194 posts

Get quote of RM8500 to:

1) remove and dump old soil for about 4 inches deep
2) lay new soil
3) lay plastic weed sheet
4) lay chipping stone 10mm
5) lay artificial grass

should i ask the contractor go to fly kites or what?
twtang
post Nov 16 2020, 11:26 AM

634 posts

That price is amazing....
mini orchard
post Nov 16 2020, 11:34 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(liyanakahar @ Nov 16 2020, 11:17 AM)
Get quote of RM8500 to:

2) lay new soil
5) lay artificial grass

Just 1 quote to decide ?
TSliyanakahar
post Nov 16 2020, 11:44 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Nov 16 2020, 11:26 AM)
That price is amazing....
good or bad, contractor pun dont tell what grade of grass he gonna use.
TSliyanakahar
post Nov 16 2020, 11:46 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 16 2020, 11:34 AM)
Just 1 quote to decide ?
this is not a must do task, so just get 1 quote first to see how does the market go
mini orchard
post Nov 16 2020, 11:49 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(liyanakahar @ Nov 16 2020, 11:46 AM)
this is not a must do task, so just get 1 quote first to see how does the market go
In a free economy, there will be a range of pricing.
twtang
post Nov 16 2020, 12:32 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(liyanakahar @ Nov 16 2020, 11:46 AM)
Yeah, i was also considering same. currently, my 200 sq.ft is natural glass, and kind a mess now. Am also thinking to do artificial grass with some concrete block of stone coz I still need to park my car.

i think they have different length of grass, like 25mm, 30mm, 15mm...

last month I asked a guy from mudah, also never gave me quote yet
TSliyanakahar
post Nov 16 2020, 03:35 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Nov 16 2020, 12:32 PM)
Yeah, i was also considering same. currently, my 200 sq.ft is natural glass, and kind a mess now. Am also thinking to do artificial grass with some concrete block of stone coz I still need to park my car.

i think they have different length of grass, like 25mm, 30mm, 15mm...

last month I asked a guy from mudah, also never gave me quote yet
i will try to seek for another quotation and see the price range.
SUSceo684
post Nov 16 2020, 11:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Technically the labour part is just to dig up the old soil.
Weed sheet not required, just use old newspapers thick thick layer of it cover whole area will suffice.

New soil and grass patches you can buy from those nurseries along jalan sungai buloh (between end of subang airport road and otw to kwasa sentral). Soil or potting mix also maybe few hundreds. Then the grass patches ready to plug and play from 5-10 bucks depending on type per patch about 1*2feet patches. It will get muddy so you should bring along lots of plastic trash bag for the grass patches before you muddd the boot.

Oh artificial grass will be cheaper per roll. Hardware store or Shopee also got sell per roll. The stones you can get from the building materials supplier.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Nov 16 2020, 11:57 PM
fun_feng
post Nov 17 2020, 10:26 AM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 16 2020, 11:54 PM)
Weed sheet not required, just use old newspapers thick thick layer of it cover whole area will suffice.

New soil and grass patches you can buy from those nurseries along jalan sungai buloh (between end of subang airport road and otw to kwasa sentral). Soil or potting mix also maybe few hundreds. Then the grass patches ready to plug and play from 5-10 bucks depending on type per patch about 1*2feet patches. It will get muddy so you should bring along lots of plastic trash bag for the grass patches before you muddd the boot.

Oh artificial grass will be cheaper per roll. Hardware store or Shopee also got sell per roll. The stones you can get from the building materials supplier.
Newspaper???!!! R u kidding??

Come raining time.. the whole thing will disintegrate...

Btw, TS, y need to remove old soil?? not like u gonna grow anything there...

I have not done artificial grass b4, but i've DIY with pebbles/rocks

basically u need to remove grass/weed, then just lay weed mat...

Then the drain cell, then the artifical grass

Of coz u need to level the ground first b4 laying the weed mat
Snoy
post Nov 17 2020, 05:35 PM

~SIMPLE~
1,203 posts

QUOTE(liyanakahar @ Nov 16 2020, 11:17 AM)
Get quote of RM8500 to:

2) lay new soil
5) lay artificial grass

The artificial grass itself should contribute most of the cost.
Per roll of 2m x 25m (approx 533sqft) costs about RM2000 -> RM7000.
Much cheaper if you get it from shopee or lazada but the quality is not guaranteed.

Obvious specs are pile height, density and material.
Hidden but important things are UV tolerance, harmful substance, backing materials and etc.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Nov 16 2020, 11:54 PM)
Labour for artificial is more than digging up old soil only.
Laying sand base and leveling are also important to assist in water drainage and ensure even floor.
Weed sheet is optional because artificial grass can act as a big weed sheet itself.
However, the weed sheet is recommended by many western landscapers.
There are basically two types: PE weed membrane (black) and Geotextiles (white).
Both are effective in weed control but water permissibility is heavily affected.

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Nov 17 2020, 10:26 AM)
Come raining time.. the whole thing will disintegrate...
Btw, TS, y need to remove old soil?? not like u gonna grow anything there...

I have not done artificial grass b4, but i've DIY with pebbles/rocks

basically u need to remove grass/weed, then just lay weed mat...

Then the drain cell, then the artifical grass

Of coz u need to level the ground first b4 laying the weed mat
Removing old soil is needed to make room for new sand and crushed gravel base so that the whole ground level is not elevated a lot.
Also, it will remove the unwanted weed seeds.

Drain cell is required for concrete floor only, optional for sand/soil base.
Otherwise, the cost will be high (around RM10 for 50cm x 50cm cell).

This post has been edited by Snoy: Nov 17 2020, 05:35 PM

0.0170sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:15 PM