Property without strata title, Advice

TSSpectreoutreach
post Nov 25 2020, 05:21 PM, updated 6y ago

856 posts

Hi sifu . I get straight to the point . My Parent own low cost flat (20+ years old leasehold ) The major problem is without a strata title and the developer went bankrupt many years ago. So everything (documents)belong to insolvent department. I try to engage the lawyer firm recommend by JMB to apply strata title like other owner flat.(Only small number owner apply for it) They told me they won't receive any new request for this case because it so time consuming literally taking years and doubt any lawyer will take this case . Any suggestions for me? From what I see , the entire flat in pretty bad shape, some ex owner just let the bank / council take over or ignore for years.
mini orchard
post Nov 26 2020, 11:53 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Nov 25 2020, 05:21 PM)
Hi sifu . I get straight to the point . My Parent own low cost flat (20+ years old leasehold ) The major problem is without a strata title and the developer went bankrupt many years ago. So everything (documents)belong to insolvent department. I try to engage the lawyer firm recommend by JMB to apply strata title like other owner flat.(Only small  number owner apply for it) They told me they won't receive any new request for this case because it so time consuming literally taking years and doubt any lawyer will take this case . Any suggestions for me? From what I see , the entire flat in pretty bad shape, some ex owner just let the bank / council take over or ignore for years.
Who is 'they'? ....the owners who received the strata title ?

Even if it take time, proceed to apply through the lawyer. If you do nothing for the next five years, nothing will happen ... but if there is action on your part and follow up, it can have result, albeit some difficulty.
digitalz
post Nov 26 2020, 11:59 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Difficult but still doable. Just a lot of effort especially when the property is so old. Might as well hire a lawyer and deal with it. Either that or you deal with it yourself. Then again, nowadays if you are in the CMCO areas, the insolvency departments are not opened too.
TSSpectreoutreach
post Nov 26 2020, 12:08 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 26 2020, 11:53 AM)
Who is 'they'? ....the owners who received the strata title ?

Even if it take time, proceed to apply through the lawyer. If you do nothing for the next five years, nothing will happen ... but if there is action on your part and follow up, it can have result, albeit some difficulty.
Hi there they refer to JMB ( the fourth management team) . I already want throw the towel because when I approach some of lawyer firm .they get cold feet
TSSpectreoutreach
post Nov 26 2020, 12:09 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Nov 26 2020, 11:59 AM)
Difficult but still doable. Just a lot of effort especially when the property is so old. Might as well hire a lawyer and deal with it. Either that or you deal with it yourself. Then again, nowadays if you are in the CMCO areas, the insolvency departments are not opened too.
How to deal with myself ? As mentioned above , the lawyer firm that I approach got cold feet when I mentioned that place
digitalz
post Nov 26 2020, 01:32 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Nov 26 2020, 12:09 PM)
How to deal with myself ? As mentioned above , the lawyer firm that I approach got cold feet  when I mentioned that place
Write to Insolvency, check if there's any person in charge or is it a "cold" case where no one is attending to etc. Tons of work to be done and you'd probably be stressed out during the process. You need to at least find out if the Insolvency is dealing with it or not.
TSSpectreoutreach
post Nov 26 2020, 01:36 PM

856 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Nov 26 2020, 01:32 PM)
Write to Insolvency, check if there's any person in charge or is it a "cold" case where no one is attending to etc. Tons of work to be done and you'd probably be stressed out during the process. You need to at least find out if the Insolvency is dealing with it or not.
Okay thanks you
mini orchard
post Nov 26 2020, 01:55 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Nov 26 2020, 01:36 PM)
Okay thanks you
Like the other forumer mentioned, visit the Insolvency Dept and seek advise from them. Generally, govt dept are helpful and they will guide you. You need to spend some time to do the ground work. Once you gather all the info, then you can engage a lawyer to finish the registration.

You will come out of it a wiser man.

With title in hand, selling is no issue. Buyers dont have problem getting a loan. Your asking price is also higher compare to non title.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 26 2020, 01:59 PM

0.0208sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:19 PM