Can you get fired for coming in to work late?

SUSsickjoker
post Dec 7 2020, 09:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 5 2020, 10:17 AM)
Respect is a 2 way street. I can do whatever the company wishes me to do. But to pull the card "I'm boss"? Sure, most likely the kind of company won't last 10 years.
Well. You are right. You see for those companies, it's not really about performance or even productivity. It's just that the boss had some issues when he was young and now he just want to vent his frustration on the employees. You see, your boss is a control freak and he probably thinks almost everyone in the company are animals.

You made the mistake of joining this company in the first place. If you really have ability, you would have probably left a long time ago. Maybe you should plan to leave because really, this company really sux.

Actually, the situation can become very awkward when say someone which they cannot afford to let go at the moment stand up against them. For example me. Cinapek company are actually pretty easy to control. When you have something important, they cannot afford to let you go. And remember, no one wants to go to such a company so they probably know that they will not be able to replace you for a long time.

Now that I am working in this company for a short while, I realize only incapable people stay there. But then misery loves misery. And because I have something important. I can "play" around with them.

And I know those incapable people probably hate my guts. You see, I can do what I do because I am almost "indispensable". You know that they are incapable already because they can be so easily brainwashed and controlled.

Actually, most of those cinapek bosses really are not that smart. Serious. And they have serious issues when they were young that's why they think they now become bosses they can treat you like a slave just because they are your bosses. Stay there longer and you start to think like your cinapek boss. It's not good.

This post has been edited by sickjoker: Dec 7 2020, 09:05 PM
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 7 2020, 09:14 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Dec 7 2020, 09:06 PM)
5 minutes is peanut, I would allow even 1 hour, but you go back 1 hour late lo.
Unfortunately, you are dealing with people who wants to make life difficult for others.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 7 2020, 10:52 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Dec 7 2020, 09:18 PM)
Screw people like this, its no that you get rewarded for arriving 5 mins earlier as well.
If you really think about it. The core of the issue was never just about "punctuality"
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 7 2020, 11:15 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Dec 7 2020, 11:13 PM)
Funny why so many ppl support TS since he late to work for 1 week.
I do agreed that late to work is fine but not late to work for 1 week. If the weather remains the same for 1 month, will TS late to work for 1 month?
BTW, if stealing money they are not going to fire you. They will send you to jail smile.gif
I feel really sorry for you.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 8 2020, 10:24 AM

179 posts

One reason why clock in never works.

Let's say I left my phone at my house. If I go back to my house to take my phone, I will most probably be 5 minutes late. So I just go to the office anyway. Do you think I will be able to concentrate for the rest of the day?

But people get penalized for stupid things such as this instead of getting their work done

This post has been edited by sickjoker: Dec 8 2020, 10:25 AM
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 9 2020, 02:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 9 2020, 08:26 AM)
When I first joined this company I thought things seemed OK. 2-3mths in is where all the cinapek mannerism start showing. At one point I have to deal with a 40yo colleague (or department HOD) and his crybaby ass. He legitimately cried when we disagreed with his flawed idea and presentation. I'm not kidding he broke down in tears what a fucking nightmare! The boss actually sided with him just because he's older. The whole debacle got so bad the other guy just decided to up and leave the company. Because there's no way 2 20+yo youngsters have to deal with a man twice our age who knows nothing but only to cry when we point out the flaws and want to correct it.

That's how shitty the company's mindset is. They basically run on this "I can do this to you, but you cannot do this to me" mindset and "you step on my foot, I will stab you to death" approach. Just last week we have 1 biz dev coming in. Within less than 1 week she decided to just give 24hr and leave because somehow the management is just too overbearing and cannot see beyond their nose. So yes my current company is memang a chinamam company lol.
Well. Typical. But then, we can see people trying to defend this old man behavoir.

In an MNC, this guy will be kick out no question. But then in a cinapek company, you can do virtually anything once you reach a certain position like I implied earlier. This guy basically knows once he uses this tactic, he basically wins. But then we also know that this guy is probably shameless. What kind of person will behave like this at such a age? No shame? See. This is what happens when you stay in a toxic environment for too long.

