413 Pages « < 393 394 395 396 397 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V39, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

cklove96
post Feb 21 2022, 03:58 AM

hehe
705 posts

QUOTE(Nicknamed666 @ Feb 20 2022, 05:50 PM)
Hello guys, is it recommended to turn on Ipv6 with unifi ? or its just better to stay on Ipv4 only?  biggrin.gif
enable both v4 v6,no problem at all
BenYeeHua
post Feb 21 2022, 04:14 AM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Feb 20 2022, 09:57 PM)
Actually All in one fiber modem is not power enough for the past 10 years,Now they change to single router is because the modem cpu power is better so it can provide all those service in one device.
So if want the best performance separate the modem and router still is the first choice (if modem not good enough)
For enthusiast,Fiber modem + Non-Wifi Router + Dedicated Wifi AP will getting the best performance. (Or like the Anime4000 use SFP GPON with router also a good solution as the Fiber modem provided by ISP is not so powerful)
Yes, it is a cheap solution to reach IPv6 coverage in China mainland, so they just go with it. tongue.gif

Also some area of ISP block IPv6 inbound connection, so certain Ipv6 just works like NAT which is, why the upgrade... doh.gif

QUOTE(Dylnyat @ Feb 20 2022, 11:06 PM)
Tonight unfi so slow or what, watch twitch, keep buffering. Every few second buffering. Whyy?

And suddenly after reset port, the ping is high than usual. Usually 3\4 ms, after reset port. It change back to 25ms 33ms
As above, keep changing IPv4 range to get the best connection during 6.50 PM to morning unknown AM.

The problem is
1. Twitch don't lookup the IP address correctly, so it is kicking you back to their Netherland for video.
2. When there is too much traffic, TM are having heavy throttling to most of oversea connection now, including Netherland, which happen around 7 PM
3. Certain IP range got different routing to oversea.

So changing IPv4 range helps on getting the correct Asia server from Twitch for video, SG/HK/TW/JP for example. icon_rolleyes.gif
If not care too much about account safety/guest mode, go with VPN then, so far the free solution Opera VPN - Asia works for me.

Anyways, based on my observe, HK back to China mainland also got some minor issues now, even during midnight, it happen since 3 days with Taobao, and Bilibili today.. hmm.gif
As there is not much issues on Taobao games, event loading(normal downloading speed for JS asset) and live steam of video, so should be on HK side.

If want me to guess, closing of Olympus - live stream video affecting it? hmm.gif
Will see in these few day, if back to normal, then it means Olympus are causing it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Feb 21 2022, 03:58 AM)
enable both v4 v6,no problem at all
If not a frequency mobile users, just enable and disable IPv6 easily with Firefox about:config, Ethernet TCP/IP IPv6 for all software also works. tongue.gif

So far the only using IPv6 are Facebook's product, Twitter, Google, Microsoft and CloudFlare on my side.
On my record, Facebook, Twitter and CloudFlare can fxxk up easily on IPv6, 99% of time it is CloudFlare affected only.

Most product including 1.1.1.1 VPN are getting back to CloudFlare MY, only certain IPv6 range still reroute to SG, I guess TM forgot them because too much IPv6 range.... sweat.gif

For Twitch IPv4?
That one special. laugh.gif
BenYeeHua
post Feb 21 2022, 05:46 AM

1,873 posts

Was playing around with IP address, in midnight, yes, I always did that, cool midnight day. tongue.gif

Here is my 1 hour testing, observed and result.

1. IPv6 are messed up again, getting IPv6 assigned without any connection, while IPv4 still works, there is once IPv6 failed in the middle of using, within 3 mins doh.gif
2. Even the local Google IPv4 connection got strange latency in between 5ms - 8 ms, also affected to oversea IPv4, so I guess it is caused by latency connecting to the gateway, which explain why affecting to both.
The lowest is 180.x.x.x which only 5ms to Google IPv4, sadly getting failed IPv6, switched away and never coming back... doh.gif

3. Twitch issues are caused by TM rerouting Twitch IP address's traffic to Netherland(why??? Olympic?), now it has moving back to SG so it will assign you HK + SG, or SG only.

The best should be SG only, but HK + SG means you are downloading the future 2 part of video from HK and SG, 2 server in rotate way, so watch experience might be good might be bad, depend on how's the HK link are.

