6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V3, It’s a leap year.

dreamthief
post May 13 2021, 03:14 AM

Banned
2,645 posts

Well… just continue using the phone. Don’t stress out with the battery percentage.

https://www.cultofmac.com/742055/iphone-12-...premium-phones/
dreamthief
post May 14 2021, 02:45 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

Everyone shouldn't be too concerned with the battery percentage, the few percent isn't significant to impact your phone usage. Enjoy your device.

From my own experience, constantly plugged in (exclude wireless charging), it's not a good thing and that goes for overnight charging as well.

Despite the articles saying iPhone have circuitry to stop charging or the smart charging Apple introduced. What helps so far, don't let phone dip below 20%. Don't need to connect to charge when it's 80% and above.

I change my charging pattern also, i charge during the day around 10-11am and charge to full, during that period.

Logic was

1) No overnight charging needed (auto disconnect cable, timer, rely on Apple smart charging logic etc)
2) When i wake up, travel for work (post Covid would be more meaningful), there are enough juice to bring me into 10-11am charging period.
3) I timed it roughly 1 hour plus for the phone to fully charge and disconnect from charger, just in time before going for lunch smile.gif

Note: Of course if u go hiking, whole day activity, you can use power bank. That's why it's invented. I find car charging, not that good also even with good gear. Car battery also doesn't last long.

When going to sleep, i set up Shortcuts to automate battery saver mode and DND mode kicks in.

Differences with charging overnight and my method above? Not much actually, over 2 years, battery percentage is like 5-10%. Some say a lot, some say insignificant.
dreamthief
post May 16 2021, 12:50 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ May 16 2021, 07:33 AM)
Just switched from oneplus. It’s so nice being able to go to any decent sized phone shops in your area and being able to find accessories for your phone model.
Oh goodness... yet another falling into the Apple ecosystem.

1) Check out Apple leather case
2) Get a decent 20W charger
3) Explore Apple Watch
4) Go wild with accessories and report back here the "damages"
dreamthief
post May 17 2021, 11:20 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(dudewhatisthis @ May 16 2021, 01:54 PM)
Haha, I've always been curious about apple phones from outside looking in plus I was tired of using good but obscure (in malaysia) android brands like oneplus where fixing it meant you had to send your phone to Kuala Lumpur which is a hassle. Samsung wasn't an option because exynos and Iphone 12 series was the first apple design that caught my eye after a long time.

The 20W charger is my one and only charger. I might get another lower w charger because my current one charges fast but it produces a lot of heat which I think is bad for the battery health long term.
Ahem… u seems to skip the list… sacrilegious.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 17 2021, 08:30 AM)
I didn’t know that it has to be so specific to get a 20w charger. I just realised that the one I got from Aukey is only 19.5w… pfft. But it did state fast charging? But so far I find the charging speed adequate for me so I guess that’s ok. I supposed.
You can get any charger.. but 20w is optimal for fast charging. 19.5w and 20w, I doubt any difference.

Aukey, Anker… baseus .. to name a few are good brand and charger. Don’t need to buy Apple original charger.

dreamthief
post May 19 2021, 02:43 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

Uhm...mine shows 103%? confused.gif
dreamthief
post May 19 2021, 10:17 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 19 2021, 04:27 PM)
I cannot find this app? How does this work?

By the way, anybody buying https://www.apple.com/my/shop/buy-airtag/airtag? I may buy one pack. laugh.gif
1 pack as in 4 units inside right? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ May 19 2021, 05:09 PM)
i've read somewhere for iPhone 12 series they purposely increase the % a lil bit so that it goes down at slower rate. haha. u use macbook? they say if use macbook just check using coconut battery. smile.gif
just download the apps and install. https://imazing.com/

https://www.reddit.com/r/ipad/comments/ep58...h_of_your_ipad/

if u got macbook they say use coconut battery easier to check. nod.gif

I tried another tools, 3uTools, even more details:

[attachmentid=10884188]

actually there are direct way to check battery cycle, but u need to enable analytic, i didn't use this method because i don't share my analytics data:

https://www.reddit.com/r/iphone/comments/e5...count_directly/

Well, same info, the othe rapp looks cooler though.
dreamthief
post May 27 2021, 12:18 AM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ May 27 2021, 12:10 AM)
Checked with some phone resellers and it seems such issue does exist where a TG would make the touch unresponsive. Happening to my 12 Pro but I am testing whatever I can to understand this problem without success. Ordered thinner nano TG and those Matte flexible TG to see if it is also unresponsive.

