OPPO phone have life span, then dead?

TSyourinfohere
post Dec 11 2020, 12:43 PM, updated 5y ago

191 posts

OPPO phone use few years will not enough space?

I help ??? ask, the ??? phone is OPPO, ready use 1 or 2 years. What model I don't know, the price maybe RM 500-700. Maybe 32gb.

OPPO phone have life span or limit? Till what time will self dead/game over?

??? told me approx. OPPO built-in apps will increase the space/usage, so after few years, you only can throw this phone into bin.
When "touch" some apps can uninstall and some apps uninstall disappear, so unable reduce the space/usage then only can choice throw this phone into bin.
??? not storage any files, not take picture or camera, just browser youtube, googling and chat only, but usage/space will auto increasing day by day.

Sale person and OPPO service center staff told to ???, approx. like above context, if go to phone manager you saw the space/usage full or the phone "jam" unable use because this OPPO phone ready use till life span, then you need buy new phone, can't use anymore.

I use very old model phone and not OPPO.

May I know, now new situation is you purchase any smart phone, then few years you'll problem in not enough space, only can choice throw your phone into bin? This is mean few years you force to buy new phone again and again?

Who's have experience, please advise and thank you for your help.
mycolumn
post Dec 11 2020, 06:02 PM

2,085 posts

What's with the '???'
acbc
post Dec 11 2020, 06:05 PM

9,052 posts

Nonsense.

U need to do some housekeeping for any phone. Why store so much rubbish on it?
TSyourinfohere
post Dec 11 2020, 07:11 PM

191 posts

??? is person name.

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Dec 11 2020, 06:02 PM)
What's with the '???'
TSyourinfohere
post Dec 11 2020, 07:14 PM

191 posts

??? click the icon but uninstall disappear, OPPO service center staff told this is built-in apps so unable uninstall.
One day you check thru phone manager life span(I think is mean usage space) full, then you only can throw this phone into bin, unable use anymore.

??? no download any, not take picture, no take video, no play game and others just browser youtube, googling and chat only. Like above mention, the usage space will auto increasing day by day, then reach life span.

??? go to ask phone dealer and original OPPO service center, show to the staff, but all said if reach life span, nothing can do, buy new one.

??? question me, that's why many always change new phone, because 2-3 years or few years will reach life span, can't use. (I think mean "jam" or "hang" there.)
??? also want know, normal how many years will reach life span?

I use other brand and old model, so I interesting of above situation, try ask here.

Who's have/use 1-2 years OPPO have above situation?
Why phone dealer and original OPPO service center said like that? You meet this kind person and heard this info or not?

I can advise or provide what solution to ???

Thank you.

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 11 2020, 06:05 PM)
Nonsense.

U need to do some housekeeping for any phone. Why store so much rubbish on it?
mycolumn
post Dec 11 2020, 08:48 PM

2,085 posts

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Dec 11 2020, 07:11 PM)
??? is person name.
Oh ok. Not too sure about Oppo. But other android phones that i used for e.g. oneplus, xiaomi can last me for more than 4 years.
PJng
post Dec 11 2020, 09:31 PM

12,064 posts

??? What you mean lifespan???
If say phone chipset yes got lifespan,
If say storage there is not lifespan, see how user manage apps and storage

I still using 16GB device since 2017 until now everyday see free space 1.2GB, 1.4GB
Need do cleaning stuff
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 13 2020, 02:32 PM

5,144 posts

This looks like it belongs in /k.
Matchy
post Dec 13 2020, 05:10 PM

1,330 posts

This is common with any android phones... apps are getting bigger and bigger. The only way is to do a factory reset. (back to factory preinstalled apps only)

I suggest get a phone with at least 64GB (128GB and above better). Should be able to last your some time unless you install a lots of apps or big apps (ie games)
tctham
post Jan 18 2021, 05:11 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Dec 11 2020, 07:14 PM)
??? click the icon but uninstall disappear, OPPO service center staff told this is built-in apps so unable uninstall.
One day you check thru phone manager life span(I think is mean usage space) full, then you only can throw this phone into bin, unable use anymore.

??? no download any, not take picture, no take video, no play game and others just browser youtube, googling and chat only. Like above mention, the usage space will auto increasing day by day, then reach life span.

??? go to ask phone dealer and original OPPO service center, show to the staff, but all said if reach life span, nothing can do, buy new one.

??? question me, that's why many always change new phone, because 2-3 years or few years will reach life span, can't use. (I think mean "jam" or "hang" there.)
??? also want know, normal how many years will reach life span?
I use other brand and old model, so I interesting of above situation, try ask here.

Who's have/use 1-2 years OPPO have above situation?
Why phone dealer and original OPPO service center said like that? You meet this kind person and heard this info or not?

