ðŸª‘~~The Chair Discussion Thread~~💺, Office, Gaming, Ergonomic, Lazy Chairs

TSmiyakochan89
post Sep 8 2021, 01:55 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Sep 8 2021, 01:09 PM)
Just got it, and so far so good.
With only fan and without aircon, I would say little hot, but bearable.

Found a sticker underneath the seat pad, it says made in malaysia, photo a bit blur.

A lot of furnitures are actually manufactured in MY until China takes over.
Thats why you see chairs that look similar like some overseas brands but under a different name. Could be the same manufacturer manufacturing for the other company, thats why they have the blueprints and then sell them as their own.
un.deux.trois
post Sep 8 2021, 03:14 PM

679 posts

Found a sticker underneath the seat pad, it says made in malaysia, photo a bit blur.

Steelcase has a factory in Puchong if I'm not mistaken.

Btw if you find the back support to be harsh, you can remove the adjustable lumbar support. I removed it from my chair after reading many reviews saying the chair is better without the adjustable lumbar support. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by un.deux.trois: Sep 8 2021, 03:15 PM
adamhzm90
post Sep 8 2021, 04:10 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(ProfessorHi @ Sep 7 2021, 07:02 PM)
Hello, I am looking for some recommendations as the frame of my Ikea Markus Chair recently broke (the chair is now slanting towards one side) and I don't have the original receipt to claim guarantee, so here I am in need of a new chair. Want to try out something different as I personally do not like the arm rest on the Markus.

Looking for something that can be bought via Shopee or is in Petaling Jaya area and under RM1000. Merryfair's Shopee seems to be on Vacation so that option is out. I have found this chair called ELY Trend on Shopee, anyone has any views on it?

Thanks in advance!
im currently using the Trendy but a cheaper version (2d armrest, link below)..overall satisfied..my only complaint is the armrest adjustment

https://shopee.com.my/ELY-Trendy-High-Back-...3117&position=1
bengang14
post Sep 8 2021, 08:59 PM

209 posts

congrats. I am still waiting for my slot to try out the chair(if it ever come). now i am worried of the hot seat. but HM is out of the question. i can buy two Steelcase with one HM
fnm83
post Sep 8 2021, 10:21 PM

287 posts

I hv made my mind and will get this one tonight

https://shopee.com.my/product/11337800/5781...46-1631110867.9

Hope good to my tulang and spine.
Exoflare
post Sep 9 2021, 06:33 AM

869 posts

Hi!

Just a small update on the Steelcase Leap group buy at a small risk of saying things that have already been said:

1) ELY has changed their website to allow discount codes and offered a small discount of RM100 on the Leap and RM50 on Think and Series2 if you guys check out via the ELY web store with the codes VR100LG and VR050TS when the chairs are available.

Group buy can be most meaningfully executed when there are more than 50 buyers, so please feel free to invite your friends to join the group if it’s something that you are interested in, or if you’d simply like to chat about ergonomics smile.gif

2) I spoke with EBIBCA further and Bryan has been an absolute wonder and a charm; he spoke well of Zenpro and has been quite explicit about not wanting to start a price war with ELY and also has mentioned that if that were the case, he would rather not do the business. After a long conversation with me, he later proposed a means of resolving the possibility of price war, which was to ask his principals at Steelcase to offer a lower (Youtuber) rate for a group procurement - I am unsure how viable this is, but we shall see; fingers crossed!

As part of full disclosure, I do want to mention that I receive a small commission as a result of your discounted purchase that will meaningfully help me grow my YouTube channel; thank you to those of you who have supported me, and I look forward to bringing you all valuable content in days ahead smile.gif
Exoflare
post Sep 9 2021, 06:40 AM

869 posts

Oh word dude! It got there smoothly! How is it compared to your previous chair(s)?

For mine, I don’t know if I said this before, but someone at GDEX literally stole the chair and I’m pretty sure ELY had to claim insurance on that 😅
Exoflare
post Sep 9 2021, 06:51 AM

869 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 8 2021, 01:55 PM)
A lot of furnitures are actually manufactured in MY until China takes over.
Thats why you see chairs that look similar like some overseas brands but under a different name. Could be the same manufacturer manufacturing for the other company, thats why they have the blueprints and then sell them as their own.
I don’t think Steelcase is manufactured in Malaysia alone - I would suspect that Malaysia is only one of the places where it is manufactured.

