Can you get fired for coming in to work late?

TSRedshelf411
post Dec 3 2020, 08:26 PM, updated 5y ago

818 posts

Right so 2-3 weeks ago I came into office late for the entire week - 5 1/2 days per week. Work hours are 8am to 5pm, Saturdays 8am to 12pm. So for that week, I checked into work by 5-10mins late, and it was just that week I came in later - due to bad weather.

So last week the HR girl came and find me. She was telling me "this is a verbal warning because last week you were late by 5-10mins. In the future if you are late again, it's grounds for you to get fired. Do you understand?" Something along that line. I of course apologised and said I won't do it anymore (or at least try not to) in the future.

And earlier this week, one of my colleagues got a warning letter for being late by 5mins...

I understand its not a good habit to always come in to work late. But really? Getting fired just over lateness? Isn't that a bit extreme? Is lateness in a non-FSC job taken in such a high regard? We're not a back or financial sector, and we don't face customers in person daily. We deliver our daily and weekly work earlier than usual. We've been consistently hitting targets regularly too. Is lateness any worst than say...stealing money from the company? Or breaking company property to say the least? Why are employers like this?????????????????????????????????? wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif

Edit: all right guys I've read the comments. I'd just like to clarify that although yes it's my fault for coming in late, I do hope that the company can be a bit more flexible sometimes. After all the job I am doing is not a customer-facing job nor a manufacturing job. I'm a content writer cum social media exec. My work hours do not necessarily abide by the regular 8am-5pm, 9am-6pm. Sometimes I may have to work weekends, like tidying up my work and whatever. However, if the management thinks that coming in to work by 5-10mins late is the biggest offence to have existed, then boy are they really....******.

Also, if I am late by 10mins, I don't mind working extra 10mins after work to replace those late minutes. It really isn't that hard. What I didn't like is how the HR and management are so stiff in what they do. Some days I clock in extra 30-60mins they don't bat an eye. I come in 10mins late, they threaten with me getting fired. It's pretty obv when they "sent a message" by giving a senior staff a warning letter for coming in 5mins late. Sometimes its about live and let live.

This post has been edited by Redshelf411: Dec 16 2020, 02:20 PM
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 08:28 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(rd33 @ Dec 3 2020, 11:48 PM)
You have some salty HR unfortunately. Looks like Chinaman company indeed.

As some forumer here have said, there might be an underlying issue. It could be your company is looking for a reason to let go some staff. Or it could be you and your colleague is not performing.

To answer your question can company fire you for being late? Yes they can but not so easy. You will get few warning letters, then showcause letters then they can fire you. My advice start looking job somewhere else or stay there and follow the Chinaman rules. If you good in office politic go try be friend with HR and boss, you might get special treatment.
Could be. Been here close to 6mths now and I've been seeing new staffs being asked to leave at end of probation period or before. Wouldn't be surprised if they want to let new staffs under 1 year leave too.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 11:03 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(Endeavour @ Dec 4 2020, 09:16 AM)
chinamax company. and it seems like they are using probation staff as cheap temporary labour while still operating within legal grounds (we assess this staff to not be performing up to standards...)

but TS, do take this seriously if you want to stay in that company. verbal warnings do count and can be escalated into formal written warnings. try to get on your hr's good side as an interim measure?
I get the memo during my 3mths probation here. The 3mths probation, after that lay off is already so clear of a message. A lot of times I just lower and hang my head so I will be less subjected to their line of fire. Compromise sikit lah what to do. I know I can fall back to my freelance job and rely on the income. but sometimes having a bit more money is good too.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 11:04 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Dec 4 2020, 10:19 AM)
just be careful tho. coming in late often will hurt your performance review. if the company wants to lay off employees especially during this covid19 situation, they can use whatever reasons to deem you as "poor performer"

not just chinaman company, MNCs also do the same.
Thats true. I guess anything can happen during this period. Best I lower my head and just be their yes-man saja rolleyes.gif
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 12:30 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 4 2020, 12:16 PM)
dude, check your employment letter and tell me what it says about coming to work timing
I've checked again. They never said shit about it. BUT in the employee handbook, they did list lateness as a serious offense. Sleeping in office also a serious offense.

