not really concern about graphic as long as the game is nice,

did wii can play dvd movie?

sihumchai
post Aug 20 2007, 04:06 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Wii has no DVD playback. But recently homebrew people have found a way to watch DVDs but must have modded console. Similar to disc swapping like old PS1/PS2 era.

Games for Wii nothing much to offer at the moment. You'd best enjoy the titles available on the 360 first. Plus, most of them can play online.

Unless you're really interested in Wii games such a Super Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime 3, then get a Wii.
TSEdi8888
post Aug 20 2007, 04:38 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

WII got game like fifa? tiger wood? need for speed?
sihumchai
post Aug 20 2007, 05:00 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Aug 20 2007, 04:38 PM)
WII got game like fifa? tiger wood? need for speed?
Of course, but they play abit differently, like Fifa, when you do throw-ins, you have to hold the Wiimote + Nunchuck over your head, then flick forward laugh.gif
TSEdi8888
post Aug 20 2007, 05:22 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Aug 20 2007, 05:00 PM)
Of course, but they play abit differently, like Fifa, when you do throw-ins, you have to hold the Wiimote + Nunchuck over your head, then flick forward laugh.gif
can i use the classic controller to play those game?
samurai20
post Aug 20 2007, 06:00 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

arhhh another one. buy all la... dry.gif
silencer
post Aug 20 2007, 06:09 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

buy vtech v.smile.......even your little bro will like it....
TSEdi8888
post Aug 20 2007, 06:35 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Aug 20 2007, 06:00 PM)
arhhh another one. buy all la... dry.gif
em...just dont wan to waste money lor.... i like simple game, dont like to complicated,

i heard xbox can connect to lcd, is wii have any device to connect to lcd monitor?
pmsoo
post Aug 20 2007, 08:38 PM

374 posts

Nope, you'll need a vga box or a tvcard with rca inputs
They cost about RM100ish to RM200
About the same as an original vga cable for xbox360.

So you cannot use that to decide smile.gif

I've recently started Wii, coming from xbox360.
Wii's outstanding game remain to be mario strikers charged, zelda and believe it or not, wiisport
There are more outstanding games in xbox360 (Gears of War,Rainbow six:Vegas,Forza Motorsport2, etc) but the controllers are not as fun/good.

Maybe you should wait for Metroid Prime 3, supposedly released at the end of this month and Halo 3, which will be released next month.

Traditionally, Metroid Prime is equally as good as Halo and Metroid Prime 2 to Halo 2.
So lets see who finish will finish the fight smile.gif

X.E.D
post Aug 20 2007, 08:41 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

Xbox 360- the new batches are all OK and for a little more money you get the BEST games of 2006-2010.

I still fail to see the Wii more than a big joke that's selling because it was quite cheaper (now after the price cuts, not much)...
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 20 2007, 11:19 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Wii is for more fun for multiplayers purpose.. A family entertainment console. U can do exercise wif ur whole body which others game console couldn't force u to do it.

Playing Wii alone will make u looks even lonely.

using the remote to swing the bat, fishing, gunfiring, jumping, skipping, rolling, cooking... too many to mention. It is a magical remote control!

Wii is a revolution to play the game. Everyone will get funky no matter how young & elder u r.

Haha. even my parents oso playing bowling now. It's just too fun and u want to try it at least once in ur lifetime.

Xbox360.. awesome gfx... Dat's it.
ipaqfreak
post Aug 20 2007, 11:45 PM

120 posts

Wii

Good :
good on casual gaming
New Gaming experince, the WiiMote,
Huge Library, GameCube backward compatible
Cheapest

Bad
Graphics
Sound
Region Protect
no Media Server function or PC connectivity

XBox360
Good Graphics
Great FPS
Xbox Live
1080i
HDD

Bad
Xbox Live $$$
Support Windows Media Server
Not much of Asian / Jap flaovor Game
Region Protect

PS3

Good:
HDMI,
Large Selection of PS / PS2 titles
BlueRay
Multiple memory Format
region Free

Bad
Too High Spec, won't get perfomance if not use good display
No much of the PS3 title
expensive....

my pick will be .........................
Wii for casual gamers
Xbox for intermediate
PS3 if you have the extra bucks

which is will be yours?
PhoenixByte
post Aug 21 2007, 05:20 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

why isn't topic like this pinned? We get repeated questions like this over and over again. It's worth a pin up there. smile.gif
TSEdi8888
post Aug 21 2007, 12:01 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

wat is Wiikey ?
X.E.D
post Aug 21 2007, 05:19 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 20 2007, 11:19 PM)
Wii is for more fun for multiplayers purpose.. A family entertainment console. U can do exercise wif ur whole body which others game console couldn't force u to do it.

