++@@DOPOD 838 Pro Official Thread V3@@++, Discussion for current and future users

RustReaver4D1
post Oct 17 2007, 03:47 PM

1,100 posts

Hi, just wondering if someone could help me.

I've installed a kingston 2GB mini-SD card. I've used it for about 2 months now. Recently, when I tried to access some files on the storage card via File Explorer, all my files have gone missing and there are 2 empty folders listed in the Storage Card with weird names (random ASCII characters).

I can copy new files to the storage card and those new files are fine, but all my old files seem to be missing. Funnily enough, when I check Settings>Memory, it says that I've used 1.5GB of the memory card (which is about the total space of my previous files).

Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Oct 17 2007, 03:50 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 2 2007, 05:59 PM

1,100 posts

Grr... Tried using rlToday. But the response time seems pretty atrocious. Maybe it's a WM5+original ROM thing...

Just installed O2Plus today instead and I can't believe the Dopod didn't include basic stuff like sound profiles, "kill" buttons for running programs etc. doh.gif

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Nov 2 2007, 02:29 PM)
rlCalendar and mortscript are not necessary. rlToday is merely a today's plug-in with icon shortcut. i find htc home plug and spb mobile shell is a way more user friendlier and greater response. though, it's good to try out this babe if you really like it.
...damn, I tried installing the HTC Home Plug but after that, nothing seems to have changed. Nothing new on the Today screen, can't find anything in "Programs" or "Settings". It's only for WM6 is it?
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 2 2007, 07:49 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(callmepaper @ Nov 2 2007, 07:36 PM)
i'm not so sure if it was designed for wm6. let's assumed you had installed it successfully, by right, it should automatically appeared in your today's screen. if it's not, try soft-reset your device. if you still can't see it after soft-reseting, try to go settings -> today -> items and see if "HTC Home" is checked/ticked.
Hmm... after installation + soft reset, it didn't appear in Today->items as well. Could it be because I had O2Plus installed and running? hmm.gif

RustReaver4D1
post Nov 5 2007, 10:17 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Nov 2 2007, 08:16 PM)
I don't think it's related to O2 Plus. Try uninsalling n installing again. Did u install on the device or in the memory card?
I had it installed on the device... not sure though. Maybe I'll give it a shot later... thanks!

QUOTE(grandhiz @ Nov 2 2007, 08:37 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
hahahah,..atleast u can run the rltoday...me still sangkut cry.gif
later rust can u show me the way ar? brows.gif if not then have to move on with other stuff... cry.gif
Errr... not sure what to say lah. I just clicked on the cab file and installed it on the device. Then wait a while, maybe about 10-20 seconds. Then the rlToday icons start appearing on the Today screen. But it's kinda laggy (YMMV), so moving on with other stuff may be the best best... icon_rolleyes.gif

...on a side note. Switched from Hotlink to Maxis post-paid on Saturday, and finally got the 3G sim card. I signed up for the Extra Bytes (10 bucks for 5mb) option and happily tried downloading PocketUFO. 3G was faaaast but... stupid thing was, I accidentally downloaded the .exe version of the installer, so can't install it directly... doh.gif

...and after some miscellaneous surfing over the weekend, I had an even nicer surprise this morning. Maxis sent me an SMS notification that my account is now standing at RM139 outta a total of RM150 credit limit. Since I've only made like 5 calls since Saturday, I suspect it's the bloody 3G charges... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 5 2007, 10:22 AM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:08 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 7 2007, 01:09 PM)
how to make connection to internet using 3g?
got xda atom life
the 3G icon appear but how to connct using 3G?
when i open the IE,nothing happen d
where is the setting?
I think the first page of this thread or the previous thread has the manual connection settings for Maxis 3G (if you're using Maxis).

When you open IE and enter a URL, it should then say something like "Connecting to Maxis (GPRS, 3G)"... then if you see the U (UMTS) icon on the top bar, then you're connected via 3G. If it's "G", then it's GPRS.

But beware the data charges! sweat.gif

Which leads me to...

RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:15 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Nov 7 2007, 02:09 PM)
check u'r ie setting..U should connected to the internet
wrong place la kawan.. tongue.gif
whoops. You're right. the O2 Xda Trion is the HTC Hermes.... my bad! doh.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:31 PM

1,100 posts

About the phone pouch thing that comes with the 838 Pro... people say that the magnet is damn strong and it'll screw up the screen alignment or something.

Damn noob question, but what is this screen alignment problem? Is it that the image is skewed to one side or is it that the stylus taps become inaccurate (i.e. you tap at location X, but the phone thinks you're tapping at location Y)? doh.gif

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 7 2007, 02:25 PM)
y lo?cant post here?still same windows mobile d laugh.gif
dont see any xda atom life thread
Are the connection settings is similar for all WM5 PDAphones or is it peculiar to the particular manufacturer?