The pricing is an interesting question though, that I’m interested to explore; Leap and Gesture are cheaper here than most places (ELY says anywhere) else in the world (it is true - prices are at least 1000USD in the US; Singapore, it’s 1668SGD), and Francis told me that that’s in part a pricing consideration that takes into account competitor chairs on the market.

At this point I do wonder what chairs, specifically, are the direct competitors of Leap and Gesture - I would guess Herman Miller Sayl for one, and my friend mentioned Haworth Zody, but I don’t know haha - but it’s kind of like a Rafael Nadal v Federer rivalry regardless of the presence of any Djokovics or Murrays.
zodius
post Sep 12 2021, 08:04 PM

236 posts

Hi all, I am planning to get an ergonomic chair for home use with a budget of RM 1k-1.5k. I am currently looking at merryfair tune chair. Is there anyone have experience on this chair can share some thought?

https://merryfairstore.com/product/19/tune

SilenceCat
post Sep 14 2021, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(Exoflare @ Sep 9 2021, 06:33 AM)
Hi!

Just a small update on the Steelcase Leap group buy at a small risk of saying things that have already been said:

1) ELY has changed their website to allow discount codes and offered a small discount of RM100 on the Leap and RM50 on Think and Series2 if you guys check out via the ELY web store with the codes VR100LG and VR050TS when the chairs are available.

Group buy can be most meaningfully executed when there are more than 50 buyers, so please feel free to invite your friends to join the group if it’s something that you are interested in, or if you’d simply like to chat about ergonomics smile.gif

2) I spoke with EBIBCA further and Bryan has been an absolute wonder and a charm; he spoke well of Zenpro and has been quite explicit about not wanting to start a price war with ELY and also has mentioned that if that were the case, he would rather not do the business. After a long conversation with me, he later proposed a means of resolving the possibility of price war, which was to ask his principals at Steelcase to offer a lower (Youtuber) rate for a group procurement - I am unsure how viable this is, but we shall see; fingers crossed!

As part of full disclosure, I do want to mention that I receive a small commission as a result of your discounted purchase that will meaningfully help me grow my YouTube channel; thank you to those of you who have supported me, and I look forward to bringing you all valuable content in days ahead smile.gif
Tried those coupon at ELY website, it doesn't work.

Anyway, did they mention how much is the corporate rate for leap v2?
Exoflare
post Sep 14 2021, 04:56 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(SilenceCat @ Sep 14 2021, 02:34 PM)

Hey! Sorry about that - I’ll check with Francis in a bit; he hasn’t gotten back to me about that but has just said for now that if it’s 50 and above we can talk; hasn’t told me about what the price would be yet. I’ll reconfirm and after the code works again, post once again in this thread.
Exoflare
post Sep 14 2021, 11:00 PM

869 posts

QUOTE(SilenceCat @ Sep 14 2021, 02:34 PM)

Hey dude! Maybe try again? No issue on ELY’s end… or you can contact Francis at 012-925 9688 and say you know Victor - they will honor the coupon (lasts September).

Corporate discount rate is:

3500 for 20 chairs above.
1% discount off base of 3500 for 50 chairs above, and 2% discount off for 100 chairs above.

I will take no commission on mass group purchases, and only ask that if you know anyone who would like a small discount on the Leap (RM100 discount - I will take a small commission) for immediate purchase that you simply call Francis and mention that you know Victor, or use VR100LG at checkout for Leap, and VR050TS for Think and Series2 - more partnerships are upcoming.

For long term group purchase, DM me if you want the group chat link smile.gif (I posted it here once and some fake American came and started messaging all my group members)
bengang14
post Sep 15 2021, 09:58 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Dec 30 2020, 10:29 AM)
Was comparing real hard between Merryfair and Alterseat due to the warranty. Merryfair 5 years warranty on the chair mechanism but not include wear and tear of cushion and sunken seat. However Alterseat cover these and its 10 years warranty somemore. I was quite surprised that Alterseat covered even wear and tear.

