DKBU's Gallery, MIFC - Finale...

TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 02:02 AM, updated 19y ago

Wow! Long time didn't visit here liao and now got so many people got gallery. I also want to start a gallery here. I'm a newbie and hope to learn from all the taikor taikor and sifus from here.

Was experimenting with some light painting. Used a torch to paint 2007 for this year. Hope you enjoy the photos. C&C are welcomed!

This post has been edited by dkbu: Sep 13 2007, 01:23 PM
snowmei
post Aug 17 2007, 02:04 AM

Skilless
632 posts

lao ye...
you also come here jor.....
then i should close my thread jor.. cry.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 02:15 AM

QUOTE(snowmei @ Aug 17 2007, 02:04 AM)
lao ye...
you also come here jor.....
then i should close my thread jor.. cry.gif
Sifu snowmei, you shoot so many leng lui... how to compare wor...

Added on August 17, 2007, 2:20 amThis was taken earlier this year. Was in Hong Kong for work. Was free to roam around at night. Below is a photo from Hong Kong Laser show. The laser show is held daily at 8pm. The laser show was awesome!

This post has been edited by dkbu: Aug 17 2007, 02:20 AM
snowmei
post Aug 17 2007, 02:23 AM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 17 2007, 02:15 AM)
Sifu snowmei, you shoot so many leng lui... how to compare wor...

Added on August 17, 2007, 2:20 amThis was taken earlier this year. Was in Hong Kong for work. Was free to roam around at night. Below is a photo from Hong Kong Laser show. The laser show is held daily at 8pm. The laser show was awesome!
walao your sifu this word really make many people in this forum kill me... rclxub.gif
nice photo you have.. too bad i don`t have the steady hand and the equipment to shoot this kind of photo... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by snowmei: Aug 17 2007, 02:24 AM
TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 02:30 AM

QUOTE(snowmei @ Aug 17 2007, 02:23 AM)
walao your sifu this word really make many people in this forum kill me...  rclxub.gif
nice photo you have.. too bad i don`t have the steady hand and the equipment to shoot this kind of photo... sweat.gif
My hand not that stable lar... use tripod de sweat.gif
aba9785
post Aug 17 2007, 08:18 AM

el aba9785
743 posts

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 17 2007, 02:02 AM)
Wow! Long time didn't visit here liao and now got so many people got gallery. I also want to start a gallery here. I'm a newbie and hope to learn from all the taikor taikor and sifus from here.

Was experimenting with some light painting. Used a torch to paint 2007 for this year. Hope you enjoy the photos. C&C are welcomed!
just curious..r u using bulb mode for the pic above??

nice...very good experiment indeed biggrin.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Aug 17 2007, 08:18 AM)
just curious..r u using bulb mode for the pic above??

nice...very good experiment indeed biggrin.gif
Yup! With tripod also biggrin.gif
ac98
post Aug 17 2007, 10:55 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 17 2007, 02:15 AM)
If you dun mention 'laser', no one would guess it's laser or light. Your image should be able to show the difference, everything else aside.
TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 17 2007, 10:55 AM)
If you dun mention 'laser', no one would guess it's laser or light. Your image should be able to show the difference, everything else aside.
Thanks for your comments. Since is first time doing landscape, don't really know how to capture it. Just brought out my mini tripod and started snapping. This was capture on the other island overlooking Hong Kong island.

Here is another one. This one is after the laser show.

ac98
post Aug 17 2007, 11:44 AM

3,758 posts

Best way to capture a nightscape is to prop yourself up in parallel perspective again the buildings, what you have here is a camera in wide angle propped on a tripod that was slightly 'senget' : Note the 2 ends of the buildings ... left is lower than the right. The higher you go, even standing on the park bench will do you some good against those skyscrapers laugh.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 17 2007, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 17 2007, 11:44 AM)
Best way to capture a nightscape is to prop yourself up in parallel perspective again the buildings, what you have here is a camera in wide angle propped on a tripod that was slightly 'senget' : Note the 2 ends of the buildings ... left is lower than the right. The higher you go, even standing on the park bench will do you some good against those skyscrapers laugh.gif
Ya wor... it's abit senget... hehe... will improve next time... biggrin.gif

Added on August 22, 2007, 11:07 amWas at Monash Motorshow on Friday after 11pm... got less than an hour to shoot... didn't get much shots... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

At that time, a lot of models left jor... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

But luckily saw snowmei and was shooting with him... rclxm9.gif

Crissty

Natalie

Jill Moo

Evie (Flash too strong)

The kleenex girls (Vicky? & Zynix?)

