++@@DOPOD 838 Pro Official Thread V3@@++, Discussion for current and future users

fyl
post Sep 29 2007, 10:03 AM

76 posts

Hi guys,

Just got a second hand 838 pro. It didn't come with the USB sync cable.

I tried using normal USB cable and get the phone to charge but not sync using Activesync.

Activesync via bluetooth is fine. Any advise ? Hope the USB port is not faulty.

Cheers

fy
fyl
post Sep 29 2007, 09:32 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Sep 29 2007, 05:48 PM)
Bro, where you brought the 838pro? Be aware that recently on of the LYN forumer(bububang) been cheated by another LYN forumer. The 838pro which the seller sold didn't came with USB cable also, finally discover that the phone got minor problem due to kena water & cause the phone can't sync with pc by using usb cable.
I bought the unit from another LYN forumner [wk2666] after a posting 2 days back. Tried to call him a few mins ago to ask him about it but couldn't get through. May need to call SIS on Monday to get it checked out.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...7525&hl=838+pro

Any other advise would be helpful. Thanks.

Fyl
fyl
post Oct 2 2007, 11:24 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(derlin @ Sep 30 2007, 08:19 PM)
Don't think anything will happen coz its a standard mini USB cable. It was suppose to work by using any USB to mini USB data cable for our Dopod 838 pro. I tested with all sorts of data cables and it works fine too..
Yup tried a few and it doesn't work but fortunately charging works. Now about the phone, I had a few PM exchange with bububang and it is possible that it is the same phone he said he got cheated for but can't confirm as he didn't track down the IMEI number and bluetooth works for me while his didn't.

I tried calling the seller but as expected, doesn't pick up and didn't respond to my PMs or voice mails. Anyway, after playing around with it for a few days, realised that I am not missing that much without USB actually. Managed to upgrade the phone from WM5 to Dopod's official WM6 ROM without USB. Now hoping the MS will re-enable Activesync over Wifi for WM6/WMD (vista's activesync)and I will be super happy smile.gif

Other than than, love my 838pro smile.gif and yes the condition is really superb !

cheers mates for all your feedback.
fyl
post Oct 12 2007, 11:40 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Oct 10 2007, 06:26 PM)
prob is i'm in ipoh la sweat.gif and i send it through phone shop sad.gif
Let me know if you managed to get it fixed and what was fixed ya ? Thanks.
fy
fyl
post Jun 18 2008, 06:30 PM

76 posts

guess what folks, just found a new use for my dopod 838 pro and gps. MAKE MONEY !!!

Signed up to Navizon and just driving around with my GPS/WIFI on ... of course you would have to have some sort of data package to upload your data.

Check out my signature for details smile.gif Made USD29.20 in a month just driving to work and on weekends to shopping malls.

0.0444sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:26 PM