5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Chat Searching for the most comfortable and silent tyre, replacing an ageing CC5 on a 2004 Waja

TSsyafiqdanial P
post Nov 24 2020, 08:04 AM, updated 6y ago

Probation
17 posts

Dear Forumers, im not sure if this topic is to be discussed in Kopitiam, i do apologise if that is not the case.

So i am now searching for the most silent and comfortable tyre there is to replace the 7 year old CC5 on my mum's Waja. It still has 60% thread left but due to its age, its high time it needed changing.

In retrospect, my mum only uses the car to buy groceries and stuff within a 5km radius (on a once per week basis).

I had narrowed down the following tyres:

1. Conti Comfort Contact 6 (195/60/R15);
2. Michelin Primacy 4 (195/55/R15); or
3. Toyo Proxes CR1 (195/60/R15).

So i am hesitant to get the Michelin since it deviates from the original tyre spec of the Waja whereas the Toyo CR1 was recently launched and is promoted as a comfortable and silent tyre (can anyone testify to this?) and the CC6 is the natural successor to the CC5 (but it was introduced in 2017, hence the Michelin and the Toyo may prove to be more technologically advanced).

Therefore, i humbly request the dear forumers to give an input on this matter and end my predicament decisively.

Sincerely,
a person in need of help
Lada Putih
post Nov 24 2020, 08:09 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(syafiqdanial @ Nov 24 2020, 08:04 AM)
Dear Forumers, im not sure if this topic is to be discussed in Kopitiam, i do apologise if that is not the case.

So i am now searching for the most silent and comfortable tyre there is to replace the 7 year old CC5 on my mum's Waja. It still has 60% thread left but due to its age, its high time it needed changing.

In retrospect, my mum only uses the car to buy groceries and stuff within a 5km radius (on a once per week basis).

So i am hesitant to get the Michelin since it deviates from the original tyre spec of the Waja whereas the Toyo CR1 was recently launched and is promoted as a comfortable and silent tyre (can anyone testify to this?) and the CC6 is the natural successor to the CC5 (but it was introduced in 2017, hence the Michelin and the Toyo may prove to be more technologically advanced).

Therefore, i humbly request the dear forumers to give an input on this matter and end my predicament decisively.

Sincerely,
a person in need of help
Go for michelin
NorAzdanNordin
post Nov 24 2020, 08:11 AM

132 posts

Best tayar is always mijilin.
SUSSGLT2

70 posts

Pick je which one you prefer as short distance travel only. Even got slight noise also not gonna bother la. Haha
swtswt

46 posts

can try open thread below kopitiam>fast and furios>tyre talk but slower traffic. keep this open anyway
dest9116
post Nov 24 2020, 08:16 AM

495 posts

Get CC6 only, way cheaper than Michelin and its not like your mom is going to travel very far anyways, I'm also using CC6 for work travel all over Malaysia, no problem at all. Just make sure to replace once worn out
imperialrealcs
post Nov 24 2020, 08:16 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(NorAzdanNordin @ Nov 24 2020, 08:11 AM)
Best tayar is always mijilin.
nah, u guys got brainwashed by ad.
while their tyre waa good, my past experience told me that spending that much on michelin is just for placebo effect.
"im spending more for best tyre"

however when i compare like xm2 to toyo cf1 (same price range), i think the cf1 is better.
Thrust
post Nov 24 2020, 08:17 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

town driving, cc6 is your best bet if you want comfort and quiet tyre.

nothing comes close to it even michelin.
thefryingfox
post Nov 24 2020, 08:19 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Michelin ps4. Its good if not great
SUSrtk74
post Nov 24 2020, 08:21 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

why not soundproof the wheel arches as well?
ihavenoidea
post Nov 24 2020, 08:22 AM

1,301 posts

Fit a 14inch rim then get the narrowest thickess tyre you can fit it.
NorAzdanNordin

132 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 24 2020, 08:16 AM)
nah, u guys got brainwashed by ad.
while their tyre waa good, my past experience told me that spending that much on michelin is just for placebo effect.
"im spending more for best tyre"

however when i compare like xm2 to toyo cf1 (same price range), i think the cf1 is better.
U buy xm2 is not the best mijilin tayar.

Buy la PS4/Primacy.
SUSprince12

46 posts

If you have budget, can go for Michelin, safety > silence
whilly
post Nov 24 2020, 08:24 AM

99 posts

Been using primacy since primacy 3st
FirstNoob
post Nov 24 2020, 08:37 AM

232 posts

I am a PS4 Michelin user. Smooooooooooooooth !
kennykong85
post Nov 24 2020, 08:39 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(syafiqdanial @ Nov 24 2020, 08:04 AM)

Sincerely,
a person in need of help
Usually more comfort means soft tyre, tread will wear off fast so it prob only last 20k mileage ~ 40k mileage depending on ur driving pattern, toyo 1 very gooding, very soft i tried once before but it wear off after merely 20k saja.

EdEd
post Nov 24 2020, 08:42 AM

358 posts

-grocery runs only
-need the most silent and comfortable tyre
TSsyafiqdanial P
post Nov 24 2020, 08:43 AM

Probation
17 posts

QUOTE(Lada Putih @ Nov 24 2020, 08:09 AM)
Go for michelin
ya i think i'll do just that. Is the smaller profile (195/55/R15) not going to pose an issue? Since the Waja uses 195/60/R15 size and Primacy 4 does not have it in that size..
incubus_skj
post Nov 24 2020, 08:44 AM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

michelin silent

but very fast makan

and exp

so prepare your wallet in the long run la TS
samjet
post Nov 24 2020, 08:44 AM

190 posts