Which Better ? ext2 vs ext3 vs reiserFS, LInux (pclinuxos) to Unix (DesktopBSD)

TSang37_in4
post Aug 17 2007, 08:26 AM, updated 19y ago

96 posts

hi guys,

my linuxbox was installed with Distro PCLINUXOS TR5. i have 4 hardisk on it. One of harddisk as master and the rest as additional hardisks (just for data -after this, i call data harddisk ). Previously, my data harddisks (additional harddisks excluded harddisk master ) are NTFS filesystem. I'm used Distro PCLINUXOS, because, it's easy to mounted with ntfs file system. All my data harddisk already convert to ext3 filesystem. Everything nice to be mounted or unmounted with Distro PCLINUXOS . Because of new freeBSD realeased, much easier to install just like DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3, i think ,i wanna to try with DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3.Before i proceed to install, i running with live CD first. I found out, all my data hardisks was marked as NTFS file, and my Master hardisk was marked as Ext2 and Fat file system. Only ext2 can be mounted and the others fillesystem, it's failed. That's wierd to me because i still noob till today. FYI, after that problems, i have been reading bunch of articles about filesystem related with unix and linux. Both of them nothing much help for my because i got confuse. Before it, i thought unix and linux have same filesystem. If linux using file system such as ext2,ext3,reiserfs, unix also supported too. After an accident, i dont know what exactly better filesystem to be used. What type of filesystem MORE suitable for UNIX like DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3 ?

Guys, from your experience, to mounted secondary/tertiary/etc hardisk, which filesystem are u use ? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

sorry for broken english. blush.gif blush.gif
ditesh
post Aug 17 2007, 03:20 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(ang37_in4 @ Aug 17 2007, 08:26 AM)
my linuxbox was installed with Distro PCLINUXOS TR5. i have 4 hardisk on it. One of harddisk as master and the rest  as additional hardisks (just for data -after this, i call data harddisk ). Previously, my data harddisks (additional harddisks excluded harddisk master ) are NTFS filesystem. I'm used Distro PCLINUXOS, because, it's easy to mounted with ntfs file system. All my data harddisk already convert to ext3 filesystem. Everything nice to be mounted or unmounted with Distro PCLINUXOS . Because of new freeBSD realeased, much easier to install just like DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3, i think ,i wanna to try with DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3.Before i proceed to install, i running with live CD first. I found out, all my data hardisks was marked as NTFS file, and my Master hardisk was marked as Ext2 and Fat file system. Only ext2 can be mounted and the others fillesystem, it's failed. That's wierd to me because i  still noob till today. FYI, after that problems,  i have been reading  bunch of articles about filesystem related with unix and linux.  Both of them nothing much help for my because i got confuse. Before it, i thought unix and linux have same filesystem. If linux using file system such as ext2,ext3,reiserfs, unix also supported too. After an accident, i dont know what exactly better filesystem to be used. What type of filesystem MORE suitable for UNIX  like DesktopBSD 1.6 RC3 ?
All the filesystems have different pros and cons. You need to choose a filesystem that meets your requirements.
c9
post Aug 17 2007, 05:11 PM

5,824 posts

The Pros and cons. You can decide based on that IMO.

This post has been edited by c9: Aug 17 2007, 05:17 PM
TSang37_in4
post Aug 17 2007, 07:10 PM

96 posts

State of data after crash ? What is that mean ? Are data become easier to corrupted ? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
dopodplaya
post Aug 17 2007, 07:15 PM

2,280 posts

^any filesystem with journalling is better but it cost some space.
ext3 and reiserfs is most commonly used in production level.

Journalling helps recover corrupted files most of the time.
TSang37_in4
post Aug 17 2007, 07:47 PM

96 posts

i'. already formatted 2 harddisk with 2 filesystem to compare between reiserfs and ext3 repectively.

lets say, harddisk A and B.

hardisk A formated with fillesystem EXT3
Type : Journalised FS : ext3
total : 73.4 G
free : 69.5 G
used : 3.9 G
usage : 5 %

hardisk B formatted with filesystem ReiserFS
type : Journalised FS : ReiserFS
total : 74.5 G
free : 75.5 G
used : 32.1 M
usage : 0 %

when i compared two filesystem, with fs ext3, to much space used for nothing. if i can , i want to use a maximum as i can. 3.9 G for nothing, sayang lah just lets like that. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif sad.gif but, i dont want losing of data when crash had happened.

fyi, i used that hardisk for kept my anime/movie/drama series etc collection, and the same time, my linuxbox will act like webserver.

please advice. sad.gif cry.gif
mokona_modoki
post Aug 18 2007, 05:12 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(ang37_in4 @ Aug 17 2007, 07:47 PM)
when i compared two filesystem, with fs ext3, to much space used for nothing. if i can , i want to use a maximum as i can. 3.9 G for nothing, sayang lah just lets like that.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  sad.gif  but,  i dont want losing of data when crash had happened.
I guess those 5% disk usage is reserved free space for root (default)...
You can change it to 1%, for example:
tune2fs -m 1 /dev/your_partition

This post has been edited by mokona_modoki: Aug 18 2007, 05:15 AM
Ced
post Aug 20 2007, 07:10 PM

21 posts

> Which Better ? ext2 vs ext3 vs reiserFS

- ext3 and ReiserFS are journalised file system (less prone to data corruption)

- ext3 is pretty much ext2 + journal

- ext3 and ext2 are mutually compatible (ext3 partition can be accessed by a system that only support ext2 -but you won't have enjoy journalised benefits).

Looking towards the future, migrating a partition from reiserFS to reiser4 is not possible as far as I know (correct me if i'm wrong).

- ext4 is shaping up fast and will be 'stable' in the next few months. ext4 will keep full compatibility with ext3, while adding support for larger files and larger partitions.

If I were you, I'd pick ext3. it's a better long term choice.

0.0171sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:50 AM