I can advise or provide what solution to ???

Thank you.
reply to old post,, but i used to use Oppo Find 7 and i indeed suffered from the same problem. deleted most apps, deleted almost everything.. cause there's just insufficient space, i have sd card, and moved all media there, yet there's no space to even install updates
JLA
post Jan 19 2021, 12:00 PM

2,799 posts

factory reset to clean all the crapwhateverware.
windows pc used everyday over years also have not enough space problem.
TSyourinfohere
post Jan 23 2021, 10:39 PM

191 posts

Thank you for your reply.
I not understand, so after you move all possible media/data to sd card, your Oppo still not enough space?
What media/data eat space? Oppo official software update eat space?

Now, your solution is what? Can stop Oppo official software update?

You try factory format or not? The results ok or not? Finally can save your Oppo or not?
This is mean if factory format work but after few days or want every month want factory format again, can't use till one year like that?
This is also mean Oppo or future all brand phone will have lifespan like above method?

What is your next new phone brand, if you get know Oppo really like above and always want force customer change new phone?

Still very welcome of info, teach and others. Thank you.

QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 18 2021, 05:11 PM)
reply to old post,, but i used to use Oppo Find 7 and i indeed suffered from the same problem. deleted most apps, deleted almost everything.. cause there's just insufficient space, i have sd card, and moved all media there, yet there's no space to even install updates
tctham
post Jan 25 2021, 06:26 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Jan 23 2021, 10:39 PM)
I not understand, so after you move all possible media/data to sd card, your Oppo still not enough space?
What media/data eat space? Oppo official software update eat space?

Now, your solution is what? Can stop Oppo official software update?

You try factory format or not? The results ok or not? Finally can save your Oppo or not?
This is mean if factory format work but after few days or want every month want factory format again, can't use till one year like that?
This is also mean Oppo or future all brand phone will have lifespan like above method?

What is your next new phone brand, if you get know Oppo really like above and always want force customer change new phone?
Still very welcome of info, teach and others. Thank you.
i'm not sure if it is an oppo problem or same across other phones with minimal storage. but that oppo that i had, was 32Gb and the color OS version that it had, does not allow you to install apps in SD card.. you can only move selected data into SD card. and the OS itself, takes up some of the space. and other apps, such as whatsapp, actually consume a lot of space. even if you factory reset, you would have the original space, but as long as you download apps again, those apps will store data (cache and actual data). to live with that space issue, i had constantly clear items, and clear caches.. but eventually i ran out of space. if you keep your apps to bare minimum, you shud be able to survive a year or more.

i think future phones dun have this problem as most midrange comes with 64gb at least, and you can also install apps into SD cards.

I changed from samsung s3 -> oppo find 7a -> zte axon 7 -> samsung a70 (2019)

storage is relatively cheap (and it will get cheaper) and things will get "better" and will require more space to store HD this Full HD that and etc.. so the solution, is just to get as much space as you can afford. (dun need 512GB, but just get 128GB at least if you don't want to worry about storage issue)

i'm not sure how oppo behave, as my prev oppo phone, was the last of its kind with that color OS version, the next phone had a major version update (it's so major, that my old phone could not update to it.)
TSyourinfohere
post Jan 26 2021, 10:20 PM

191 posts

Maybe I not brain or less use phone.

No matter what brand phone or this is mean about "factory format"-"Samsung come with phone sotfware" and "android OS" you can't move to SD card, but all apps you ready move to SD card?

I also have some situation, the apps or services will auto download to my phone, you unable find the file name, don't know how or choice name file to delete, such as below kind
1)Yahoo! Finance, Yahoo!
2)Finance Daemon, Yahoo!
3)News, Google play magazine
4)"Many don't know what Google"
now just choice "closed" this service, but I think above still eat my space and memory.
How can you know what apps or services not your download or auto download and how deleted it?

"samsung s3 -> oppo find 7a -> zte axon 7 -> samsung a70 (2019)"
Above phone still good in condition?
Why you buy so many phones and so expensive one?
You install game to play or not?

Your samsung s3 "lang" or not? This is because battery damaged will make the samsung s3 "lang"? or why?
Before you change the samsung s3 battery or not?
The samsung battery normally can use around 3 years only?
Your samsung s3 power button damaged or not?
When your samsung s3 plug with usb then connect to computer, do you always happen auto unplug problem or not? so you hard to connect between phone and computer?
Your samsung s3 have any problems?

If you first smart phone is Samsung s3 and buy in year 2014, now 2021 do you think the more cheap model like Xiaomi Redmi 9 can win Samsung s3 or not?
Now the phone unable remove battery, do you think the best phone still Samsung s3?
When you samsung a70 battery damaged, you able self change battery?