Not forgetting to mention their "list of workplace offences, major and minor" spans 7-8 pages. Ridiculous though it's like they are scared of getting offended.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 01:47 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 4 2020, 01:25 PM)
if it's in the handbook, then they have the ground to fire you la.
there must be a precedent for them to put that rule into the handbook in the 1st place, especially for manufacturing/service based industries. The solution is simple, don't like the workplace rules just leave them and find another alternative that suits you.
Yeah and over being late by 5-10mins? Albeit delivering results consistently (or relatively)? We aren't manufacturing/service based company. We aren't sales exec either. This is like a case of "
一点不能放开" situation.

And the "don't like it, then quit/give up" approach? Childish tbh. I don't mind joining a company that pays me shit for the cinapek amount of work they dump on me but hey look I'm still here! I c an leave but that means they'd go back to a china-like company with crap branding. Typical Malaysian mindset.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 4 2020, 04:15 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 4 2020, 02:54 PM)
In all honesty, that lateness of 5-10min could have been avoided by leaving house 15min earlier than usual. Knowing it's not a good habit, definitely try to avoid. Like someone said, sporadically being late - that's still alright. But consistently 1 week late is bad news. Company does have the right to issue warning letter for this, but whether it could be grounds for termination - unsure. Probably someone in the HR can advice.

For us it's simple. Overall throughout the year if you're late for more than x number of days, x% of your bonus will be deducted (quite a big %).
Cinapek? Very laugh.gif so if mau jaga poket then don't be late - that's the message they're sending.
"Jaga pocket" lol just how much bonus will we get after 1 year of covid-charged business. Heard my seniors say this year the benefits clawback. But funnily enough still hiring new staffs. No idea where the common sense and logic went already.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 5 2020, 10:08 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Dec 5 2020, 03:59 AM)
I don't know man... I am a firm believer of following rules and respecting other people's time. If my date shows up late a few min in our first date, that raises a tiny flag in my mind. To me, a person respecting other people's time and rules earns my respect already especially in the working world.
If respecting thy rules over time management is important, the company would have released our salaries by 30th/31st of the month. Not wait until 7th of the following month before releasing the salary. Our salary is our time given to the company. Can't pay salary on time is also a form of lateness. Fight me.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 5 2020, 10:17 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Dec 5 2020, 10:14 AM)
The company you work for is a shitty company then. Please do not use the company you work for as an excuse not to respect time. Also, yes, I am fighting you.
Respect is a 2 way street. I can do whatever the company wishes me to do. But to pull the card "I'm boss"? Sure, most likely the kind of company won't last 10 years.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 7 2020, 10:58 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ Dec 5 2020, 11:38 AM)
In this covid situation, chinaman companies become even more chinaman because they know its an employers market now
Yep. Its a full on chinaman company mindset now. Can't be helped.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 8 2020, 10:43 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(sickjoker @ Dec 7 2020, 09:03 PM)
Well. You are right. You see for those companies, it's not really about performance or even productivity. It's just that the boss had some issues when he was young and now he just want to vent his frustration on the employees. You see, your boss is a control freak and he probably thinks almost everyone in the company are animals.

You made the mistake of joining this company in the first place. If you really have ability, you would have probably left a long time ago. Maybe you should plan to leave because really, this company really sux.

Actually, the situation can become very awkward when say someone which they cannot afford to let go at the moment stand up against them. For example me. Cinapek company are actually pretty easy to control. When you have something important, they cannot afford to let you go. And remember, no one wants to go to such a company so they probably know that they will not be able to replace you for a long time.

Now that I am working in this company for a short while, I realize only incapable people stay there. But then misery loves misery. And because I have something important. I can "play" around with them.

And I know those incapable people probably hate my guts. You see, I can do what I do because I am almost "indispensable". You know that they are incapable already because they can be so easily brainwashed and controlled.

Actually, most of those cinapek bosses really are not that smart. Serious. And they have serious issues when they were young that's why they think they now become bosses they can treat you like a slave just because they are your bosses. Stay there longer and you start to think like your cinapek boss. It's not good.
Hmm fair point I guess

QUOTE(sickjoker @ Dec 8 2020, 10:24 AM)
One reason why clock in never works.

