Daikin FTKF R32 Series, some questions

TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 25 2020, 12:34 PM, updated 6y ago

2,543 posts

So I went to see some aircon, planning to get Daikin FTKF R32 Inverter series, it costs at RM 1350, is this particular series good enough as a normal aircon ? A friend of mine who does aircon maintenance for us told us to instead go for Panasonic aircon with nano tech price at RM 1390, he say daikin is only good in singapore, malaysia's daikin is not as good, would like to know sifu opinion.
zuozi
post Nov 25 2020, 12:42 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 12:34 PM)
So I went to see some aircon, planning to get Daikin FTKF R32 Inverter series, it costs at RM 1350, is this particular series good enough as a normal aircon ? A friend of mine who does aircon maintenance for us told us to instead go for Panasonic aircon with nano tech price at RM 1390, he say daikin is only good in singapore, malaysia's daikin is not as good, would like to know sifu opinion.
Buying ac look for btu for the same hp , the rest just a over hype technology
Mattressdepot
post Nov 25 2020, 01:15 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 12:34 PM)
singapore daikin is daikin

malaysia daikin is York.

different class
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 25 2020, 01:40 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ Nov 25 2020, 01:15 PM)
singapore daikin is daikin

malaysia daikin is York.

different class
So in this case, in malaysia panasonic is better than daikin in terms of overall ?

QUOTE(zuozi @ Nov 25 2020, 12:42 PM)
Buying ac look for btu for the same hp , the rest just a over hype technology
bro wat u mean by that btu ? able to explain ? My room quite small, so 1HP would be enuf

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 25 2020, 01:41 PM
Mattressdepot
post Nov 25 2020, 01:45 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 01:40 PM)
So in this case, in malaysia panasonic is better than daikin in terms of overall ?
bro wat u mean by that btu ? able to explain ? My room quite small, so 1HP would be enuf
mitsubishi electric
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 25 2020, 01:46 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ Nov 25 2020, 01:45 PM)
mitsubishi electric
mitsubishi ? wah u sure ? i hardly hear mitsubishi aircon, always panasonic or daikin, if compare with daikin and pana, mitsubishi bagus ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 25 2020, 01:46 PM
hungrygodzilla
post Nov 25 2020, 03:04 PM

456 posts

Unless you are specific about certain additional features, if not all aircon is more or less the same. And either pana or daikin is gonna be a safe bet. When you compare pana / daikin, what are you comparing for?
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 25 2020, 03:18 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ Nov 25 2020, 03:04 PM)
Unless you are specific about certain additional features, if not all aircon is more or less the same. And either pana or daikin is gonna be a safe bet. When you compare pana / daikin, what are you comparing for?
My main concern would be quality & long lasting, in terms of needing repairs or does it breakdown often or not.
zuozi
post Nov 25 2020, 03:22 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 01:40 PM)
Btu make it simple is a cooling capacity the higher the faster
Example if both ac 1hp full load pay same amount of 800w 8 hour RM 2/30 day RM 60
Brand A 11.5k btu without fancy feature
Brand B 9.5k btu with fancy feature
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 25 2020, 03:35 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Nov 25 2020, 03:22 PM)
Btu make it simple is a cooling capacity the higher the faster
Example if both ac 1hp full load pay same amount of 800w 8 hour RM 2/30 day RM 60
Brand A 11.5k btu without fancy feature
Brand B 9.5k btu with fancy feature
I see, this particular daikin model that I saw, is a 9k BTU, is that good enuf ?
zuozi
post Nov 25 2020, 04:31 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 03:35 PM)
I see, this particular daikin model that I saw, is a 9k BTU, is that good enuf ?
acson giving 9.5k btu for non inverter r32
https://www.acson.com.my/avo-inverter-specification-2
https://www.acson.com.my/avo-non-inverter-specification

midea
sharp
LG
samsung
and so on you can check the list and pricing via online for roughly , if you can go those physical shop that provide AC unit for aircond guy can have more best price all this dealer they do sell online with a different name
on lazada or shopee
ikram_p
post Nov 26 2020, 05:53 PM

995 posts

I use panasonic and daikin 1 hp. Both work great. Panasonic already 8years plus. Daikin 6 years.

Do not on ceiling fan, do not open door to long. Do not max out setting. Service regularly.
SUSceo684
post Nov 27 2020, 03:15 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 25 2020, 03:35 PM)
9k is slowpoke cooling 1hp.
9700 is the proper 1hp.

There's sharp, hitachi, mitsu aircon as well.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 27 2020, 03:16 AM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 27 2020, 09:17 AM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 27 2020, 03:15 AM)
9k is slowpoke cooling 1hp.
9700 is the proper 1hp.

