5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

[2020]iPhone 12 Pro/Pro Max Discussion Thread | V3, It’s a leap year.

andrewtho
post May 7 2021, 03:59 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 7 2021, 03:29 PM)
Got my fake kamquat silicone casing. Not bad, though no Magsafe animation but it works as intended.
Out of curiosity, how many casing do you currently own? tongue.gif

andrewtho
post May 8 2021, 02:00 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 7 2021, 06:09 PM)
RM 30 ish. I think you can find plenty on Shopee.
I only have two now. Ori Apple leather case and this fake silicone casing. laugh.gif
Hahaha don't know why it felt like you owned alot cool2.gif

But lately not many interesting cases, mostly seeing 'remodeled' casing by adding Magsafe feature saja.
andrewtho
post Jun 8 2021, 11:31 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Now I’m tempted to get a DAC for the Hi Res lossless 😂
andrewtho
post Jun 9 2021, 09:40 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

Don’t know about you guys but I switched off Dolby Atmos.

It reminded me of Sony’s 360 Reality Audio which was crappy for most genre that I listened to - so it’s a no go for me. I prefer the Lossless audio the most, really brings my AirPods to life - so much more richness in the sound.

Looking at Apple Music’s library, Tidal can close shop already. It’s a pity the AirPods Max does not support the 24bit with highest sampling (Hi-Res Lossless), hopefully they will with future software updates.

andrewtho
post Jun 9 2021, 10:05 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Jun 9 2021, 09:40 AM)
Thanks, doesn’t look too expensive vs others.

Wondering if there’s much difference between a portable DAC vs a conventional DAC? laugh.gif

andrewtho
post Jun 9 2021, 11:34 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Jun 9 2021, 10:34 AM)
It may be just me but with Dolby Atmos the bass quality seems to be less pronounce. May have to try a few other songs but it seems that way for now.
Definitely because the soundstage is wider vs conventional stereo.

I guess not all genres will be good for Spatial Audio, unless remastered or optimized for it through sound engineering.
andrewtho
post Jun 9 2021, 02:20 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 9 2021, 12:25 PM)
Very true both is similar, not all type music is suitable.

I believe soon Apple will announced Hi-Res airpods.
I suspect so too, let’s hope it does come true.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 9 2021, 01:16 PM)
Airpods don't support lossless, no? Doesn't it have to be wired connection?
Only through DAC+Wired you are able to achieve 24bit / 192kHz aka Hi-Res Lossless.

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Jun 9 2021, 01:55 PM)
Not everyone can know the difference and you can go with portable DAC if you desire. I think the FiiO suitable for you.

https://www.fiio.com/q1mkii
Yeah personally not an audiophile myself so won’t be getting so canggih one lol - doubt I can tell the difference. Thanks for the recommendation 👍🏻

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Jun 9 2021, 02:23 PM
andrewtho
post Jun 9 2021, 04:32 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 9 2021, 03:57 PM)
I don’t think can tell much differences also. And need so many adapters wahhhh… I only listen to songs when I exercise or before I sleep if I’m too stress out. XD
Yeah I also headache looking at the things I need in order to experience ‘audiophile grade’ music.

One of the practice I do currently is to listen to music 30 mins before bed to help calm the mind - probably only this moment I can use a ‘setup’, most occasions macam not convenient lol.
andrewtho
post Jun 19 2021, 08:10 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 19 2021, 12:29 PM)
Correct. I used to be bothered a lot by the battery health %. Yes, I still check from time to time and it’s now at 97% but I don’t care anymore. laugh.gif When the time comes, I will just change to a new battery. laugh.gif The battery life is still great for me though.
When the time comes, you'll be using another generation of iPhone tongue.gif

But yeah, I don't get the paranoia over battery degradation - it restricts your usage and keeps you paranoid over the battery health etc.

This post has been edited by andrewtho: Jun 19 2021, 08:11 PM
andrewtho
post Jun 20 2021, 10:41 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Jun 20 2021, 09:38 AM)
Unless you’re a collector, use the phone to the max. Now, how can I put the lydar sensor to good use biggrin.gif
You can use Lidar to measure and estimate furnitures lol.

It came in handy during MCO when I was looking for some fixtures in IKEA since I cant go to their stores, helped me alot to plan and then ordering via Delivery.