Pui Mun

Jezsika

Some special guest we saw at the show:

Ras Angela Wong

Joey

This post has been edited by dkbu: Aug 22 2007, 11:07 AM
snowmei
post Aug 22 2007, 04:48 PM

Skilless
632 posts

you put ras angela wong on table... vmad.gif mad.gif
zyniz
post Aug 22 2007, 07:56 PM

Thanks for the pictures dkbu smile.gif

but wrong name rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

is Cecelia and ZyniZ tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by zyniz: Aug 22 2007, 07:58 PM
ac98
post Aug 23 2007, 01:07 AM

3,758 posts

At least he got your name right sweat.gif laugh.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 23 2007, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(zyniz @ Aug 22 2007, 07:56 PM)
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1152/119492..._7e6226ad71.jpg

Thanks for the pictures dkbu  smile.gif

but wrong name  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

is Cecelia and ZyniZ tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  wub.gif

Ok ok... my bad... was rushing and didn't ask for your name or contact... now I know lor sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 23 2007, 11:49 PM

First time shooting at MIFC. Reached there and luckily they did some test shot at 9.30pm and found out the location was not so good. Luckily met some people there and they guided me to another spot. Jam kau kau man... luckily can reach that spot on time. Here are the pics. As always, C&C welcomed.

#8 - Finale (Don't have black card arr... After this shot, all my shots were overexposed cause they use the fireworks to lit the whole sky! All turned out white cry.gif )
orenzai
post Aug 24 2007, 12:10 AM

3,114 posts

great pictures you have here...but the last pic's fireworks looks a lil too clustered...

EDIT:typo

This post has been edited by orenzai: Aug 24 2007, 01:18 AM
TSdkbu
post Aug 24 2007, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 24 2007, 12:10 AM)
freat pictures you have here...but the last pic's fireworks looks a lil too clustered...
Thanks for viewing. The last picture is the finale... sure will be clustered from the place i'm standing... i was shooting at a cyberjaya side of the lake.
aichiban
post Aug 24 2007, 01:56 AM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

woohoo
nice shots
skarn
post Aug 24 2007, 03:38 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 24 2007, 12:18 AM)
Thanks for viewing. The last picture is the finale... sure will be clustered from the place i'm standing... i was shooting at a cyberjaya side of the lake.
Hmm, I think I roughly know where you're at. Is there a lone house in the middle from where you're at? Further down Cyberview Lodge?

The lights of the bridge go off during the show?

Seems like on the last picture, there's smoke all about.

This post has been edited by skarn: Aug 24 2007, 03:44 AM
TSdkbu
post Aug 24 2007, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(aichiban @ Aug 24 2007, 01:56 AM)
woohoo
nice shots
Thanks!

QUOTE(skarn @ Aug 24 2007, 03:38 AM)
Hmm, I think I roughly know where you're at. Is there a lone house in the middle from where you're at? Further down Cyberview Lodge?

The lights of the bridge go off during the show?

Seems like on the last picture, there's smoke all about.
Not quite sure where it is but is at a lakeside lor. Opposite a school. I see alot people park car there. So I got down and walk to the lake.

Yea, luckily the wind didn't blow the smoke towards my side.
JacKiller83
post Aug 24 2007, 04:43 PM

18 posts

thumbup.gif nice shoot...
May i know what is ur setting to take those photo?
Thank
zyniz
post Aug 25 2007, 12:27 AM

QUOTE(ac98 @ Aug 23 2007, 01:07 AM)
At least he got your name right sweat.gif laugh.gif
yaya ant ant , at least much more better than others icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 23 2007, 11:44 PM)
Ok ok... my bad... was rushing and didn't ask for your name or contact... now I know lor  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hehe , no worry ,now u know my name tongue.gif and pm me ur msn can jor drool.gif

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 23 2007, 11:49 PM)

like coconut tree thumbup.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 25 2007, 04:06 AM

QUOTE(JacKiller83 @ Aug 24 2007, 04:43 PM)
thumbup.gif  nice shoot...
May i know what is ur setting to take those photo?
Thank
First you need a tripod. I use bulb mode and wire release cable. Set everything to manual. Aperture at between f11 to f22 (you can try try lar). ISO set at 100. And just click the release cable to open the shutter and wait fireworks finish or whenever u feel like stopping then click again to stop the shutter.

