PS5 Chat tread ver2, 11th December 2020 - MALAYSIA LAUNCH DAY

Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 11:56 AM

174 posts

Received a call from Sony Malaysia, I placed my Pre-order on 12.01, now they told me my pre-order have to be cancelled due to technical system glitch that overcommitted the order, WTF???

This is unfair to all the people who pre-order online! The online pre-order happened way before the pre-order of retail store!

This post has been edited by Anonymous26: Nov 13 2020, 11:57 AM
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:03 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wkn @ Nov 13 2020, 12:01 PM)
can you tell us if you po disc or digital version? some guys are saying only disc version is affected by this issue.
Disc Version, buying no other accessories, I received the confirmation email at around 12.08AM, but the payment in fact went through at 12:01:16am. Really wtf, they really should cancel certain pre-order from retail store, buying earliest kena cancel order, what kind of logic is this? ranting.gif
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:07 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Wijjog @ Nov 13 2020, 12:06 PM)
May I ask where are you located. KL or further away?

Seems like it doesnt matter at what time the order was placed
In Klang Valley area, Selangor bro, any idea which store still can do pre-order? Hilarious betul this Sony, somemore I asked them why not cancel the pre-order from retail store? they said they can't do that, smlj?
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:09 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(apowerfulskill @ Nov 13 2020, 12:08 PM)
Did you reject their claim and say that you want official communication from Sony via email in black and white before anything moves further?
I tried to reject, but they insist that if I reject their refund offer, I can only get the 2nd batch console no matter what, which is arriving earliest by January, if late Feb of 2021
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:16 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(apowerfulskill @ Nov 13 2020, 12:11 PM)
You plan on reaching out to Sony directly to complain and get more clarity on this?
Tried to call, but the hotline is unavailable due to Covid-19, really wtf......... worst day ever in my life...minor accident on road, kena boss marah when reach work place and now this.........
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:29 PM

174 posts

Communicating with Sony support via live chat now, will give an update here in a bit
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:37 PM

174 posts

No luck guys...... Sony Live Chat representative confirmed there are system glitches................... Better for me to give up, don feel like buying anymore, damn anti-consumer this Sony
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 12:57 PM

174 posts

Damn guys, Im still in conversation with Customer Representative, and there are some new findings based on the conversation, it seems Sony Store the Curve is the store responsible for cancelling all the online pre-order!
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 01:44 PM

174 posts

Latest Update:

These are the transcript of the conversation between me and Sony, and my conclusion is:
1.) Sony insists there are system glitches which causes over-commitment of pre-order
2.) They don't really care about the safety and well-being of customer by allocating more stocks to retail store in order to create the hype
3.) The online order will be cancelled to those who failed to make their payment within (1) minute.
4.) Their solution = Refund or wait second batch.
5.) Online customer in their eyes is paying Rupiah, doesn't worth anything to them. Sony= Anti-Online-Customer
6.) The number calling to inform about the cancellation of pre-order is indeed from Sony The Curve.

This post has been edited by Anonymous26: Nov 13 2020, 01:56 PM
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 01:53 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Nov 13 2020, 01:53 PM)
May I know which way you paid for the transaction? CC or M2U or Debit card?
Credit Card
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 01:59 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(tsunjeck @ Nov 13 2020, 01:56 PM)
Bro u need to calm down. The allocation of stocks were done way before the online pre order starts. This is the same for any new product launch, not just sony.

Lets say online store gets 100 units, the curve gets 200 units, klcc gets 200 units. The system glitch happened when the 101 unit was sold online and because they only have 100 units, they cannot fulfill the order for 101 so have to refund u. It has nothing to do with the curve 200 units allocated. In fact, the 200 units allocated to the curve can only be sold through the store. Even if only 199 people pre ordered from the curve, that one unit left wont be moved for the online store order. They are Treated as separate store in this case.
Nonetheless, since the order is over-committed, they have enough time to actually fix this before the opening preorder by retail store, they caused all this mess and they really should bear the responsibility in fulfilling the order.
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:04 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(HolyHuman2000 @ Nov 13 2020, 02:02 PM)
Bro, while i appreciate you following up and getting clarifications, you are over reacting to this situation man.

Sony has their protocol and allocations for each channel, but its also dependant on all channels working properly and staff following precise orders.
How can you control staff making mistakes and software glitch? Just becos some orders were cancelled suddenly they are anti-online consumer? suddenly they are anti-safety?

I also respect the guy layan you so much, he is being given a sh1tty job to explain a sh1tty situation.

Calm down fren.
Yeah bro, I do realize I need to calm down a little bit, you are right. Bad day for me today.
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:07 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 13 2020, 02:06 PM)
Still not receiving any call from Sony, so am I safe from cancellation? sweat.gif
At what time you managed to made your payment??

This post has been edited by Anonymous26: Nov 13 2020, 02:08 PM
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:25 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 13 2020, 02:19 PM)
Not gonna do that.

But I check the Sony site, my order is still there. Did the ppl that get cancellation call got their order detail removed from the site?
Most likely you are fine, and better don call them, after calling nanti terus kena cancelled sweat.gif
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:37 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Nov 13 2020, 02:35 PM)
I received a call. 03777258546. But I didn't answer. Let's see what's their next move.
Keep us updated, this is indeed the number notifying about the cancellation of order.
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:45 PM

174 posts

Based on current development, it truly seems like Sony is cancelling all the pre-order made online bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by Anonymous26: Nov 13 2020, 02:45 PM
Anonymous26
post Nov 13 2020, 02:51 PM

174 posts

Tbh, if I ever knew this kind of thing will happen, I will queue at retail store for pre-ordering instead of online
Anonymous26
post Nov 30 2020, 08:44 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 30 2020, 07:24 AM)
Sony online store u-turn on order cancellation.
U-Turn? Did they issued a refund to you in before that bro? Mind telling how they actually "u-turn"?
Anonymous26
post Nov 30 2020, 08:48 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 30 2020, 08:47 AM)
All the while no email to me, whether the initial cancellation or the plot twist u-turn. All the changes I found out with them through phone call and online chat. But I read here some ppl received black and white email from Sony, I never did.
Well, so in short, you received a phone call from sony about the cancellation, but no email from Sony with black and white izzit?
Anonymous26
post Nov 30 2020, 12:15 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Nov 30 2020, 08:52 AM)
Initial cancellation- missed call from Sony, I called back they told me PO cancelled. I also online chat to double confirm the cancellation, they told me cannot defer to 2nd batch, must cancel and refund.

Subsequent plot twist- I waited almost a week for refund since my cc statement already came, I online chat with Sony to follow up on the refund, then plot twist no more refund as they can fulfill my pre-order.

Finger crossed hopefully no more plot twist  sweat.gif
Ahh icic, thanks for sharing bro, good for you! For me I never had such luck, my refund was credited into my statement within 5 days, good luck bro!

0.0873sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:00 PM