TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 11:40 AM, updated 6y ago

Hi sifus,
A quick check. Pretty sure there are sifus that did their cabinets with IKEA. Whats your take/comment with their service? In comparison to price, really cheap compared to the external id firms? If cheaper, how many % that we are talking about?
Right now I have around 5 id firms/ contractors quoted me for the cabinets works around 80K plus, just considering how much it will be with IKEA.... I can go back to them straight, but IKEA will charge me RM 1k for designing fee....not sure if its worth to spend if after all their price is expensive.....hahahahah
Please enlighten me
noobz4ever
Dec 11 2020, 11:57 AM

80k is for marble table top right? Not playwood like ikea
TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 12:03 PM

QUOTE(noobz4ever @ Dec 11 2020, 12:57 PM) 80k is for marble table top right? Not playwood like ikea Nah, only quartz top. The cabinet I meant inclusive of kitchen cabinet/wardrobe ( 5 rooms)/vanity cabinet (5 toilets) /tv cabinet / shoe cabinet / book cabinet. This post has been edited by Headsup!: Dec 11 2020, 12:27 PM
halcyon27
Dec 11 2020, 12:05 PM
Minus the price, Ikea advantage is evolving adaptation of your usage needs that may change. Many owners found out the hard way that other kitchen installers built kitchen although designed on their own using Ikea's Home Planner software (way back in 2006-2012), could not install kitchen accessories from Ikea because of their standard pre-drilled holes, fixed dimension of carcass, etc..the only thing in the past against it was the lack of a back splash lip for their wood or melamine counter tops. Most kitchen carpenters would have sourced the aluminium with rubber lined back splash. These are somewhat mitigated if using artificial stone which they will add a 1" tall backsplash lip above the counter top. Search the forums and ask others in the Ikea kitchen related threads that may yield other insights like this one. Also if you are into creative adaptation, Ikea Hackers site may yield creative ideas that can be used in the kitchen. This post has been edited by halcyon27: Dec 11 2020, 12:33 PM
blanket84
Dec 11 2020, 01:20 PM
I did consider ikea pax for my wardrobes. But then my wife wanted a full height wardrobe which I can’t do with ikea without modifying them myself. End up doing them with Bespoke Kitchen and I am satisfied with the quality of the installation. Price wise, it’s cheaper per volume you get, but it is more expensive per foot run.
TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Dec 11 2020, 01:05 PM) Minus the price, Ikea advantage is evolving adaptation of your usage needs that may change. Many owners found out the hard way that other kitchen installers built kitchen although designed on their own using Ikea's Home Planner software (way back in 2006-2012), could not install kitchen accessories from Ikea because of their standard pre-drilled holes, fixed dimension of carcass, etc..the only thing in the past against it was the lack of a back splash lip for their wood or melamine counter tops. Most kitchen carpenters would have sourced the aluminium with rubber lined back splash. These are somewhat mitigated if using artificial stone which they will add a 1" tall backsplash lip above the counter top. Search the forums and ask others in the Ikea kitchen related threads that may yield other insights like this one. Also if you are into creative adaptation, Ikea Hackers site may yield creative ideas that can be used in the kitchen. Thanks so much for the sharing! would definitely consider it.
TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Dec 11 2020, 02:20 PM) I did consider ikea pax for my wardrobes. But then my wife wanted a full height wardrobe which I can’t do with ikea without modifying them myself. End up doing them with Bespoke Kitchen and I am satisfied with the quality of the installation. Price wise, it’s cheaper per volume you get, but it is more expensive per foot run. Oh meaning to say, IKEA will not be able to do full ceiling height wardrobe, right? got it, many thanks!
blanket84
Dec 11 2020, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(Headsup! @ Dec 11 2020, 02:10 PM) Oh meaning to say, IKEA will not be able to do full ceiling height wardrobe, right? got it, many thanks! By default you cannot do full height with IKEA. However, if you're good with carpentry and have money to waste, you can "hack" ikea wardrobe to make if full height. But I don't see any reason why people would "hack" IKEA wardrobe just to make it full height. Built in wardrobe here is cheap enough if you want full height.
SUSceo684
Dec 11 2020, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Headsup! @ Dec 11 2020, 12:03 PM) Nah, only quartz top. The cabinet I meant inclusive of kitchen cabinet/wardrobe ( 5 rooms)/vanity cabinet (5 toilets) /tv cabinet / shoe cabinet / book cabinet. Kitcab from ikea is modular. You can buy just what you need (eg all except the worktop) to pair it with a custom top if you want a quartz or engineered stone top with that budget, whilst if comparing red apple to green apples the ikea solution fullspec metod with all the blum fittings will almost always be cheaper than the other built ins. With a standardised solution like ikea changing one door or one drawer front is easier than trying to get the custom maker to come and make one more, in the event of water damage or physical damage to one door. Plus its easy to change all the fronts (should you have a change in heart from say a white front to black front according to design trend). Wardrobe if full height is requirement can consider non ikea. This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 11 2020, 03:01 PM
TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 11 2020, 03:58 PM) Kitcab from ikea is modular. You can buy just what you need (eg all except the worktop) to pair it with a custom top if you want a quartz or engineered stone top with that budget, whilst if comparing red apple to green apples the ikea solution fullspec metod with all the blum fittings will almost always be cheaper than the other built ins. With a standardised solution like ikea changing one door or one drawer front is easier than trying to get the custom maker to come and make one more, in the event of water damage or physical damage to one door. Plus its easy to change all the fronts (should you have a change in heart from say a white front to black front according to design trend). Wardrobe if full height is requirement can consider non ikea. Thanks so much! ill move on from IKEA, family requirement full height hahahha
TSHeadsup!
Dec 11 2020, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 11 2020, 03:58 PM) Kitcab from ikea is modular. You can buy just what you need (eg all except the worktop) to pair it with a custom top if you want a quartz or engineered stone top with that budget, whilst if comparing red apple to green apples the ikea solution fullspec metod with all the blum fittings will almost always be cheaper than the other built ins. With a standardised solution like ikea changing one door or one drawer front is easier than trying to get the custom maker to come and make one more, in the event of water damage or physical damage to one door. Plus its easy to change all the fronts (should you have a change in heart from say a white front to black front according to design trend). Wardrobe if full height is requirement can consider non ikea. Many thanks!