In fact, I am still "adapting" working in a cinapek company. A person can virtually be useless but yet still get away with it just because that person has experience in working at a small company. I dunno. They can virtually steal and take your credit in an obvious manner and still get away with it. And there is no shame in them doing it at all even though it is so obvious. And the stupid manager will somehow still side with that person. For example, I provided a architecture diagram for the whole system. The new person that comes in just made a little change to that diagram, prettify it and then send it to the group. And of course the stupid manager sided her because I am in very bad terms with him.

Now you know why that 40 year old can cry and still get away with it.

So the question is, do you really want to deteriorate to such a level working in this kind of conditions.

I know one thing. Once I resign and the whole system get messed up in the process, that manager will still continue in his ways just because he can.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 9 2020, 02:25 PM

179 posts

When I first joined this company I thought things seemed OK. 2-3mths in is where all the cinapek mannerism start showing. At one point I have to deal with a 40yo colleague (or department HOD) and his crybaby ass. He legitimately cried when we disagreed with his flawed idea and presentation. I'm not kidding he broke down in tears what a fucking nightmare! The boss actually sided with him just because he's older. The whole debacle got so bad the other guy just decided to up and leave the company. Because there's no way 2 20+yo youngsters have to deal with a man twice our age who knows nothing but only to cry when we point out the flaws and want to correct it.

That's how shitty the company's mindset is. They basically run on this "I can do this to you, but you cannot do this to me" mindset and "you step on my foot, I will stab you to death" approach. Just last week we have 1 biz dev coming in. Within less than 1 week she decided to just give 24hr and leave because somehow the management is just too overbearing and cannot see beyond their nose. So yes my current company is memang a chinamam company lol.
Actually let me add something to make this more interesting.

I have shown very clear intentions of leaving. And yet I was still "mistreated" just because I show face to my boss.

Of course, if they could kick me out, they would have done so a long time ago but yet for some reason my boss treated me not in the best possible way.

The thing is, I am like a walking time bomb. Once I leave, the project that I am involved in will probably take a very "long time" to restart again seeing the capabilities of the people joining my team.

But then my boss still thinks that he is actually "god".

See the stupidity in this kind of company?

SUSsickjoker
post Dec 9 2020, 02:36 PM

179 posts

Actually adding one more observation.

The person who newly arrived acted arrogantly towards me even though she needed to learn about the system from me and also her abilities are not really up to par. I dunno how chinapek companies work. But then in most scenarios, this person would probably be let go right since if I cannot work with her, I will have to request to the boss that she leaves.

But then she probably knows how the system work having work in cinapek companies b4.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 11 2020, 02:10 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Dec 10 2020, 08:22 PM)
Even if it's legal, it's still late. You seem to forget most MNCs release salary by 1st in the latest. Receiving salary by 7th = no motivation to work.
Chinaman company is really chinaman company. Work 5.5 days of the week, 52 weeks of the year, and still paying such a crap salary. Work OT didn't even pay OT. You think this is fair for the employee or not? Can say "just leave on time lah" sure can. Then later boss bising say never stay back to do more work what's your justification for that?

If want us to replace the 5-10mins during lunch or after work, also can. Not an issue with me. People just have to live and let live.
To be honest, I still do not understand why receive salary by 7th. All cinaman companies seem to be like that.

When you pay by 7th, how am I going to pay my credit card fees, my rental etc.

SUSsickjoker
post Dec 14 2020, 02:23 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Darrel1991 @ Dec 14 2020, 02:01 PM)
Too me its depends how value yourself and how the company values u,For my case as IT software i can come in office late as long as I deliver my tasks then they are ok with it.
Anyway my working time is 9.30 but i always arrive at 10.30am to 11 been doing it for years.Its depends on the nature of work and your discipline towards the work.We are in the software industry We have to work countless hours.A HR tried to do the same doing a clock in system (Web) i didnt even bother to login and clock,I never get any warning letter or any sort and my CEO will just come and buy me coffee and ask me to tried to be early.
Value yourself more then u value your company.

