Buying Advice Sony T-20 vs Canon Ixus 750i

TSmayday82
post Aug 20 2007, 12:22 PM, updated 19y ago

28 posts

A noob who is interested of buying his first digi-cam.
Have 2 models in mind :

1. Sony T-20
2. Canon Ixus 750i

my interest/concerns are
1. compact and light weight (can put inside t-shirt pocket)
2. Cheap of coz. My budget around RM1000-RM1500
3. Resolution around 8. Since Im not profesional, I think 8 will be good enough.
4. Battery lasting and wide LCD.
5. User friendly/ Easy to use.

Plan to get it within this month or next. Therefore would appreciate if you guys/girls can give any good advices.

Or, any better camera models/brand you would like to recomend>?

g88
post Aug 20 2007, 12:46 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(mayday82 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:22 PM)
Have 2 models in mind :

1. Sony T-20
2. Canon Ixus 750i

my interest/concerns are
3. Resolution around 8. Since Im not profesional, I think 8 will be good enough.

Plan to get it within this month or next. Therefore would appreciate if you guys/girls can give any good advices.

Canon got 750i model meh ? blink.gif Ixus 850IS i know la biggrin.gif

Ok if compare T20 and 850IS
1. T20 - 90 x 56 x 23 mm (3.5 x 2.2 x 0.9 in) ans 197g (Battery Included)
850IS - 90 x 58 x 25 mm (3.5 x 2.3 x 1 in) and 195g (Battery Included) thumbup.gif

2. T20 - Not sure
850IS - Around Rm12xx-13xx

3. T20 - 8.0MP without Optical Zoom
850IS - 7.1MP with 3.8x Optical Zoom with Image Stabaliser and Wide Angle icon_rolleyes.gif

4. T20 - 2.5"
850IS - 2.5"

5. T20 - So So...
850IS - icon_idea.gif

TSmayday82
post Aug 20 2007, 12:55 PM

28 posts

sorry, is canon IXUS 700
tongue.gif thanks for your comment

This post has been edited by mayday82: Aug 20 2007, 02:10 PM
g88
post Aug 20 2007, 02:18 PM

1,631 posts

Ixus 700 is damn old model..i think discontinued oredi ler...now 850IS, 900Ti, 950IS already
williamngwl
post Aug 20 2007, 07:59 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:46 PM)
3. T20 -  8.0MP without Optical Zoom
    850IS - 7.1MP with 3.8x Optical Zoom with Image Stabaliser and Wide Angle  icon_rolleyes.gif
SONY T20 = 8.1MP with 3X optical zoom and Super Steady Shot
TSmayday82
post Aug 21 2007, 08:42 PM

28 posts

then how about Sony T20 vs Canon Ixus 850
onnchai
post Aug 22 2007, 02:08 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(mayday82 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:22 PM)
Have 2 models in mind :

1. Sony T-20
2. Canon Ixus 750i

my interest/concerns are

Your concern seems to be not a concern at all. I tell you what..

1. compact and light weight (can put inside t-shirt pocket)- Nowadays almost every compact cam are of same size and weight, you wouldnt even notice which one is heavy or light. Do you really go measure the dimension or weight? Would you be really care for 5grams different? If a good cam is 200gram, a bad cam is 150gram, would you buy the cam which is 150gram?

2. Cheap of coz. My budget around RM1000-RM1500- Are you asking which of the 2 cameras you listed is cheaper (within your budget) and you would go for the cheaper one? Then it is piece of cake. Just go to shop and find out.

3. Resolution around 8. Since Im not profesional, I think 8 will be good enough.- Wise enough, but some people can take great pics from a cam with 3MP compare to some people who take lousy pics from cam with 6MP. If you know what i mean. Resolution does not always help, but skill does.

4. Battery lasting and wide LCD. - In compact cam, you will not get the pic of what you see from LCD. Meaning, what you see is not what you get. Wide LCD is more like a style or nicer look or convenient for your eyes to see. This wont be my priority when choosing a camera. Battery lasting, yes. My suggestion, get a spare battery like most ppl do nowadays. When you travel, you wouldnt want to risk of losing any golden oppotunity to shoot great pic, by just bringing one battery. No matter how long it last, you will still need spare battery. Jz a matter of how cheap the battery is.

5. User friendly/ Easy to use.- Different ppl, different perspective. Dont listen to any forumer on this. Hands on, try it yourself. If you get use to Canon in 5 mins, you will say Canon is user friendly. If you press lesser buttons to get what feature you want in Sony, you might say Sony is easy to use.

Go for Canon. I may be bias, but i hate Sony for creating memory stick. It makes it impossible for you to use other memory cards, but only memory stick and by this opportunity, the memory stick is f......g expensive. When you use Sony with memory stick, you like it or not of the price, you hv to buy it.

This post has been edited by onnchai: Aug 22 2007, 02:10 AM
g88
post Aug 24 2007, 11:58 AM

1,631 posts

you are Canonion rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ...

Yeah Memory Stick in not universal flex.gif
QUOTE(onnchai @ Aug 22 2007, 02:08 AM)
Your concern seems to be not a concern at all. I tell you what..

1. compact and light weight (can put inside t-shirt pocket)- Nowadays almost every compact cam are of same size and weight, you wouldnt even notice which one is heavy or light. Do you really go measure the dimension or weight? Would you be really care for 5grams different? If a good cam is 200gram, a bad cam is 150gram, would you buy the cam which is 150gram?

2. Cheap of coz. My budget around RM1000-RM1500- Are you asking which of the 2 cameras you listed is cheaper (within your budget) and you would go for the cheaper one? Then it is piece of cake. Just go to shop and find out.

3. Resolution around 8. Since Im not profesional, I think 8 will be good enough.- Wise enough, but some people can take great pics from a cam with 3MP compare to some people who take lousy pics from cam with 6MP. If you know what i mean. Resolution does not always help, but skill does.

4. Battery lasting and wide LCD. - In compact cam, you will not get the pic of what you see from LCD. Meaning, what you see is not what you get. Wide LCD is more like a style or nicer look or convenient for your eyes to see. This wont be my priority when choosing a camera. Battery lasting, yes. My suggestion, get a spare battery like most ppl do nowadays. When you travel, you wouldnt want to risk of losing any golden oppotunity to shoot great pic, by just bringing one battery. No matter how long it last, you will still need spare battery. Jz a matter of how cheap the battery is.

5. User friendly/ Easy to use.- Different ppl, different perspective. Dont listen to any forumer on this. Hands on, try it yourself. If you get use to Canon in 5 mins, you will say Canon is user friendly. If you press lesser buttons to get what feature you want in Sony, you might say Sony is easy to use.

Go for Canon. I may be bias, but i hate Sony for creating memory stick. It makes it impossible for you to use other memory cards, but only memory stick and by this opportunity, the memory stick is f......g expensive. When you use Sony with memory stick, you like it or not of the price, you hv to buy it.
wwwah85
post Aug 26 2007, 06:36 PM

765 posts

how about sony t-100???
yehlai
post Aug 27 2007, 12:56 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Sony T-20 = Better micro mode.
Ixus 850 = Better display screen + 28mm wide angle + Digic III proc.

0.0155sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:28 PM