There's sharp, hitachi, mitsu aircon as well.
I'm deciding on daikin though after checking other brands prices, the prices is very very competitive, so it's about the same, is 9k and 9.7k a lot of difference ? Daikin's 9.7k model is around 1.7k, and 9k is 1.3k
feekle
post Nov 27 2020, 09:18 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

get panasonic..
SUSceo684
post Nov 27 2020, 01:47 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 27 2020, 09:17 AM)
I'm deciding on daikin though after checking other brands prices, the prices is very very competitive, so it's about the same, is 9k and 9.7k a lot of difference ? Daikin's 9.7k model is around 1.7k, and 9k is 1.3k
Lemme story a bit lah why nowadays 9k unit a lot.
Because of more stringent ST star guideline. So they use a slightly smaller compressor motor (you see the 2017 vs 2020 models) the newer one is 9k but motor watts much lower.
Last time previous model the motor bigger (8xx W) for 9700BTU - nowadays all use (7xx W) series for 9k BTU so that can get higher stars rating by less energy consumption.

This is like using a smaller engine car like altis than driving a merc in mixed mode driving (got jam got highway) so lesser fuel used biggrin.gif

What they don't want you to know is that the motor is about 12.5% less power so cooling the same room to same temp might take longer.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 27 2020, 01:49 PM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 27 2020, 02:26 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 27 2020, 01:47 PM)
Lemme story a bit lah why nowadays 9k unit a lot.
Because of more stringent ST star guideline. So they use a slightly smaller compressor motor (you see the 2017 vs 2020 models) the newer one is 9k but motor watts much lower.
Last time previous model the motor bigger (8xx W) for 9700BTU - nowadays all use (7xx W) series for 9k BTU so that can get higher stars rating by less energy consumption.

This is like using a smaller engine car like altis than driving a merc in mixed mode driving (got jam got highway) so lesser fuel used biggrin.gif

What they don't want you to know is that the motor is about 12.5% less power so cooling the same room to same temp might take longer.
Ohh i see, so that's it. But my room is really small, at 108 sq ft, I heard almost everyone telling me 9k BTU is more than enough for my room, the cooling will be fast. Is this true ?

I got a second question, some people told me in terms of daikin, made in thailand is better than made in malaysia, it's more durable, is there really any difference ?

This post has been edited by Sotsotzaii: Nov 27 2020, 02:27 PM
SUSceo684
post Nov 27 2020, 03:01 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 27 2020, 02:26 PM)
Ohh i see, so that's it. But my room is really small, at 108 sq ft, I heard almost everyone telling me 9k BTU is more than enough for my room, the cooling will be fast. Is this true ?

I got a second question, some people told me in terms of daikin, made in thailand is better than made in malaysia, it's more durable, is there really any difference ?
In that case BTU not so much concern but inverter control will be a plus point.
Because it will allow the aircon to continue running to dehumidify the room (rather than 1-0-1-0 mode like non inverter) as bringing down to set temp is fast in a small room.
Non inverter:
1. cooling cycle will turn on to bring down temp to say u set 25.
2. It will work to 24. It turn off.

3. Wait long long for room to warm up to 26.
4. Return to step 1.

during the orange step only the fan is blowing but the aircon not running (non inverter is like on off switch, there is no gearbox for it) so in orange steps room is cold but stuffy feel on rainy day.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 27 2020, 03:02 PM
TSSotsotzaii
post Nov 27 2020, 03:03 PM

2,543 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 27 2020, 03:01 PM)
In that case BTU not so much concern but inverter control will be a plus point.
Because it will allow the aircon to continue running to dehumidify the room (rather than 1-0-1-0 mode like non inverter) as bringing down to set temp is fast in a small room.
Non inverter:
1. cooling cycle will turn on to bring down temp to say u set 25.
2. It will work to 24. It turn off.

3. Wait long long for room to warm up to 26.
4. Return to step 1.

during the orange step only the fan is blowing but the aircon not running (non inverter is like on off switch, there is no gearbox for it) so in orange steps room is cold but stuffy feel.
Yup, i'm getting the inverter one, because it saves more energy and is more electric-cost friendly. So to say in a way, 9k is more than enough for my room ?
SUSceo684
post Nov 27 2020, 03:07 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Nov 27 2020, 03:03 PM)
Yup, i'm getting the inverter one, because it saves more energy and is more electric-cost friendly. So to say in a way, 9k is more than enough for my room ?
Should be adequate.

Angmoh say 180sf need 4500BTU.

> Calculate Size

> To calculate the size, simply multiply the length times the width of the room or area to be cooled. Then, as a practical number, multiply that total times 25 BTU. This allows ample cooling, whether it is a rainy, moist day or a hot, sunny, humid day. Let’s say the room is 12 feet wide by 15 feet long. That means 12x15=180 square feet. Take the 180 sq. ft. times 25 BTU per square foot and you get the minimum BTU air conditioner you should buy. That means 180x25=4500 BTU cooling capacity is needed.

Your room 110sf and 9k BTU is definitely enough even in Msia climate.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 27 2020, 03:07 PM

0.0243sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:18 PM