Another piece of advise value your clients more then your company.That is how you cari makan.
You sure provide in valuable advice.

To be honest, why would the ceo even ask you to try to be early? You really should get out of the company as soon as possible.

Actually you should hint to the ceo that if he tries to be funny, you may actually think of leaving the company.

SUSsickjoker
post Dec 14 2020, 05:40 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 14 2020, 04:43 PM)
Arriving to work on time can be settled in many ways. Eg. Staff may be rewarded for achieving certain targets,  same as medical leave taken, etc

The issue is lack of recognition and lowered morale which leads to less motivation to support organization needs and hence the perception that contractual terms such as work hours may be broken because the company is a 'lousy place to work'.

This is then a sign of poor management which HR should help address.

A highly motivated workforce with clear reward incentives linked to meeting organisation goals do not have persistent punctuality issues wink.gif
Actually a highly motivated workforce do not even need to worry about punctuality issues.

Once you put punctuality as one of the "requirement" when punctuality is not actually required you introduce more politics into the company.

Now a person can say that he is a "better" worker just because he is more punctual then the others. But yet the others may be more productive.

It's a joke really if you think about the entire time in time out system.

If say I go back at say 6pm or 7pm. I reach home at say 8 or 9 after dinner, traffic jam etc. Do you think anyone would have mood to finish their work?

whereelse if i go back earlier. I rest a little bit. I still have hours left to work.

A good leader can make the team motivated if he really cares for the team.

On the other hand, a bad leader who introduce pointless sop like punctuality will always be left with incapable people in the team in the end.
People who only know how to bullshit instead of working properly. And their project end up to be a failure.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 15 2020, 12:10 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 14 2020, 09:56 PM)
Punctuality does not only mean arriving and departing from office. It includes being on time say for meetings especially if one is chairing it. By extension, this trait contributes to the ability to provide timely delivery such as project deadlines as well et cetera.

Agree with you that there are many other ways to motivate and measure performance. However punctuality is a key character in any successful person as it shows we are mindful for those we interact with, our colleagues, team members, customers
The issue here is arriving and departing from office.

Obviously everyone knows the importance of being on time for meetings. And also delivery of tasks on time.

Why are you changing the topic?
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 15 2020, 12:35 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Dec 15 2020, 12:15 PM)
Sleep early then no time to wash clothes, cooking and do house corse. Do all this also need time. Then you suggest leave on time??. Again leave on time also boss red eye shoot up. See that's the problem its a vicious cycle with some people.  Balik on time boss no like. A little few minutes late boss also no like
You see. That is the issue.

Unfortunately, you are dealing with drones .

Those people who follow all the rules are most of the time the incapable ones.
SUSsickjoker
post Dec 15 2020, 02:47 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 15 2020, 02:12 PM)
The topic is covered under punctuality.

If everyone knows the importance of being on time, why would one specifically exclude an agreed time to start work?

Just like meetings set with a start time.

To answer TS, if a staff persistently fails to meet a target mutually agreed prior, then the staff is in breach of the agreement and faces the consequences specified therein.

However as i mentioned earlier, the cause of such insubordination is usually attributed to poor management.
Not really actually.

The stuff responsibility is to deliver the work that he has promised. If part of the work includes arriving on time, then yes, he should arrive on time.

That's because for most functionalities, the agreed time to start work is not really a necessity. It's there just because of formalities.

Everyone knows that this demand to arrive on time is just to please the HR and also the management's ego. HR do not have much to do and so introduce unnecessary rules for everyone else to follow.

It's a well known fact that companies that adhere strictly to rules such as being punctual in the office often leads to most tension and the best people will not want to stay in such companies.

As for coming to meeting with a set start time. Well, I have to respect the time of the other people in the meeting right?

That's why most people do not follow the start time that is stated in the contract because we know that it's a joke really. It's just there just to follow formalities. Employers know if they really implement that start time rule. All of their talent will probably leave the company.

I can already imagine what kind of working conditions your company is in. Already you are trying to play politics even in this forum. You have just indicated your capabilities to me.

0.0290sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:14 PM