Let's say I left my phone at my house. If I go back to my house to take my phone, I will most probably be 5 minutes late. So I just go to the office anyway. Do you think I will be able to concentrate for the rest of the day?

But people get penalized for stupid things such as this instead of getting their work done
Exactly this. I mean sure I apologised for being 5mins late to work for that 1 week. But getting angry over 5mins late for the whole week is pretty telling of the management tbh. What more I have some colleagues who said "if I'm late for 5mins I won't even bother showing up to office". They have that kind of mindset. To be honest 5mins lost is just that 5mins. Staffs still have 7hrs 55mins to complete their work and target. Better 5mins late than never at all!

QUOTE(dreamfasten @ Dec 7 2020, 11:13 PM)
Funny why so many ppl support TS since he late to work for 1 week.
I do agreed that late to work is fine but not late to work for 1 week. If the weather remains the same for 1 month, will TS late to work for 1 month?
BTW, if stealing money they are not going to fire you. They will send you to jail smile.gif
1 week as opposed to 52 weeks of work. 1 week late does not mean the other 51 weeks people will be late. You will rather have your staff come in by 5mins late but still have the remainder 7hrs 55mins to complete their daily/weekly tasks.

It's like people losing rm1 and then getting pissed over it. It's just rm1, not rm1,000,000,000. Not like we're earning much either we are even working 1/2 days Saturday.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2020, 08:20 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Dec 8 2020, 11:19 PM)
Haha...I am HR kuli, bukan expert.

Can he/she make up for lateness? This is depends on the company & management, but I believe majority managers will not allow it.

1) For example, if you are in manufacturing (assembly line), each worker start their production at 8:30am. If one person late to the production line, the whole production  target will be affected.

2) Some of the company still has key holder practice(the last person lock the door). If the staff want to make up for the lateness, but key holder want to lock office door on time & go back home. In this case, it become impossible to stay up.

3) the 48 hours per week is an example. Most of the company will indicate the working hours in employment contract clearly, such as 9am - 6pm Monday to Friday.

etc....will add on if any.

Not everyone works in manufacturing line, or in customer service jobs. I'm sure a good lot of us a just your regular Joes, regular Janes working white collared jobs. Yes we do check in at 8am/9am Mondays to Saturdays (my company work 1/2 day Saturdays). Thing is I've elaborated in the other comment. You come in 5mins late, you still have 7hrs 55mins to get your daily, weekly, monthly tasks to complete. Would you rather have an employee coming in late by 5mins, but still get things done? Or would you rather have an employee who knows they are late by 5mins but choose not to come in to work *at all*?

Think about it. The employee still have 7hrs 55mins to do the work anyway. It's still an honest day's work after all. What more a lot of Malaysian companies don't even pay OT for white collared staffs. If they really want to be so calculative, then nobody's gonna win this blame game. This whole "I slap you, you stab me" mindset has to be killed off once and for all.

TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2020, 08:26 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Dec 9 2020, 12:29 AM)
Any company that needs you to work on Saturday in office is surely a Chinaman-style old-fashioned company that values only zombies.

Try to find your way out or you will suffer imbalances in your life. It's even more damaging when your earnings don't mean much, especially when you take Saturday as typical holidays to be spent with your loved ones or friends.

The govt should make Sat/Sun triple the daily pay compulsory regardless of industries to discourage workers exploitations.

As for your lateness of 5 mins, the mutual respects go both ways. The HR shouldn't interfere with your timeliness unless specifically directed by your superior or HOD. Direct involvements by HR means that the company is a small biz that doesn't value talents (if there is even a talent management team) that needs robots, not human for the work.
When I first joined this company I thought things seemed OK. 2-3mths in is where all the cinapek mannerism start showing. At one point I have to deal with a 40yo colleague (or department HOD) and his crybaby ass. He legitimately cried when we disagreed with his flawed idea and presentation. I'm not kidding he broke down in tears what a fucking nightmare! The boss actually sided with him just because he's older. The whole debacle got so bad the other guy just decided to up and leave the company. Because there's no way 2 20+yo youngsters have to deal with a man twice our age who knows nothing but only to cry when we point out the flaws and want to correct it.

