Contractor and Site Location

TSfaridiruga
post Dec 24 2020, 01:14 PM, updated 5y ago

24 posts

Hi Sifu,

Do you consider the distance of the location between the contractor and your house?

I want to do some renovation which includes plaster ceiling, kitchen cabinets, painting and wardrobe. The contractor that I was looking have their own factory and office located in Kota Kemuning while my house is in Bandar Sri Putra area which is about 60km (1 hour drive in normal traffic).

Could this be a problem later on?

Thanks in advance.
qwertyuioped
post Dec 24 2020, 01:39 PM

942 posts

Usually they will factor in the travel cost in the final price. Depends on contractor.
mini orchard
post Dec 24 2020, 03:19 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(faridiruga @ Dec 24 2020, 01:14 PM)
Hi Sifu,

Do you consider the distance of the location between the contractor and your house?

I want to do some renovation which includes plaster ceiling, kitchen cabinets, painting and wardrobe. The contractor that I was looking have their own factory  and office located in Kota Kemuning while my house is in Bandar Sri Putra area which is about 60km (1 hour drive in normal traffic).

Could this be a problem later on?

Thanks in advance.
For installation purpose, shouldnt be a problem ... only worry about rectification after installation.
TSfaridiruga
post Dec 24 2020, 07:55 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Dec 24 2020, 01:39 PM)
Usually they will factor in the travel cost in the final price. Depends on contractor.
Yeah will take this into account when quoting for the price.
TSfaridiruga
post Dec 24 2020, 07:58 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Dec 24 2020, 03:19 PM)
For installation purpose, shouldnt be a problem ... only worry about rectification after installation.
Yes worried about the services after the installation that might be a problem later on.

Thanks for the advice.
nexona88
post Dec 24 2020, 09:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,583 posts

Cannot find anyone nearby??
60km away is too much already....

And good luck on after services.....
k town shit
post Dec 25 2020, 12:39 AM

771 posts

Try to look for one somewhere in your area, put more effort to walk around the industrial area in your neighbourhood, that's what I did when I'm new to the people in the area.
They can promise you just eveerything before they got the project, after they got the project, it's hard to invite they come over even you think that problem is seriously annoying
TSfaridiruga
post Dec 25 2020, 07:42 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Dec 25 2020, 12:39 AM)
Try to look for one somewhere in your area, put more effort to walk around the industrial area in your neighbourhood, that's what I did when I'm new to the people in the area.
They can promise you just eveerything before they got the project, after they got the project, it's hard to invite they come over even you think that problem is seriously annoying
I guess I will look around contractor that are nearby to my house since location is really a main thing to consider.

Thank you all for the advice. 😀
k town shit
post Dec 26 2020, 12:49 AM

771 posts

QUOTE(faridiruga @ Dec 25 2020, 06:42 PM)
I guess I will look around contractor that are nearby to my house since location is really a main thing to consider.

Try to make more friends in the neighbourhood
Mijac
post Dec 26 2020, 08:31 AM

538 posts

QUOTE(faridiruga @ Dec 25 2020, 07:42 PM)

Contractors that are near your house location would be less hassle .

0.0208sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:55 AM