Method for debug.

Also one last thing, Twitch/Amazon are learning from microsoft, no respond to ping, causing so much issues on troubleshooting, heh! laugh.gif

Final(? hope so) conclusion, blame TM and/or Olympic live streaming, hope all TM IP are connecting back to Twitch SG la. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BenYeeHua: Feb 21 2022, 05:49 AM
Dylnyat
post Feb 21 2022, 06:24 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(twice1020 @ Feb 20 2022, 11:43 PM)
Try restart router and get different IP range. Some Unifi IP range have routing issue to twitch servers.
Will try that today.
velarous
post Feb 21 2022, 07:44 AM

64 posts

Sifu’s I need a bit of advise.

I am in a landed bungalow in Selangor - Ampang. Small neighborhood only about 20 houses on top of a small hill.

I don’t know if it’s Unifi’s half assed infrastructure in my area but I’ve been suffering constant internet outages (LOS red blinking) in my house for years but more so in the last 8 months. It is always the same issue, some fiber cable somewhere along my street is damage or loose. My street is only like 300 meters long with 6 houses.

The outage will last till their technician comes to fix it which is normally within 1-3 days of making a report.

Before 2021 this happens maybe 5 times a year. Now in the last 8 months it’s happened 15 times. This year alone 3 times now.

I’ve complained to TM many times why is this such a frequent problem. Especially now with wfh and kids schooling from home sometimes. Their normal answer is we’ve notified the technical teams to look into it asap but 3 weeks later it’s the same issue again. It’s so frequent that I’ve even got a template to copy paste with their live chat and speech ready for their 100 helpline lol.

I suspect that because the fiber cables are exposed on telephone poles, that the weather and tree branches are doing the damage but I can’t be sure. I also mentioned my housing/neighborhood details because I also think it’s exactly why they don’t bother fixing things properly - too little customers in the neighborhood.

Changing to other isp doesn’t seem like it’ll help because it’s all the same cables for landed areas correct? What else can be done? I can’t even get them to bill me pro rata. Since the turn of the year. I think I’ve not had internet for 8 days all together.

This post has been edited by velarous: Feb 21 2022, 08:05 AM
achong09
post Feb 21 2022, 08:37 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(velarous @ Feb 21 2022, 07:44 AM)

I am in a landed bungalow in Selangor - Ampang. Small neighborhood only about 20 houses on top of a small hill.

I don’t know if it’s Unifi’s half assed infrastructure in my area but I’ve been suffering constant internet outages (LOS red blinking) in my house for years but more so in the last 8 months. It is always the same issue, some fiber cable somewhere along my street is damage or loose. My street is only like 300 meters long with 6 houses.

The outage will last till their technician comes to fix it which is normally within 1-3 days of making a report.

Before 2021 this happens maybe 5 times a year. Now in the last 8 months it’s happened 15 times. This year alone 3 times now.

I’ve complained to TM many times why is this such a frequent problem. Especially now with wfh and kids schooling from home sometimes. Their normal answer is we’ve notified the technical teams to look into it asap but 3 weeks later it’s the same issue again. It’s so frequent that I’ve even got a template to copy paste with their live chat and speech ready for their 100 helpline lol.

I suspect that because the fiber cables are exposed on telephone poles, that the weather and tree branches are doing the damage but I can’t be sure. I also mentioned my housing/neighborhood details because I also think it’s exactly why they don’t bother fixing things properly - too little customers in the neighborhood.

Changing to other isp doesn’t seem like it’ll help because it’s all the same cables for landed areas correct? What else can be done? I can’t even get them to bill me pro rata. Since the turn of the year. I think I’ve not had internet for 8 days all together.
had this problem during CNY eve and 2nd day of CNY.. however it was resolved within 24 hours... at night sleep, next morning wake up Internet is back up... checked with TM technician they say issue with the Fiber outside exchange and splitter.. they change it no issue already.. so far running smooth.. so far happy with TM services.. log case within 2 to 3 hours got someone call me to confirm and do checks... good service...
go626201
post Feb 21 2022, 10:23 AM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Feb 21 2022, 05:46 AM)

