Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V39, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

Micky78
post Jun 12 2021, 11:43 PM

1,192 posts

need to asked stupid question.

my Unifi package recently upgrade from 100M to 300M with a free deco.
however, i noted that my laptop speed still cap at 50M but when i can get 200m when using my phone..
what should i do to get my laptop to get at least 200M.

tq

Micky78
post Jun 14 2021, 11:47 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(twice1020 @ Jun 13 2021, 12:03 AM)
Seems that you are connecting to 2.4Ghz.
Did your laptop support 5Ghz?
Try connecting to 5Ghz and test.
i bring my laptop near the router.. not able to detect the 5ghz wifi.. i believe is my laptop problem then...

other than getting a new laptop... any alternative? thanks...

This post has been edited by Micky78: Jun 14 2021, 11:53 AM
Micky78
post Jun 14 2021, 12:07 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jun 14 2021, 12:02 PM)
Replace the wifi card inside the laptop (upgrade to one that supports 5ghz)
or USB wifi adapter that supports 5ghz (please do not buy those unbranded ones)

With that said some laptops prevent upgrading of the wifi card inside and will refuse to boot if it detects a change
thanks..
Micky78
post Jun 14 2021, 12:18 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Jun 14 2021, 12:09 PM)
may i know, before this your laptop could receive 5Ghz WIFI?
If YES, what router have you used before?
cannot remember de..been using this d-link 842 from unifi since 3 yrs ago.. cannot remembered whether i had connect to 5ghz before

noted my laptop is using Realtek RTL8723BE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC.

Micky78
post Jun 14 2021, 06:09 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(akhito @ Jun 14 2021, 04:29 PM)
802.11n not 5Ghz at least need 802.11ac adapter. So ya ur laptop not supported just use ethernet if u need high speed, cuz i dun really recommend buying another adapter or laptop for 5Ghz
thanks.
Micky78
post Jun 14 2021, 06:19 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jun 13 2021, 03:05 PM)

Can you share what is the upload speed?
I had an offer saying that the 300Mbps comes with 100Mbps instead of the advertised 50Mbps UL.

What’s yours?
using my handphone.. speed around 200k++... this the max speed i got as my laptop cap at 50mpbs due to only connect to 2.4Ghx

0.2927sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:42 PM