Oh it can measure human height too, if you have kids and wanted to track their growth progress laugh.gif
andrewtho
post Aug 16 2021, 10:36 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Aug 16 2021, 12:54 AM)
Ugreen is nice but not smooth and clarity is not clear than those expensive one. I did recommend before. Easy to install without any bubbles. Importantly, the edge won’t so easily attract dust particles like those expensive one.
Pretty sure there’s always trade-offs when it comes to TG.

I’m still a HODA loyalist after all these year, might get a new one since its near the EOL of my current - 2 more months til its a year old.
andrewtho
post Aug 24 2021, 11:28 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 24 2021, 05:07 PM)
Seems like your wish will come true.

"The iPhone 13 Pro Max is said to have a 4352mAh battery, up from 3687mAh in the iPhone 12 Pro Max"

https://www.macrumors.com/roundup/iphone-13/

And finally the Promotion 120hz display.....

Going back to 60Hz Displays is really  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Feels so laggy....
And The 13 could be "buttonless".

https://www.cnet.com/tech/mobile/bye-bye-bu...e-onoff-button/
Ohhh 120hz display calls for the need for bigger battery capacity - those stuff will drain your battery like no tomorrow.
andrewtho
post Aug 25 2021, 01:43 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 25 2021, 12:33 PM)
With a bigger battery and "optimization" by IOS I dont think battery usage would be an issue.  tongue.gif
But this round it is different. The "buttonless" is meant for the power button instead.
Yeah man... Its 2021 and nobody is going to pay top dollar for a 60hz phone anymore. Even mid range androids are running on 90hz nowadays.
Yup.. But it is so much nicer to use, scroll and look at. So 120hz is the way forward. Its like getting a HD TV, then moving on to 4K.  laugh.gif
Ok la bro, its time to upgrade this time. Last cycle you skipped, its time.

I will probably skip this time, bought too many casing and under-utilized since still WFH cannot show off lol!
andrewtho
post Aug 25 2021, 03:53 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 25 2021, 02:23 PM)
Lol... You on 12 Pro Max already right? No need to upgrade la...

But then again, hopefully they will give the damn charging brick this round. ranting.gif  laugh.gif
No lo, doubt they will bring back the charging brick.

Logic is, most users already own a USB C brick so no need one 🤣🤦🏻‍♂️
andrewtho
post Aug 29 2021, 05:17 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

If announced mid-Sept, Malaysia should be either end Sept or early/mid-Oct.

This trend has been consistent for the past couple of years.
andrewtho
post Aug 30 2021, 01:02 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Aug 29 2021, 11:35 PM)
It’s because Malaysia don’t have official apple store that we tend to get iPhones later than our neighbours right?
Apple classify countries by tiering, based on contribution of sales hence why Malaysia will not get the first allocation due to this. Malaysia has always been an Android-majority due to the demographic split and grouping.

At least we still get stuff much faster than alot of other countries. Take Apple Music Atmos / Lossless rollout for instance, Malaysia got it Day 1 while India only got it a month later.
andrewtho
post Sep 4 2021, 11:04 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 3 2021, 05:25 PM)
Is there anyone officially complained to Apple? I think we need more Americans to make noise. laugh.gif
Yes, 1 week 1%. laugh.gif My case was it stopped quite long at 94% almost a month then suddenly dropped to 92% in one week. doh.gif
And now another 1% in almost two weeks. I'm giving up already. laugh.gif

You have better practice compared to me, I don't care anymore now. laugh.gif
1 week 1% quite serious le. Suspect either a battery bug or a software bug.

I’m at 94% since early November last year.
andrewtho
post Sep 14 2021, 10:38 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 14 2021, 10:22 AM)
I don’t remember resellers having preorders, but Telcos yes. Anyways, not being in the first wave countries mean we’ll only get to preorder if at all next month or so.
The pre-orders are usually slower than global launch for sure, but there’s pre-orders for sure. I pre-ordered mine through Mac City at launch.
andrewtho
post Sep 14 2021, 11:17 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Sep 14 2021, 11:08 AM)
yeah i did mine @ machines  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha yeah I remember. This year another round? LOL!

My Maxis contract just expired, they sent me a message asking if I wanna renew with a new phone plan 🤣
andrewtho
post Sep 14 2021, 03:33 PM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 14 2021, 02:41 PM)
Hahaha, yeah, I plan to go with the maxis route too for iPhone 13… My contract expires in October, hopefully it arrives in Malaysia after my contract ends so I don’t have to go and ask for a waiver for this and that…
Aiyo, too long to wait la laugh.gif
Haha nice! Usually if its 1 month +- balance, Maxis can waive the balance for you. But 2-3 months abit susah.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2064sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:02 PM