Want to migrate out of Malaysia, Any recommended agencies?

TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 10:29 AM, updated 6y ago

223 posts

Thinking about Australia, Canada, UAE, Netherlands...

Anyone have any recommendations for agencies I can speak to about this? Too many scammy ones out there...

TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 10:40 AM

223 posts

Is there a way to simplify these things perhaps? Do shortcuts even exist actually? Because most requirements seem to be the need to have relatives there, certain amounts of $ in your bank accounts, job secured etc etc

Or maybe I'm just being too damn lazy and I should just try it out myself lol (sorry if this is the case, been too busy with work)
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 03:27 PM

223 posts

Lovin' the answers everyone. Thanks especially to feynman for the inputs!

My current company has business arms in a few number of different countries, but managing support services at Group level...i'm not sure how easy it is for me to angle my exit to those other countries even though i've seen it being done before (favoritism). My job is something more...progressive. It's sustainability-related (think putting the green in green bonds, sustainability statements), so I don't think its as 'valuable' as the engineering guys and all. But of course never try never know.

It's just always advertised from these agencies that they can help you substantially etc etc so I thought that may very well be a real thing. Tbh I don't mind working shitty jobs at the start, honestly. I just need a solid foot in first...

This post has been edited by Endeavour: Dec 7 2020, 03:29 PM
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 03:28 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Dec 7 2020, 01:04 PM)
If you are below 45 you can usually apply for skills migration instead of business migration which require you to plonk down a large sum of money.

Migration agencies can't "pull cable" for you but they can identify govt schemes where you can apply under to make it easier to qualify. My cousin paid RM10K for agency fees to apply to Australia and he got in under a little known Queensland engineering scheme.

Canada is your best bet as it is easier to get in. Forget about UAE. It is almost impossible.
Is it alright if I spoke to your cousin further to understand his process etc? Just to get more information from the ones that have successfully done so. smile.gif
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 03:30 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(bisobona @ Dec 7 2020, 12:07 PM)
Why want to migrate. Malaysia not good enough?
Not that Malaysia's not good enough, but rather I wanna escape from my family. And friends, too, actually. And just everything lol. Want a fresh start.

Long complicated story for mental health subforum, not for serious /k haha

TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 03:59 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Dec 7 2020, 03:40 PM)
Malaysia not good enough?

Brother, I came back from the US, you might wanna rethink about "grass is always greener on the other side".

sekian.
I'm under no illusion that grass is greener on the other side, my friend...
I've been staying out of Malaysia since 17 actually, for a good number of years, but I made the conscious decision to come back for work. And I thought that with my friends/family we could do a lot together. And here we are now lol.

Why did you return to Malaysia, if you don't mind me asking?
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 04:59 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Dec 7 2020, 04:38 PM)
Well, I got back because I have lots of daddykasi resources (legal), and recently got the full support from a listed company to do what I love.

I don't think with the identity I have in the US, I could've reached what I'm reaching now.

If you're wondering what you saw in the US, like immigrants making it big, well maybe they got lucky and they're just one of the very very few who made it.

My father always tells me: what you see is just the 1 out of 100, behind the scenes, maybe 90 or more died.
(not literally died, but failed and vanished into thin air).
Nice. Similar rationale that led me to come back - just tapping on my own connections here. With the boost coming from family, seriously, the lifestyle difference is staggering. That's also why I returned. But then things have been disappointing here, or not good enough, so this is once again among my considerations.

What are you doing now then, if you don't mind me asking? Or if its private we can just chat through PMs too. Genuinely curious about your journey thus far.
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 05:00 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Captain89 @ Dec 7 2020, 04:02 PM)
Which part of US? I’m planning too but not US definitely
Let's discuss further, maybe if we consolidate our information we can get a clearer view of things?

TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 05:01 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 7 2020, 04:34 PM)
But you still need English certificate to proof language proficiency, right? Everywhere I read demands toefl/ielts/etc for those English speaking countries. But I also seen people migrating there without any English cert. How is that possible?
This is also a good question.
On English requirements, even for me exchanging over to EU, I needed to take the IELTS test. So for migration..it seems like it's a basic requirement.

Or actually they went there illegally?
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 05:40 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Eulm585 @ Dec 7 2020, 05:18 PM)
Are you planning to stay there for good? Or just afew year stint?
Easiest ways are to study and find a job there after,
investor/business owner which would require high capital.

In the current situation of covid, finding a job is slightly harder due to the travel restrictions and what not.. however I believe Singapore would be the easiest to get off you are looking to pack up and leave asap while thinking on what your next move is
Probably staying there permanently..
Yup I've considered taking up masters to do so, but the thing is that money can be more well spent (RM200K for a masters in UK, seriously?) and there's the preparatory stage as well (I did GMAT a few years ago, score of 700 can only get you so far to a good masters programme if you're asian+male unfortunately).

SG has been among my considerations before as well, but tbh SG is too close to home, still.

Currency difference is one of the key reasons too, but that's secondary in comparison to lifestyle/freedom of heart and mind.
TSEndeavour
post Dec 7 2020, 07:12 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Dec 7 2020, 06:02 PM)
Taiwan lah
Lived in Taipei before for a few years lol shitty place.
Feels good if you're traveling there for sight seeing though.
TSEndeavour
post Dec 9 2020, 09:25 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(superbike @ Dec 7 2020, 07:55 PM)
Get an approved permanent job and marry the local people from the country you want to migrate into but i believe it's not an easy step either.

Btw, i read that Canada is very open to migration, maybe you can try your luck there. Probably is the easiest one to migrate into.
I heard similar things for Canada tbh, I've gotta take a closer look at it over the weekend...

And lol I did get a permanent job back in Taipei, I also had a Taiwanese girlfriend, but man oh man it just wasn't the place for me. I don't regret any of it though. Because Taiwan is way too controlled; the people there are fake as hell; the news is a joke; the political environment is hyper unsteady with the threats of China becoming ever present; Taiwanese companies not growing much anymore aside from the financial services sector; etc.

Yes, there are a lot of things to be loved, but it's really not that great. Same goes to a lot of places I guess, just that specifically, that country ain't for me.

0.0195sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:23 AM