TSmachoman88
Dec 11 2020, 10:33 AM, updated 5y ago

Hi Sifus,
Would like to know if there is a specific local-government / bylaw requirement for an overgrown lawn/grass, in terms of length i.e. 10cm, 20cm long, before I can complain to the Majlis.
Reason is that I have neighbor that has left his house empty for sometime, 6 months or so, his garden is starting to get messy with overgrown grass (probably about 4 inches high, will cover my ankles if i walk on it). I'm worried it may be a health hazard and wondering when I can complain to the Majlis to summon the owner to mow his lawn.
Thanks All!
kuntilanak
Dec 11 2020, 10:39 AM
dun think height of weed is governed by any laws, but if the area breeds mosquitoes, then for sure can get saman...
Legozz
Dec 11 2020, 10:41 AM

I believe there are laws that deal with this. But the execution and process differs by majlis. I suggest you get into contact with your local majlis and deal with it directly.
mini orchard
Dec 11 2020, 11:27 AM
Contact him to clear up the garden. Not necessary to trouble local authority .... unless something happened between neighbours.
YeohKW
Dec 11 2020, 03:18 PM

QUOTE(machoman88 @ Dec 11 2020, 10:33 AM) Hi Sifus, Would like to know if there is a specific local-government / bylaw requirement for an overgrown lawn/grass, in terms of length i.e. 10cm, 20cm long, before I can complain to the Majlis. Reason is that I have neighbor that has left his house empty for sometime, 6 months or so, his garden is starting to get messy with overgrown grass (probably about 4 inches high, will cover my ankles if i walk on it). I'm worried it may be a health hazard and wondering when I can complain to the Majlis to summon the owner to mow his lawn. Thanks All! Just call up your local dewan bandaraya. They will contact the house owner and ask them to clear it off. My clients almost every few months also got a call to clean his house which is put up for sale.