With a TG on, the screen becomes hard to press or like not accepting some touches. Even weirder is that if the phone is placed on surface (table etc), the screen totally doesn’t accept any of my scrolls/touch. If i put my hand on the sides with another hand scrolling/touching then it becomes partial responsive. Took the TG off and phone totally no problem.

If anyone experienced such issue before do share your story. Wonder if it is warranty claimable. Have to use my phone without a TG now with extreme insecure feeling with the kids needing to watch Youtube for meals.
Been following the thread, most using sapphire glass, flolab, PET type. Don’t recall anyone posting tempered glass.

Just wondering if you use other types, issue persists?

dreamthief
post May 28 2021, 10:21 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 28 2021, 10:12 PM)
Doesn't work with airpod pro/max. doesn't work with bluetooth basically
Only Qualcomm aptx HD and Sony LDAC.

I wonder Apple developing their own codec.

I think it’s possible. airdrop speed over Bluetooth has fantastic speeds.

This post has been edited by dreamthief: May 28 2021, 10:21 PM
dreamthief
post May 30 2021, 12:39 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 29 2021, 10:23 PM)
after started using HEIC/HEVC formats to capture photos and videos. cannot tahan the troubles to view the HEIC format photos in windows 10.
just now only i also paid sgd1.50 to save the troubles.... faint.

difference in terms of file size.

Got free alternative like klite codec. Should be legal, no big fuss about it.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 30 2021, 12:35 PM)
Hey all, is Aukey 65w charger too high for iPhone 12 Pro? Because the difference is so huge between 20w and 65w
The iPhone will only take 20w max. No problem using higher wattage chargers.

dreamthief
post May 30 2021, 02:59 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 30 2021, 01:29 PM)
dun think it works. klite codec is for videos. it does not open HEIC photos.

after purchase this add-on, the HEIC photos will be able to show up in windows explorer as per JPEG photos.
HEIC comes together with Windows 10 and if want to install, there’s a free link.
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-open-hei...-10s-photos-app

Been using macOS, so memory was bit sketchy. I did it for my sis Windows laptop before.

The video part, confirm klite codec confirm working. Cause I just installed it for my sis also few weeks back.

But anyhow, bit too late since u got it. Might be useful for others to try it.
dreamthief
post Jun 2 2021, 01:28 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Jun 2 2021, 12:49 AM)
Any difference in battery life after updating to 14.6?
For me.. nothing significant or noticeable
dreamthief
post Jun 4 2021, 06:59 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Jun 4 2021, 06:23 PM)
currently at 91%, after 7 months  cry.gif
Because using MagSafe?
dreamthief
post Jun 5 2021, 09:24 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Jun 5 2021, 03:44 PM)
charge slower wont heat up biggrin.gif

but ofcourse more or less same i feel

let say you charge at 20W cable, it takes 30mins from 30-80% (example)
and you charge wirelessly 5W, it could takes 1.x hours from 30-80%

more heat with 20W but reaching 80% faster
less heat with 5W, but the phone keep charging for longer

my practice is rarely charge til 100%.... i always charge as i like between 40-80%, been practicing this since iPhone X, 11 til now 12, my phone battery health always ~98% after 12 months+

watch from minute 3 if you interested, not sure how true, i think have something to believe biggrin.gif

I agree to most. But doesn't matter slow or fast charge (it happens in my experience, can't say exact scenario or reason), if the phone heats up, it's bad for battery.