Added on November 7, 2007, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 7 2007, 02:16 PM)
thanx!will check n try it
*pssst, its my dads office phone, can kaw2 use!hahahaha
...until your dad finds out that you've been surfing horse pron on his phone! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 7 2007, 02:33 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 7 2007, 02:52 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 7 2007, 02:38 PM)
hi rustreaver
i cant seem to find the post ur saying
manual setting?
its suppose to get U icon rather than 3G icon?
lol
i got my own laptop for pron,*ahem, i mean processing my knowledge(what kind of word is this?)
Crap, sorry. Just checked it out on the 1st page. It's for Maxis 3G MMS... my bad. doh.gif

...hmmm... but IIRC if you start up your phone, it'll automatically get the necessary settings for GPRS/3G from the network operator. You've got the 3G service enabled?

anyway, for 838 Pro (and maybe other Hermes models too), the icon for 3G is either U (UMTS) or H (HSDPA)...
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 03:41 PM

1,100 posts

...just a quick question. Is there a way to actually select whether you want to connect to GPRS, UMTS or HSDPA?

Or does the phone just detect which is available and selects the highest one?
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 14 2007, 03:56 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Nov 14 2007, 03:50 PM)
Ur phone will do the selection automatically. But if u don't wanna connect to 3G or HSDPA, u can connect to ONLY GPRS by going to phone options n selecting GSM from the band selection
Ok, thanks... was wondering because the internet settings says "GPRS, 3G"...
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 15 2007, 02:34 PM

1,100 posts

Be sure to posts some pix too! rclxms.gif

Does skinning void your warranty?

Added on November 15, 2007, 5:35 pmAny idea where I can get my hands on a HTC Home plug-in for WM5? The ones I've found are all for WM6.... smile.gif

Wanna give my WM5 Dopod the Kaiser look... hehe... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 15 2007, 05:35 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 16 2007, 10:56 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Nov 16 2007, 03:04 AM)
hi RustReaver4D1,

no, skinning will not void ur warranty. In fact, it's highly recommended as it will protect ur exterior and so u can fetch a higher resell value. But if u send in for warranty, those fellas might rip ur wrapping apart tho.

HTC Homeplug only for WM6.
Thanks.... never knew there was such a thing before this! laugh.gif

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Nov 15 2007, 08:47 PM)
why don't u use WM6 instead of wm5?
Errr.... haven't had the time to read up on flashing and all. Scared to brick my phone, hehe... sweat.gif

Anyway, went back to rlToday. Removed some of the junkier stuff from the skins, like multiple calendars/clocks. Not bad, it's not so laggy anymore... thumbup.gif (good alternative before getting WM6+HTC Home, hehe... whistling.gif )
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 20 2007, 06:27 PM

1,100 posts

Hi, does anyone know the price range for a USB travel charger that can be used for the 838Pro in UK/Europe?
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 21 2007, 02:41 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(derlin @ Nov 20 2007, 08:28 PM)
Bought a travel charger for about 90 bucks. UK uses the standard 3 pin head (its more like Msia follows UK Standard). Depends on what kind of travel charger ur looking for. Some can use as car charger (car charger kit + USB cable). That would cost a bit more...
Thanks. rclxms.gif Was kinda worried about the voltage though coz some sites say that UK is 230v +/- 10v...

I'm basically looking for a kit that takes care of any voltage differences as well as pin heads...
RustReaver4D1
post Nov 22 2007, 11:12 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Quinn @ Nov 22 2007, 09:11 AM)

Gee, for a second there I thought... "Must be one heck of a powerful ROM, can squeeze in so much info on the Today screen"... doh.gif

Looks very nice, tho... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Nov 22 2007, 11:13 AM
RustReaver4D1
post Dec 11 2007, 07:23 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(GSPierre @ Dec 10 2007, 09:48 PM)
no one using silicon huh?..
Hehe, speaking of protectors, I really should've gotten one. Was wondering around London taking vids using the camera and I dropped the phone coz I was wearing gloves. Thankfully, everything still works... but the the front and the back casing now got scratch marks... doh.gif

No hope of resale now... guess I gotta use it til death do us part! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Dec 11 2007, 07:23 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Dec 12 2007, 02:49 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(derlin @ Dec 12 2007, 02:30 PM)
Front panel (the screen there top and bottom) : RM140
Backpanel (not inclusive of the battery cover) : RM100-140
Battery Cover : RM80-120
Manpower: RM100

Just some info. Hope it helps. Not sure the pricing changed or not though, this was about 2-3 months ago.
Holy crap... that's steep. Guess I'll just have to live with my 838 Pro's "battle scars", hehe.... laugh.gif

0.0524sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:58 PM