in the end, i chose Anggun as the WhatsApp customer care contact gave me additional 20% discount. So i got the chair with headrest at RM528, which i think it's a pretty good deal. Furthermore, i will be using this at home, not office. WFH will probably be temporary and at most until mid of 2021, so the chair will most likely be in good condition even after 5 years. Another plus is the design which i quite like the honey orange cushion and grey mesh compared to all black office chair design tongue.gif

chair will arrive in 10 days, hopefully it will be a good one. will update again by then. icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(Relaxing work @ Feb 1 2021, 11:12 AM)
OK Guys I just received my ANGGUN egornomic chair from Merryfair.
I added RM50/- for optional base of diecast alluminium alloy material.
1. The chair looks nice and solid.
2. The adjustable lumbar looks and feels good. So far, no issue.
3. The adjustable hand rest for the updown movement looks cheapo. This is because I have used a better adjustable arm rest chairs in office. But, this is not an issue to me, because I seldom play with this arm rest setting once set up.
4. Overall it is worth my money.
No regrets. I think it is a reliable chair, we shall see.
5. Aftersales support and communication is great.
Once order confirmed, they will communicate with you on whatsapp.
Very fast and responsible response.

I am 165cm, and I bought the high-back version.
Total damage: RM628/= (Inclusive delivery - from KL - Ktn )
Hi. Do you still have the contact of Merryfair? thought of whatsapping them. hopefully they still have the 20% discount. thanks
vassilius
post Sep 16 2021, 09:58 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(bengang14 @ Sep 15 2021, 09:58 PM)
Hi. Do you still have the contact of Merryfair? thought of whatsapping them. hopefully they still have the 20% discount. thanks
Just go their official website. There's a WhatsApp icon there. Click on it and u will be talking to their CS. Just ask them if there's any discount available...

I bought this few months back, so not sure if they are still running any promo now....

Good luck.
klqy
post Sep 16 2021, 10:08 AM

42 posts

Anyone wanna buy merryfair chairs pls pm me. i can give discount smile.gif
Cyberbullies
post Sep 16 2021, 10:14 AM

121 posts

not to bash on steelcase leap v2 but it was really "meh" tbh (bought it years ago).

bought it after seeing all the positive reviews on the net.

am a fairly light guy but the seat really cannot la. butt very painful for long hours of sitting.

still prefer my aeron - the wow factor can really be felt when you first sit on it, unlike leap.
bengang14
post Sep 16 2021, 10:57 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Sep 16 2021, 09:58 AM)
Just go their official website. There's a WhatsApp icon there. Click on it and u will be talking to their CS. Just ask them if there's any discount available...

I bought this few months back, so not sure if they are still running any promo now....

Good luck.

yeah, problem with the WhatsApp icon is that when i click it, it will say my no whatsapp detected in my phone and ask me to install. anyway i saw your later post with the phone number. contacting them now. quoted me RM560 but not sure with or without head rest. also quite a long waiting period. delivery only in early oct.

am thinking if i should just go with ELY Trendy.

This post has been edited by bengang14: Sep 16 2021, 03:23 PM
bengang14
post Sep 16 2021, 12:46 PM

209 posts

Ok here is my journey in search of ergonomic chair.

currently me and my wife is using an ikea office chair(not markus)

Steelcase Leap 2 (RM3,680)

Wife works from home. On average she sits at least 10 hours and at times 12 hours. Her back is killing her. She tried all the Steelcase model and settled for Leap. In her words after sitting on Leap the rest just don't feel right. Her chair will arrive in the next week.

Merryfair Anggun (RM560)
Initially I wanted to get the cheapest Steelcase Series 2 at around RM1900. But after trying Leap, same sentiment as my wife- either get Leap or settle for much cheaper one anything in between is just not worth it. For me even gesture not as good as Leap.

At ELY showroom I also tried their Trendy which was not too bad at RM620(excludes delivery). Then I remembered some forumer here are using Anggun from Merryfair. I have not tried it but from what i see its quite similar to Trendy. The advantage Anggun over Trendy is the 5 years warranty, better handset and of course around rm100 cheaper. So I just made my order without much hesitation. btw, unlike my wife i probably use like 2-3 hours daily at max since I am on field job.

As for HM, I have no doubt its a very good chair but at RM6000 its really out of my budget.

This post has been edited by bengang14: Sep 16 2021, 01:02 PM
lamode
post Sep 16 2021, 12:52 PM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

bengang14 hehe congrats! hope u receive both chairs n enjoy soon.
Guenhwyvar
post Sep 16 2021, 01:12 PM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

What do you guys think about Kokuyo's Entry chairs ? Any thoughts on them? I saw they selling them on Lazada and Shopee, not sure if they are good. Thanks.

85 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:47 PM