If u play games or something intensive while charging, that's definitely not good.
dreamthief
post Jun 10 2021, 01:43 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Jun 9 2021, 01:55 PM)
Not everyone can know the difference and you can go with portable DAC if you desire. I think the FiiO suitable for you.

https://www.fiio.com/q1mkii
Poison. Already bad to have charging devices, AirPods, leather case, AirTags to go along with iPhone. But thank you, good recommendation.

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 9 2021, 02:20 PM)
I suspect so too, let’s hope it does come true.
Only through DAC+Wired you are able to achieve 24bit / 192kHz aka Hi-Res Lossless.
Yeah personally not an audiophile myself so won’t be getting so canggih one lol - doubt I can tell the difference. Thanks for the recommendation 👍🏻
I do hear some differences, but it’s a hit and miss. too cheap to get all the gears needed to hear it. Existing devices somehow by firmware upgrade or something. That would be good.

Comparatively, Spotify vs Tidal, do pick up differences but again, not as much as spending much much more for it.
dreamthief
post Jun 26 2021, 11:21 AM

Banned
2,645 posts

How’s everyone screen protector applied last year? Flolab, HODA Sapphire?

My HODA Sapphire applied around purchase time, was it November 2020?

Still going strong, the oleophobic coating is good. Happy with this.
dreamthief
post Aug 1 2021, 08:04 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

1-2 more months, then iPhone 13 / 12S will be announced.

Gosh, it's been almost 1 year.
dreamthief
post Sep 28 2021, 04:13 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Sep 28 2021, 02:32 PM)
Kenot... need to fully depreciate my phone for 4-5 years before next iphone
u sell iPhone 12, with the difference top up some to iphone 13. Then continue depreciate from there. Same same only. tongue.gif icon_idea.gif
dreamthief
post Sep 29 2021, 01:18 AM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2021, 11:24 PM)
My sis is getting free iPhone 12 from Digi for her company’s corporate lines. Then she asked for iPhone 13, they told her need to top up less than 300. She has no intention to change phone actually, I asked if can top up for 13 PM (you guys know why laugh.gif). Then think again I will need to sell my current 12 PM so got lazy already. tongue.gif

Let her come back to iOS world, her last iPhone was 4s. laugh.gif I’m sure she will be happy with iPhone 13.
Shouldn’t it be, you swap 12pm with her soon to purchase 13pm. hmm.gif

Pretty much win win
dreamthief
post Sep 29 2021, 03:26 PM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 29 2021, 03:26 AM)
She’s not willing to spend few thousands for a phone, so definitely not getting 13 PM unless I want. Then, I will “lose” a 12 PM (to be given to her sweat.gif) plus I need to pay for the top up for 13 PM.
Thought it's like those hand me down type of situation. If that's the case, not worth it. 12PM to 13PM doesn't warrant a jump.

Unless you got some subsidy from company or plenty source of income, don't see why anyone wanna jump.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 29 2021, 09:48 AM)
Your suggestion tak boleh pakai one.
oopps.. whistling.gif
dreamthief
post Sep 30 2021, 01:55 AM

Banned
2,645 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 29 2021, 04:37 PM)
She is older than me. laugh.gif No obligation to pass down to her. tongue.gif
Actually I have subsidy from the company this year... hmm.gif
Anyway, I will most likely only change next year. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 29 2021, 10:15 PM)
Yeah, I will upgrade next year and focus on iPad Mini this year. biggrin.gif
Make sense. Hands me down doesn’t necessary from older sibling to younger. More likely the nerds who willing to spend. 😄

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 30 2021, 12:37 AM)
The upgrade from 12PM to 13PM is not worthy unless you're a road warrior.
It’s always never worth it from one to another generation. Plenty YouTubers say the same line over and over again.

Like I said, unless you have too much money to spend. Or hands me down or subsidize from company etc. (don’t count those YouTuber content creators)

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0333sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:59 PM