Thank you.

QUOTE(tctham @ Jan 25 2021, 06:26 PM)
i'm not sure if it is an oppo problem or same across other phones with minimal storage. but that oppo that i had, was 32Gb and the color OS version that it had, does not allow you to install apps in SD card.. you can only move selected data into SD card. and the OS itself, takes up some of the space. and other apps, such as whatsapp, actually consume a lot of space. even if you factory reset, you would have the original space, but as long as you download apps again, those apps will store data (cache and actual data). to live with that space issue, i had constantly clear items, and clear caches.. but eventually i ran out of space. if you keep your apps to bare minimum, you shud be able to survive a year or more.

i think future phones dun have this problem as most midrange comes with 64gb at least, and you can also install apps into SD cards.

I changed from samsung s3 -> oppo find 7a -> zte axon 7 -> samsung a70 (2019)

storage is relatively cheap (and it will get cheaper) and things will get "better" and will require more space to store HD this Full HD that and etc..  so the solution, is just to get as much space as you can afford. (dun need 512GB, but just get 128GB at least if you don't want to worry about storage issue)

i'm not sure how oppo behave, as my prev oppo phone, was the last of its kind with that color OS version, the next phone had a major version update (it's so major, that my old phone could not update to it.)
Gepeng92 P
post Feb 25 2021, 02:27 PM

Probation

QUOTE(yourinfohere @ Dec 11 2020, 01:43 PM)
OPPO phone use few years will not enough space?

I help ??? ask, the ??? phone is OPPO, ready use 1 or 2 years. What model I don't know, the price maybe RM 500-700. Maybe 32gb.

OPPO phone have life span or limit? Till what time will self dead/game over?

??? told me approx. OPPO built-in apps will increase the space/usage, so after few years, you only can throw this phone into bin.
When "touch" some apps can uninstall and some apps uninstall disappear, so unable reduce the space/usage then only can choice throw this phone into bin.
??? not storage any files, not take picture or camera, just browser youtube, googling and chat only, but usage/space will auto increasing day by day.

Sale person and OPPO service center staff told to ???, approx. like above context, if go to phone manager you saw the space/usage full or the phone "jam" unable use because this OPPO phone ready use till life span, then you need buy new phone, can't use anymore.

I use very old model phone and not OPPO.

May I know, now new situation is you purchase any smart phone, then few years you'll problem in not enough space, only can choice throw your phone into bin? This is mean few years you force to buy new phone again and again?

Who's have experience, please advise and thank you for your help.
Gepeng92 P
post Feb 25 2021, 02:27 PM

Probation

seriously, the previously phone i bought for my dad was oppo as well, after a year the whole thing lag like hell. i tot that was the RAM problem but i realize it wasnt until i change Samsung A12 for him. only RM799 for 6GB + 128GB. Now he is happy with it
TSyourinfohere
post Mar 27 2021, 08:12 PM

191 posts

Just want thanks for your write.

Samsung so many A, but thanks shared info, I also think this "Samsung A12 RM799 for 6GB + 128GB" can consider.

I still very like old model, bottom have button can press, is any crazy of software, hardware maybe can control it, but just like no more, no matter button will damaged.

QUOTE(Gepeng92 @ Feb 25 2021, 02:27 PM)
seriously, the previously phone i bought for my dad was oppo as well, after a year the whole thing lag like hell. i tot that was the RAM problem but i realize it wasnt until i change Samsung A12 for him. only RM799 for 6GB + 128GB. Now he is happy with it
PJng
post Mar 28 2021, 08:04 PM

12,064 posts

what you can try is disable some built in apps that you no use, avoid it auto update
here some example

ANT Radio Services
ANT+ Plugin Service
Google Text-to-speech Engine
Live Transcribe & Sound Notification
Google Play Movies & TV
Google Play Music [only old phone have since is discontinue]

You say storage can reduce, you can see your self,
open apps info, see storage cache size,
you try clear cache, and use that apps a while or 1 week,
you will see cache is back may over 500MB only one apps
some apps really use a lot of cache

browser
facebook
ig
twitter
youtube
those social media apps

1 apps 500MB cache 10 social apps already 5GB
anon118
post Apr 9 2021, 05:33 PM

216 posts

I have heard a few individuals saying that Oppo has reliabily issues. Can only last a year or so.

I'm hunting for a new Oppo to replace my Redmi Note 4.
Why? Because after searching, Oppo is the only phone currently that has Call Recording feature.

Anyone else has any issues with Oppo? Please share.

Appreciate your feedback, TQ smile.gif

0.0225sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:23 AM