QUOTE(new in IT @ Dec 23 2020, 01:34 PM)
Discover recent hike in water bill, 100% increase, discover water pipe leak.
Landed double storey link House 30+ yrs de, last reno also 30 yrs de.
Plan to lay new expose pipe, link after water meter, run through the living room till kitchen, and connect to upstairs water storage tank.
Korek tanah not cost effective.
Questions is
1) What cost effective materials pipe to use?
2) Should increase pipe size? (Existing 1/2")
3) Can DIY the whole pipeline or better use sifu?
Advise are welcome.
Has been closing the main water valve all the time. Open only when family want to bath, washing cloths and cooking. Luckily got water tank, can stock up some water.
1) I would suggest you go with HDPE/Poly pipes because they can last longer, not very cost effective to use stainless steel unless you are renovating your house. Also make sure your plumber provide Sirim approved HDPE/poly pipe to avoid issues in the near future. Because in malaysia, even pipes have lousy quality ones. Probably google first and check the pipes to be familiar with it before engaging a plumber to come and check. Would not recommend PVC as its a bit difficult when it comes to external piping, you can use PVC inside the house for shower and sink, i think should be ok, but to kitchen better use HDPE. Discover recent hike in water bill, 100% increase, discover water pipe leak.
Landed double storey link House 30+ yrs de, last reno also 30 yrs de.
Plan to lay new expose pipe, link after water meter, run through the living room till kitchen, and connect to upstairs water storage tank.
Korek tanah not cost effective.
Questions is
1) What cost effective materials pipe to use?
2) Should increase pipe size? (Existing 1/2")
3) Can DIY the whole pipeline or better use sifu?
Advise are welcome.
Has been closing the main water valve all the time. Open only when family want to bath, washing cloths and cooking. Luckily got water tank, can stock up some water.
2) From water filter (if you have) use 3/4 pipes is sufficient enough, no need go above it. And 1/2 when connecting to sink and shower taps. 3/4 all the way from water filter to water tank, then branch out to kitchen, reduce to 1/2 for kitchen sink, 3/4 also branch out to toilets and then reduced to 1/2.
3) You can DIY if you know the layout and knowhow of pipes. If not easiest is to engage a plumber to come and do for you. Try to get a few options and prices to compare. Of course from word of mouth is better. Material wise i think wouldnt exceed RM500 actually. Unless you plan to change your taps and shower valves also. xD But either way, your whole costing wont be more than 1k if u DIY. If plumber come i estimate around RM2k for re-piping. See how difficult or how easy it is.
Dec 24 2020, 12:07 AM

0.0147sec