 03:32 PM)
TP-Link M4 Box Sticker is 500Mbps

i test it personally, it be able to run 500Mbps no problem CPU wise, but 800Mbps unstable.
Ahh i see, wired or wireless? But atleast can support up to 500mbps

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 7 2021, 03:43 PM)
Deco M4 wired 500Mbps no problem. Probably 800Mbps also can.

Here are some speed tests for M4 and M9.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=96378294
Any idea for wireless?

QUOTE(shahie @ Jan 7 2021, 06:20 PM)
how come TM give you M4? suppose M9 plus! i got M9 plus from TM and spend my own pocket on X60.
It is also listed in their website...dont know why is it M4 instead of M9 Plus

QUOTE(heidarren @ Jan 7 2021, 07:40 PM)

In Wi-Fi, both can reach around 500mbps+, but only nearly half speed if wireless backhaul is using.

TSAlfredKoh
post Jan 11 2021, 05:53 PM

154 posts

Since I will be given a set of TP-Link Deco M4, do I need Tp-Link network switch to make it work?

I have an existing D-Link 16 port network switch. Will it work?
I referred to this link by TP-Link:
https://www.tp-link.com/my/support/faq/1794/

It mentioned that D-Link network switch is not compatible with TP-Link. Does anyone have any comment on this?
soonwai
post Jan 11 2021, 06:03 PM

11,459 posts

1) TP-Link Deco M9 Plus
2) TP-Link Deco X20

If you're going fully wireless, go for the M9 as it has 3 radios. Don't put them too far apart so that they can use one of the 5Ghz radios as the uplink.

X20 only has 2 radios. If you're wiring up the Decos then go for this.
shahie
post Jan 11 2021, 07:12 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(AlfredKoh @ Jan 11 2021, 05:51 PM)
It is also listed in their website...dont know why is it M4 instead of M9 Plus
you deserve for that M9 plus..listed on their package.

https://unifi.com.my/personal/home/fibre-broadband
heidarren
post Jan 11 2021, 08:31 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(AlfredKoh @ Jan 11 2021, 05:53 PM)
Since I will be given a set of TP-Link Deco M4, do I need Tp-Link network switch to make it work?

It mentioned that D-Link network switch is not compatible with TP-Link. Does anyone have any comment on this?
Yes, avoid D-Link switches
cannavaro
post Jan 12 2021, 04:15 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I'm using a gbe dlink switch from 2007 (DGS-1008D rev E1) and it works with my deco set up, running ethernet backhaul (2 x M4, 1 x M5)
my guess is, the much newer models have issues with tplink
taqu
post Jan 13 2021, 08:31 AM

864 posts

True, some D-Link switches don't work with Mesh Wifi, even D-Link Covr won't work too.
TSAlfredKoh
post Jan 14 2021, 01:45 PM

154 posts

i've purchased a new TP-Link Gigabit switch for that. Thanks a lot everyone.

Now is down to the Tp-Link Deco model..as some of you mentioned that M4 is proven to support up to 500MBPS, does it worth paying extra for X20 or M9 Plus??

Also, between M4 and M5, which is better?
shahie
post Jan 14 2021, 02:06 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(AlfredKoh @ Jan 14 2021, 01:45 PM)
i've purchased a new TP-Link Gigabit switch for that. Thanks a lot everyone.

Now is down to the Tp-Link Deco model..as some of you mentioned that M4 is proven to support up to 500MBPS, does it worth paying extra for X20 or M9 Plus??

Also, between M4 and M5, which is better?
bro.. get X60 straight away if you use ethernet backhaul. now price reduced already.
awanbiru27 P
post Aug 15 2024, 11:37 PM

Probation

Hai.

BOleh saya tahu.. Wi-FI yang mana better pakai untuk tarik 500mbps.. kerana line TM saya 500mbps..
tp lambat sikit..

sekian

0.0279sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:52 PM