That's how shitty the company's mindset is. They basically run on this "I can do this to you, but you cannot do this to me" mindset and "you step on my foot, I will stab you to death" approach. Just last week we have 1 biz dev coming in. Within less than 1 week she decided to just give 24hr and leave because somehow the management is just too overbearing and cannot see beyond their nose. So yes my current company is memang a chinamam company lol.

This post has been edited by Redshelf411: Dec 9 2020, 08:27 AM
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2020, 08:58 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 9 2020, 09:53 AM)
Perhaps, but it also depends. Like in my office, honestly speaking - both my superiors have no issue with our team coming in slightly late and whatnot. To them it's a menial issue and most of the time we work more than required anyway. So long it does not fall habitual in being late everyday.

Its the HR and top management who wanted to implement the system that ties in bonus with lateness laugh.gif
Haha how often would we get experts lurking here. Most of us here more or less are kulis.

No, I'm not referring to whether employees are allowed to 'make up' for their lateness. Was referring to the fact that employment clause states employees must work min 48 hours. So my point is, even if included in the late hours, the employee still contributing >48 hours, is it deem ineffective for the employer to take action?

No doubt your point if the person is a 'key holder' or if they're in the manufacturing line - there's utter importance for accurate time to report in. But so far in most of the work places I've been in (apart from 1 or 2), everything is auto and all you need is your staff card to enter.

Even if there are key holders, there will be a few people with keys. There's no concern about no one opening the door or 1 person being late which then causes everyone else to be late too. If there is such practice in the workplace, then my comment is - it lacks proper planning. What if the sole key holder has an emergency? What is the key holder, for example, forgot his key that day? 101 possibilities. Never rely only on 1 person.
I think some sort of compassion should be shown to the colleague. Why he behaved that way - partially could be due to stress, or he has mental health problems. He may be dealing with problems that nobody knows. What happened could be an outburst after he was being cornered.

End of the day, mass majority will find it hard to not work for Chinaman companies because SMEs are >90% in Malaysia.
Everyone has stress and deal with problems outside of work, us included. What gives this dude the right to throw a tantrum in the office? His life is hell, does not mean he should make others' lives hell. We just merely let him know there's a mistake in his work. All he need to do is just make the changes and get on with life. We didn't get paid to be workplace nannies.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 9 2020, 09:06 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(sickjoker @ Dec 9 2020, 02:17 PM)
Well. Typical. But then, we can see people trying to defend this old man behavoir.

In an MNC, this guy will be kick out no question. But then in a cinapek company, you can do virtually anything once you reach a certain position like I implied earlier. This guy basically knows once he uses this tactic, he basically wins. But then we also know that this guy is probably shameless. What kind of person will behave like this at such a age? No shame? See. This is what happens when you stay in a toxic environment for too long.

In fact, I am still "adapting" working in a cinapek company. A person can virtually be useless but yet still get away with it just because that person has experience in working at a small company. I dunno. They can virtually steal and take your credit in an obvious manner and still get away with it. And there is no shame in them doing it at all even though it is so obvious. And the stupid manager will somehow still side with that person. For example, I provided a architecture diagram for the whole system. The new person that comes in just made a little change to that diagram, prettify it and then send it to the group. And of course the stupid manager sided her because I am in very bad terms with him.

Now you know why that 40 year old can cry and still get away with it.

So the question is, do you really want to deteriorate to such a level working in this kind of conditions.

I know one thing. Once I resign and the whole system get messed up in the process, that manager will still continue in his ways just because he can.
True though. I've observed in the last 5-6 months of working here, he's started by talking crap and spreading rumours about the other guy. Mind you, this other guy (our IT guy) is also new as he came in around the same time we do. This IT guy found out and confronted him a few times about it. Nicely and politely of course. But everytime he tried to talk to the 40yo guy, this 40yo guy will just walk away or pretend the IT dude isn't there. Until that "fateful day" when we pointed out the mistakes this 40yo guy did, that's when he go into a crying tantrum and do whatever other shit. The HR girl gave him a warning letter, and gave me a verbal warning. The warning letter the IT dude received was his sign to leave the company. Printed out a resignation letter and submit on the spot. Said he's gonna leave and just don't contact him anymore.

