Water pipe at yard, Water pipe at yard
TSadrive
Nov 22 2020, 07:06 PM, updated 6y ago
Hi, curious if anyone here knows about the water pipe at condo yard area. Is it not recommended to cover it up and in future it would leak for sure? Anyone knows what is it used for? For upper floors washing waste or toilet waste? Reason being is that on certain condo kitchen is too short so will need to extend it to yard area so most of these types of design will then have to use plaster board to close it up so the extended kitchen will not look weird. Example highlighted in red is the water pipe enclosed through cabinet and plaster board.
CRaider2
Nov 23 2020, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 22 2020, 07:06 PM) Hi, curious if anyone here knows about the water pipe at condo yard area. Is it not recommended to cover it up and in future it would leak for sure? Anyone knows what is it used for? For upper floors washing waste or toilet waste? Reason being is that on certain condo kitchen is too short so will need to extend it to yard area so most of these types of design will then have to use plaster board to close it up so the extended kitchen will not look weird. Example highlighted in red is the water pipe enclosed through cabinet and plaster board.  usually for general washing and washing machine. cover or not cover depends on preference and wealth.
TSadrive
Nov 24 2020, 09:19 PM
What is the pipe used for?
Does it fail easily and requires repairs in our lifetime ? Concerned if covered it would mean having to redo the kitchen if there’s any prob
CRaider2
Nov 28 2020, 06:01 PM

QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 24 2020, 09:19 PM) What is the pipe used for? Does it fail easily and requires repairs in our lifetime ? Concerned if covered it would mean having to redo the kitchen if there’s any prob maybe if you can provide a close up to the pipe you mentioned. i initially commented it is used for washing and if you plan to install washing machine. failure rate? 5-10 years. prob less if less used. If concealed pipe fails, and you cannot stand the sight of exposed pipe then you need to spend money. Else you just pull another pipe exposed to where you want it
mini orchard
Nov 28 2020, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(CRaider2 @ Nov 28 2020, 06:01 PM) maybe if you can provide a close up to the pipe you mentioned. i initially commented it is used for washing and if you plan to install washing machine. failure rate? 5-10 years. prob less if less used. If concealed pipe fails, and you cannot stand the sight of exposed pipe then you need to spend money. Else you just pull another pipe exposed to where you want it I think ts is refering to the discharge waste water pipe outlet.
Zxuan
Nov 29 2020, 12:16 AM

if you can hide it beneath your cabinet then mah dont conceal your pipe lor
CRaider2
Nov 29 2020, 04:20 AM

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 28 2020, 07:48 PM) I think ts is refering to the discharge waste water pipe outlet. think unlikely as circled in pic is quite high up.
mini orchard
Nov 29 2020, 06:59 AM
QUOTE(CRaider2 @ Nov 29 2020, 04:20 AM) think unlikely as circled in pic is quite high up. QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 22 2020, 07:06 PM) Hi, curious if anyone here knows about the water pipe at condo yard area. Is it not recommended to cover it up and in future it would leak for sure? Anyone knows what is it used for? For upper floors washing waste or toilet waste?Is a discharge waste pipe from upper floor to the floor below. What is circle is part of it only as the rest are hidden inside the cabinet. As for ts Q, ... Seldom will discharge pipe leak unless is poor workmanship in the joints.
CRaider2
Nov 29 2020, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 29 2020, 06:59 AM) Is a discharge waste pipe from upper floor to the floor below. What is circle is part of it only as the rest are hidden inside the cabinet. As for ts Q, ... Seldom will discharge pipe leak unless is poor workmanship in the joints. thanks that made it clear. the common discharge pipe that goes thru every floor. that rarely fails as it is not pressurised.
blanket84
Nov 29 2020, 04:04 PM
I think the best way to cover it up is to build a full height cabinet at that area. And built compartment with door dedicated for that pipe in case of maintenance. It would look better than what was in your photo.
TSadrive
Nov 29 2020, 05:36 PM
 Hi this is how it looks like. The place is 5 years old. And I see some green stuff at the top part so I assume it would have prob again even if fixed for now
TSadrive
Nov 29 2020, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(blanket84 @ Nov 29 2020, 04:04 PM) I think the best way to cover it up is to build a full height cabinet at that area. And built compartment with door dedicated for that pipe in case of maintenance. It would look better than what was in your photo. That’s what I think too. But I’m not sure how much I need to allocate for it to be accessible. The pipe diameter is about 20cm. I was thinking allocate 30cm to cover it with a front door just in case few years down the road got prob again. Do you think that’s big enough to access it from the side? Maybe one day need to cut off the whole pipe
mini orchard
Nov 29 2020, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 29 2020, 05:38 PM) That’s what I think too. But I’m not sure how much I need to allocate for it to be accessible. The pipe diameter is about 20cm. I was thinking allocate 30cm to cover it with a front door just in case few years down the road got prob again. Do you think that’s big enough to access it from the side? Maybe one day need to cut off the whole pipe Make it bigger so that you can use as storage space for less use items. Why worry about doing it until ngam ngam.