3. Twitch issues are caused by TM rerouting Twitch IP address's traffic to Netherland(why??? Olympic?), now it has moving back to SG so it will assign you HK + SG, or SG only.
The twitch stream server distribution is not done by TM,is on Twitch server end.
But the problem is not on Twitch end,becuase whatever Twitch server distributed, the normal situation will be any server that connected should be watchable.
So TM must fixed their congestion issue to avoid most connection unstable problem,after that all those night issue will go away.

annoymous1234
post Feb 21 2022, 10:38 AM

7,614 posts

this one u need to bring it up to mcmc. make a complain there.
hjack
post Feb 21 2022, 10:45 AM

276 posts

Certain maxis fiber plans give you backup 4g dongle. Worth to try if you gave up on this.
velarous
post Feb 21 2022, 12:49 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Feb 21 2022, 08:37 AM)
had this problem during CNY eve and 2nd day of CNY.. however it was resolved within 24 hours... at night sleep, next morning wake up Internet is back up... checked with TM technician they say issue with the Fiber outside exchange and splitter.. they change it no issue already.. so far running smooth.. so far happy with TM services.. log case within 2 to 3 hours got someone call me to confirm and do checks... good service...
Yeah the service is rather quick sometimes for me. But on average they come 1.5 days later and sometimes they say they don't have the tools to fix it and will come back in the next few days. The longest wait was mid last year, 9 days straight without internet. They kept saying their team was awaiting a higher level team to take a look at the issue because they couldn't find the fault.

Main issue is the frequency of the problem is getting higher and higher.
heLL_bOy
post Feb 21 2022, 02:03 PM

1,344 posts

more likely your area infrastructure got issue.

why not you lodge a report to MCMC?

gather all your info from previously till to date and lodge the report.

YoungMan
post Feb 21 2022, 02:44 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(velarous @ Feb 21 2022, 08:44 AM)

Apart from what is mentioned by others, you can request bill rebate also when you lodge report with MCMC.
go626201
post Feb 21 2022, 05:17 PM

1,882 posts

TM Officially Announces Participation In 100Tbps SEA-ME-WE 6 Submarine Cable System
Good news but still far far away. tongue.gif doh.gif
Chiggah
post Feb 21 2022, 05:23 PM

567 posts

Exactly same issue as you. Been getting red LOS about 10-20 times last year.

Called TM to repair and they said "musang gigit cable"

This post has been edited by Chiggah: Feb 22 2022, 08:28 PM
Hitman190
post Feb 21 2022, 08:46 PM

589 posts

When I check my speeds on anything but TM Speedtest or TM's server on ookla Speedtest, I am getting only a fraction of the 500Mbps speeds I am paying for. Anyone else have slow speeds right now?
jhleo1
post Feb 21 2022, 09:09 PM

4,379 posts

Best is use LAN connection to test. I use WIFI to test speedtest on my 300mbps but TV connect to Netflix, my kids playing online game thru their tablets, download speed around 270mbps/upload 51mbps. Acceptable for me based on my usage now.

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Feb 21 2022, 08:46 PM)
When I check my speeds on anything but TM Speedtest or TM's server on ookla Speedtest, I am getting only a fraction of the 500Mbps speeds I am paying for. Anyone else have slow speeds right now?
Rei7
post Feb 21 2022, 09:35 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

Wonder why i'm only getting 15mbps download speed out of 500mbps tonight..
Hitman190
post Feb 21 2022, 09:39 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Feb 21 2022, 09:09 PM)
Best is use LAN connection to test. I use WIFI to test speedtest on my 300mbps but TV connect to Netflix, my kids playing online game thru their tablets, download speed around 270mbps/upload 51mbps. Acceptable for me based on my usage now.
I am on a wired connection right now.

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 21 2022, 09:35 PM)
Wonder why i'm only getting 15mbps download speed out of 500mbps tonight..
Same here. laugh.gif
Rei7
post Feb 21 2022, 09:42 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Feb 21 2022, 09:39 PM)
I am on a wired connection right now.
Same here.  laugh.gif
Ampang area here.. you?
Hitman190
post Feb 21 2022, 09:44 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Feb 21 2022, 09:42 PM)
Ampang area here.. you?
Melawati.

413 Pages « < 393 394 395 396 397 > » Top