What makes me stay, you ask? I'm still looking for a new job here in East Malaysia. I may not like where I am now, but believe me I'm trying my best to look for a better job here. Hells be damned if I have to work Saturdays in the next company. Dealing with a 40yo crybaby in the workplace is mega ridiculous. Company giving warning over 5mins late is just as ridiculous too.

Good lord this company and country is going to the dogs. Everyone thinks its ok to be shit to each other, but if people bite back it's like they've been sinned against a million times ranting.gif ranting.gif
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 10 2020, 10:28 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(abc2005 @ Dec 9 2020, 11:38 PM)
That's more of the reason to get this shit done with ASAP. In East Msia, there would not be much other than oil & gas, logging, and fisheries. Not sure about your industry but if you are into oil&gas, you should aim for reputable companies like Shell or Petronas and the likes. Chinaman-style companies are quite prevalent in S&S compared to West Malaysia where the HQ are more likely to follow international standards of 5-day work week. Having your boss to defend the indefensible made things even worse.

If all else fail, try to look into opportunities in West Msia or SG if your skill-sets are in demand. Just never settle for less or compromise on Saturday work, unless you can get replacement leaves or compensated for your work.
Am looking into west Malaysia tbh. Not gonna lie, here I am in the office and I'm already bored AF with work. What more the management forever having their eyes on us is pretty tiring though. What could have been an easy, stress-free job job turned into one that's making me burnt out.. Hells.. My colleague next door has been dozing off more often than usual. In a day he can be sleeping for up to 45mins-1hour. Snoring some more. Ughh shit company is shit company!
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 10 2020, 10:55 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(coyouth @ Dec 10 2020, 10:35 AM)
a lot of people mention japanese company, chinaman company. eh, if you have stupid boss who is very critical about timing, malay, and indian company also the same la. they will still find excuse to penalise you.
Someone mentioned here (or somewhere similar on LYN) that "chinaman" usually refer to the mindset, not the race. So yes, if your boss is an Indian or Malay, it's possible they run on a chinaman style too.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 10 2020, 01:50 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Dec 10 2020, 12:47 PM)
it is normal to deduct salary if late to work?
Is it normal to always pay staff salary late?

Typical mindset where "I step on you, you stab me to death" scenario. There's no winning here.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 10 2020, 08:22 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(ongss @ Dec 10 2020, 05:45 PM)
You are right. Frequent lateness like TS is a habitual lateness. I encountered cases MNC fired staffs who were regularly late for work. One can go to the Industrial Court case management portal to search and download the details for those cases.
Paying before or on 7th of next calendar month is legally allowed. Section 19(1) of the Employment Act 1955, you're to be paid within 7 days after the last day of any wage period (usually a month).  HR needs time to compute PCB, EPF contribution, Socso, OT calculation and etc.
Even if it's legal, it's still late. You seem to forget most MNCs release salary by 1st in the latest. Receiving salary by 7th = no motivation to work.
Chinaman company is really chinaman company. Work 5.5 days of the week, 52 weeks of the year, and still paying such a crap salary. Work OT didn't even pay OT. You think this is fair for the employee or not? Can say "just leave on time lah" sure can. Then later boss bising say never stay back to do more work what's your justification for that?

If want us to replace the 5-10mins during lunch or after work, also can. Not an issue with me. People just have to live and let live.
TSRedshelf411
post Dec 11 2020, 03:56 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(sickjoker @ Dec 11 2020, 02:10 PM)
To be honest, I still do not understand why receive salary by 7th. All cinaman companies seem to be like that.

When you pay by 7th, how am I going to pay my credit card fees, my rental etc.
My rent is due every 1st of the month. When I told my landlady my salary will be out only by 7th, and that I can only pay by that date or after, you should have seen her face. It's like I've just called her some kind of very offensive name.

There were few times already where she yelled at me for always paying rent late. But how to pay rent on time when company always pay by 7th? Go find my boss and yell at him lah!

0.0258sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:39 PM