6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Beyerdynamic)))) Appreciation Thread, Come Beyer fans! Join The Revolution!!

Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2011, 08:58 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Jul 20 2011, 08:51 PM)
Hi guys...
I have tried Senn headphone, AT headphone and Alessandro MS1..
What is the sound signature of Beyer compare with those what i have tested so far??
having tried the DT880, i think they are rather neutral on the mids, with really good extensions on the highs/lows. however extension doesn't mean the tonality/weight of the sound produced is as high, and to me i kinda put them off as rather boring headphones compared to AT lineups that are tend to be colored. that, and i prefer full open cans over semi-opens/closed.

that said, if you're looking for headphones that extends really well on the highs/lows, this is something you should look out for.
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2011, 11:03 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Jul 20 2011, 10:55 PM)
SQ of beyers are somewhere inbetween Senns and AT & the ms1.

Senn - Beyer - AT & Aless

Senns are laid back, darker in comparison to the Beyer, while the AT (excluding the woodies) and Aless are generally brighter, more aggressive and more forward sounding compared to the Beyers.

pair the DT880 with an aggressive amp and you end up sounding somewhat like the ATs while if you pair the DT880 with a warmer amp, you get close to what the Senns sound like.
i find this a really good way to generalize/describe the headphone brands in general.

really helpful to people who are looking out for other brands or are completely clueless to choose amongst the vast brands/models out in the market
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2011, 01:04 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jul 25 2011, 06:58 AM)
can you tell some examples of aggressive amp that you mentioned ?

once again thanks for the tipsĀ  tongue.gif
audition the AT HA20 (passive/laid back/smooth) vs the govibe peak (aggressive/forward)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 25 2011, 01:04 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2011, 03:38 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Jul 25 2011, 03:05 PM)
Is the ATHA20 suitable for my ESW9 ? Gosh seem like i miss out a lot of thing on the gathering tat day.
audio technica amps usually is suitable for audiotechnica ear/head phones. though, best if you audition first smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 26 2011, 12:07 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Jul 25 2011, 11:42 PM)
Come and try and u will know  brows.gif
dah la try la when i went to jaben to send my ad900 for warranty lol. initial objective: send headphone warranty ended up: auditioning headphones/amps for few hours. lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2011, 12:11 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

just had my time around with the Beyers T1

paired with the rudistor rp8, and govibe peak. to summarize, a much more refined DT880 and... despite being 600ohm, it seemed relatively easy to drive shocking.gif
i didnt quite like the dt880, weak mids (my opinion, really), and to me its just really good extended highs/lows.

T1 just takes that a notch further, and refined it (such as the highs being much more smoother and a lot less harsher compared to the dt880, lows/bass bearing more weight, and most importantly their mids are a lot more fun to listen with compared to back then.

well, the Centrance DACport could be a huge factor on that as well, its quite a pity i forgot to audition the dt880 again just to give it a fair comparison against the T1. though, being new technology, and it is beyer's latest flagship replacing the dt880, it make sense that it should be in most ways, better than the dt880, no?

i would say, if you're not particularly into closed or open cans(most beyers, and T1, are semi-open can), if you like the dt880, you'll most likely like the T1 as well (though i think a friend of mine may disagree sweat.gif as he seemed, disappointed, and i know he was aiming for the dt880 LOL! ) and being a flagship, its pretty much the end of the road for your beyer's journey. only thing left is your source/amp etc. (and if theres the one thing i learned from this world, is that flagship headphones is the beginning of your hellish journey to find that perfect match amp for that said headphone(s))

comfort wise, hd800 still kicks the T1 tongue.gif
for the head band, AT 3d wing system will still kick the above lol.
Quazacolt
post Sep 17 2011, 03:12 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Sep 17 2011, 02:50 PM)
I will recommend you the dt880 but with a warmish solid state amp.
^

pretty much this. as the highs can be harsh to some.

that said, Govibes are generally a good choice for Beyers, however, they aren't a warm sounding amp. what they do is extend the highs/lows (especially lows from the bass gains) of most beyers (especially dt 880) headphones very well.
Quazacolt
post Sep 17 2011, 07:12 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 17 2011, 03:18 PM)
noted with thanks, sadly i dont have the finance for all the above.. maybe will have to go for 440, amp up with E11 to govibe usb dac to comp
save up, govibe peak x dt880 combo from jaben brows.gif
Quazacolt
post Sep 17 2011, 09:25 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 17 2011, 07:54 PM)
that adds up to more than RM2k od..  rclxub.gif cant afford to dish out that much
less than 1.3k IINM.
cuz i remember beyer dt 880 is sitting at 400+ near 500 sgd, while audio technica ad900 with govibe peak is over 500 sgd.

