[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V3, It’s a leap year.

Nightengale
post Nov 29 2020, 09:19 PM

90 posts

Darn, missed out on the shop voucher for ESR RM30. Oh well, can try again in 12.12, also no white leather case for standard 12 size which is what I want.

I want that California Poppy case, but RM269 is really steep. If only there are other orange-yellow leather cases that have metal buttons and good quality...
Nightengale
post Nov 30 2020, 10:30 PM

90 posts

As expected, the cheap leather case already sold out on Carousell. Lecehnya nobody has change of heart to resell California Poppy for cheap.

Random question, what's a good screen protector to get that feels the closest to naked screen experience? Need some sifu advice.
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 12:50 PM

90 posts

Does new iPhone accessory get Shopback 2% when buy from Apple Online? They don't cover new launches but not sure if accessory fall under that.
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 04:34 PM

90 posts

Apple Leather poison strong speaks more of other leather case lack of quality .

Like it’s either the protection focused like Nomad or lower reliability ones that still expensive - if you’re gonna buy Mujjo without bottom cover/etc or China brand that cost MYR 150++ might as well just splurge extra for that Apple 🍎 tax 🥴

This post has been edited by Nightengale: Dec 1 2020, 04:34 PM
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 11:20 PM

90 posts

Decided to buy Hoda sp from sakurazzz using Amex voucher.

I considered Flolab for a bit, but having to pay pricey shipping fees is meh for just one screen protector.

Now to think about case....

This post has been edited by Nightengale: Dec 1 2020, 11:21 PM
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 11:32 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Dec 1 2020, 11:23 PM)
Hoda is good. Affordable too. For casing, you prefer which type?
honestly i've been going naked for my phones for a long time, and big reason I go with iphone is for the "premium-ness" of holding it in the hand - but with how hefty and slippery iPhone 12 Pro can feel at times, I've been thinking I want something to change it up.

It's a lame requirement, but my main requirement is for the case to feel still thin ( minimal bulk ) while keeping the premium feel of the phone.

So bulky cases are no go, and I don't like the clear case/TPUs that make the case feel like a rigid plastic.

Off the top of my head, the one I've been most interested in since day one is the official Apple Leather - since it finally covers everything, feels premium, has metal buttons so it's clicky, and overall has slim profile even if not like pitaka slim.

Basically comfort of holding on the hand is most important while not overly wrapping the phone in plastic just solely for protection. Need that balance of premium touch and minimal bulk. rclxs0.gif
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 11:41 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Dec 1 2020, 11:35 PM)
Well bro, i think you have made up your mind. 😆 Apple leather case it is. It is premium. Feeling in your hand is premium too. Question is which color are you going for? 😉
Well, like I said - I'm used to naked carry, so no particular hurry.

Part of me am hoping we'll see other case makers announce something of equal quality in coming month or two. And more buyer's remorse on Caroussel or something.

If I get the leather case, no California Poppy no talk. blush.gif
Nightengale
post Dec 1 2020, 11:48 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Dec 1 2020, 11:40 PM)
HODA tempered glass? HODA PET? I don’t really find them any good. So far HODA Sapphire is good.
TG.

I understand from browsing here casually it's not the best option, but there's not much else that I can spend the amex voucher on before it expires. tongue.gif

Hopefully it's at least decent enough. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Nightengale: Dec 1 2020, 11:49 PM
Nightengale
post Dec 6 2020, 12:39 PM

90 posts

Anyone received their ESR leather case? Need some review impressions.
Nightengale
post Dec 10 2020, 04:38 PM

90 posts

Poisonnnnn

Nightengale
post Dec 10 2020, 05:03 PM

90 posts

How’s the quality of the ciplak MagSafe wallets? 🤔

Nightengale
post Dec 10 2020, 07:40 PM

90 posts

Hmm, so basically all ciplak Magsafe are basically the same one - the one with weak magnet.

While that's acceptable, if there's no version with a stronger magnet, feel like I'd rather wait for a MFI Magsafe 3rd-party wallet from a named brand or wait for version 2 of OEM China that has stronger magnet.

Reviews also show that china OEM version not as easy to slide card up/down. Minor usability gripes, but I feel like it'll be within 3+ months that we'll see other brand have their own Magsafe compatible wallet that doesn't have Apple tax.

This post has been edited by Nightengale: Dec 10 2020, 07:42 PM

0.0252sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:09 PM