QUOTE(zyniz @ Aug 25 2007, 12:27 AM)
like coconut tree  thumbup.gif
Ya wor... hehe...
NonBlooD
post Aug 25 2007, 08:29 AM

800 posts

nice.. biggrin.gif good colour...well not easy to capture fireworks properly...
chiewming
post Aug 26 2007, 01:55 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(dkbu @ Aug 23 2007, 11:49 PM)
First time shooting at MIFC. Reached there and luckily they did some test shot at 9.30pm and found out the location was not so good. Luckily met some people there and they guided me to another spot. Jam kau kau man... luckily can reach that spot on time. Here are the pics. As always, C&C welcomed.
#8 - Finale (Don't have black card arr... After this shot, all my shots were overexposed cause they use the fireworks to lit the whole sky! All turned out white cry.gif )
Nice one..........

Keep it hard...
Dun ever go for display firework day...waste ur money,petrol,time..
TSdkbu
post Aug 29 2007, 11:26 AM

Heavy post ahead! This are the fireworks display from Team Italy. The photos are shot in front of PICC. Damm jam that day. The Italians concentrate alot on coconut trees. Something special was the star shape and heart shape. I was expecting pizza or spaghetti laugh.gif

Overall, good display but I still prefer the Aussie team. C&C welcomed!

#9 Star - Failed attempt but this is my best shot of it cry.gif

#10 Heart - Failed attempt again. It was too fast! cry.gif
TSdkbu
post Aug 29 2007, 11:27 AM

Continued...

#17 - Begining of the Grand Finale

The Italians turned the sky white for the Grand Finale.... can't capture it doh.gif
Kensim00
post Aug 29 2007, 01:39 PM

55 posts

walaoo so nice.. when are u going there again... join join join
orenzai
post Aug 29 2007, 02:26 PM

3,114 posts

what can i say...beautiful...just beautiful... hm.. you got use remote har?
TSdkbu
post Aug 29 2007, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(Kensim00 @ Aug 29 2007, 01:39 PM)
walaoo so nice.. when are u going there again... join join join
Dunno when ler... Only 2 teams left, Japan and Canada. Will go if can make it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(orenzai @ Aug 29 2007, 02:26 PM)
what can i say...beautiful...just beautiful... hm.. you got use remote har?
No remote, using wire release cable. Kindly refer to the previous post on top biggrin.gif
kelvinyam
post Aug 29 2007, 08:57 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

Nice shot! Mind sharing the camera setting?

SS and Aperture
TSdkbu
post Aug 30 2007, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Aug 29 2007, 08:57 PM)
Nice shot! Mind sharing the camera setting?

SS and Aperture
Aperture is f11-f16
ISO 100
Shutter set to bulb mode cause I'm using wire release cable (if don't have try timer 4-10secs). Maybe you want it longer, it's up to you lor...

Hope that helps!

This post has been edited by dkbu: Sep 13 2007, 01:17 PM
TSdkbu
post Sep 13 2007, 01:17 PM

Heavy post ahead! I know it's awhile ago but now only got the time to edit it. This are the fireworks display from Team Canada and other countries on the last day of the fireworks at PICC. Massive jam I tell you. Reached PICC just before 8pm and all the nice spots already taken. Luckily still got a spot next to a tree and no one standing there, so I was shooting there (ground floor).

Overall, good display by all teams. The winners were Team Australia. C&C welcomed! Alot of smoke though...

#1 Bridge

#2 Test shot fired 5 minutes before the real thing!

#3 It begins...

This post has been edited by dkbu: Sep 13 2007, 01:21 PM
TSdkbu
post Sep 13 2007, 01:21 PM

#15 Big one... lens not wide enough... (Actually there were alot of big ones on the final day)

#18 Big one...

TSdkbu
post Sep 13 2007, 01:32 PM

#21 Big one again...

#22 Finale - Giant one...

#23 After the event, saw our PM walking out and got this shot

#24 PM shaking people's hands

#25 PM leaving PICC

#26 PM getting into the car and the massive crowd trying to get a shot of him...

#27 That's all for now... Goodbye PICC...

0.0267sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:59 AM