my dillema was beyer is obviously much more worthy, however i like the ad900 more. so i bit the bullet and went with the audio technica lol.
Quazacolt
post Sep 20 2011, 06:23 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Sep 20 2011, 03:52 PM)
any combo item can recommend?
if solid state is recommended, do try out the govibe peak combo for dt880 tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 28 2011, 10:16 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Oct 28 2011, 06:07 AM)
You seriously considered getting both 600 and 250 for DT 880?
Please don't go full retard.
^

this.

i really dont see a point of having 2 of the same headphones just different impedance. unless you're seriously filthy rich, then its your call on your abundance of money. and with that said, if im filthy rich, id much rather just get a T1 and/or other flagships
Quazacolt
post Oct 28 2011, 10:53 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Oct 28 2011, 09:49 PM)
hmmm cuz i want it to be used as portable but with full sized size,

that is y im considering it,

if a dt770.250? bass kaw also?

ok fine maybe a bad idea having 2 same phones diff impedence,

maybe just get d 600 ohm for home n just use it as portable also sad.gif

thnx anyways
>600ohm
>portable

ISHYGDDT
Quazacolt
post Oct 31 2011, 02:36 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(musica22 @ Oct 30 2011, 11:54 PM)
thought Johor is the safest state tongue.gif
far from it lol
Quazacolt
post Oct 31 2011, 09:26 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Oct 31 2011, 05:03 PM)
wow seeing how peeps bash me up is funneyh esp from a guy who has k701, 702 both basically same but w changeable cable, n pair it up with fioo amps, n seems to bash other ppl when ppl his its underpower, hmmm, maybe just trolling as we cn see before suddenly the way the person ask silly bout the god damn fins and suddenly a fuss came about, sorry i appreciate peoples comment but pls yah, gimme a break, the way u say im flihty rich because of buying 2 same stuff different inpedence is insulting, hey look at ur same akg dlu yah, i dun wan start but seeing alll your comments before esp when fioo n akg is involve n see how ur defendsive n ur words seem to be somesort degil n stick to ur own opinion, well this is mine kthnxbai
he does have a schiit lyr you know lol.
Quazacolt
post Oct 31 2011, 09:38 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(daze @ Oct 31 2011, 05:40 PM)
try this awesome headset few yrs back.
at last i got DT880 pro as b-day gift last month w small amp smile.gif

all i can said.. it blew me away. haha.
the sound stage are awesome. details are good.
grats on your awesome bday present biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 2 2011, 01:13 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Nov 2 2011, 02:37 AM)
next jb meet, i promise you a T1. if yuheng can do his magic maybe even will have a lcd-2. happy.gif
guess it wont reach in time for the mini sg meet tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 2 2011, 11:47 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Nov 2 2011, 11:12 PM)
I got myself the DT231 Pro. Old model and pretty dull looking too, but the sound is very decent. I like it more than the Grado SR60, more laid-back, wider soundstage, airy, balanced and detailed.

If only it weren't that ugly.
one of the reason i blew my rm500+ budget to sgd500+
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2011, 07:39 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Nov 3 2011, 09:53 AM)
eh, what you buy with sgd500 ?  brows.gif
my current headphone audiophile setup lol
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2011, 11:54 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:52 PM)
if AD900 i know lar  tongue.gif

i tot something sgd500 beyers pulak
you would've known if you read it up, hence the comment from sheenho lol
Quazacolt
post Nov 4 2011, 12:17 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Nov 4 2011, 12:07 AM)
didnt catch up ur blog oftenly

just i tot u got buy new beyer cans which cost sgd500+  brows.gif
nah im kinda done on headphones. besides i prefer AT AD sound signature more than beyers, so no point. i mean, i've auditioned the T1, i find it so so compared to a much "lesser" AT AD headphone, so its really pointless already to aim for beyers lol.

now, who knows if hongrui would change my mind during the TT rolleyes.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0427sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:57 PM