Playing Wii alone will make u looks even lonely.

using the remote to swing the bat, fishing, gunfiring, jumping, skipping, rolling, cooking... too many to mention. It is a magical remote control!

Wii is a revolution to play the game. Everyone will get funky no matter how young & elder u r.

Haha. even my parents oso playing bowling now. It's just too fun and u want to try it at least once in ur lifetime.

Xbox360.. awesome gfx... Dat's it.
You don't spend RM1000+++ to bluff kiddies/Soccer moms laugh.gif
Popcap games on PC can do that already. tongue.gif For much cheaper.
Tried it thrice, concluded it was for people in midlife crisis.

If you're shelling out more than RM500 for a gaming machine I think you deserve to get some decent value out of games- almost everyone developing on Wii are rather lazy making the game substantial, just making cheap cashouts like mini-games. Games so good like Bioshock will never be on the Wii, expect Super Mario Galaxy to be the sole exception.

I still recommend a decent PC with Steam- beats any console so far, slightly older games like Company of Heroes are tons cheaper. (Buy origamesplz)
TSEdi8888
post Aug 21 2007, 06:59 PM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

i never like the game like Bioshock.... so complicated... those fps game..i will pening..
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 22 2007, 12:21 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

yeah... FPS game is not for everyone. Especially, u r a bad gamer even ppl besides will feel dizzy as well. I play 15minutes. i will lie der for over 30 minutes to regain my stamina.. Too dizzy..

Haha..Wii got alot of mini games in one DVD. U want serious tittles. u gotta wait for longer first. Currently, COD, RE4 & Zelda are good gfx Wii game.

"Monkey ball" alone got around 50 mini games to play wif ur partners.

PC game, i only like Strategy games in it. Popcaps games not bad. Pretty addictive. But dat is not exercise game console. Wii is the one could make ur butt off the chair and work out!.. Haha.

In my game theory, awesome gfx is not the main reason ppl will KEEP playing the game. It is the comfortable gameplay which will make gamer addict to it.

Wii is from Nitendo. It stands for Family+Kids category..

PhoenixByte
post Aug 22 2007, 05:38 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

I choose wii because its games are fun, short and can be played for a short period with satisfying fun. Working life doesn't permit me playing so long in front of the tv like I used too...so wii is a blessing for ppl like me.
carpathia
post Aug 22 2007, 10:56 AM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Aug 20 2007, 08:38 PM)
Nope, you'll need a vga box or a tvcard with rca inputs
They cost about RM100ish to RM200
About the same as an original vga cable for xbox360.

So you cannot use that to decide  smile.gif

I've recently started Wii, coming from xbox360.
Wii's outstanding game remain to be mario strikers charged, zelda and believe it or not, wiisport
There are more outstanding games in xbox360 (Gears of War,Rainbow six:Vegas,Forza Motorsport2, etc) but the controllers are not as fun/good.

Maybe you should wait for Metroid Prime 3, supposedly released at the end of this month and Halo 3, which will be released next month.

Traditionally, Metroid Prime is equally as good as Halo and Metroid Prime 2 to Halo 2.
So lets see who finish will finish the fight smile.gif
i tot if you have s-video connection, you dont need a vga box- you can just connect directly to monitor to play PS2/Wii/Xbox?

oh yeah, to the original thread starter - just get a wii. you can thank us later for it. xbox (or is it xbox 360 you wanted?) is just a normal console. wii is a revolutionary console all together! wii have one thing which xbox dont have - F-U-N!

This post has been edited by carpathia: Aug 22 2007, 10:57 AM
zheng
post Aug 22 2007, 11:31 AM

202 posts

i recommended wii since u say u just like simple game... but if me, i will take xbox.

0.0259sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:31 AM