14,227 posts

Reserved...
TSwestlife
post Nov 11 2020, 02:57 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(stargazhe @ Nov 11 2020, 02:52 AM)
It’s Mac Mini, not MacBook Mini 😜
Yeah. Thanks for pointing it out. Haha.
TSwestlife
post Nov 14 2020, 08:48 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ Nov 14 2020, 11:52 AM)
Which monitor do you plan to buy for the new M1 Mac Mini?
seriously mini is not really worth it if u need to buy external monitor to use it.

unless u are using it as a media centre that connects to tv. else might as well buy macbook. price is very close.
TSwestlife
post Nov 14 2020, 11:35 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ Nov 14 2020, 09:48 PM)
yes since the kids conquer the tv, I plan it for Netflix as well other than browsing the internet.

Edit:

Why Mac Mini is less popular in Malaysia?
becos of price obviously, many would rather go for cheapo PC option.
TSwestlife
post Nov 15 2020, 11:44 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(gabay @ Nov 15 2020, 07:47 PM)
Mac mini good for heavy task?
given the powerful new processor, certainly yes....
TSwestlife
post Nov 21 2020, 09:51 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Nov 21 2020, 02:59 PM)
not really....people dun buy Mac mini and they need to additional purchase for monitor screen and keyboard + mouse

if you want to get a good monitor (4K & Above) with color calibration to use with this Mac mini....the total price can let you to purchase iMac already....
yup exactly. even can buy a macbook air already and it comes with nice retina display. if one is buying mac mini, even u can buy a monitor, the quality also cannot fight with apple's retina display.
TSwestlife
post Nov 28 2020, 11:21 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(dogsick @ Nov 28 2020, 01:31 PM)
Good choice. The MacBook Air M1 looks like the best value (performance over price) that money can buy today and it will serve you very well in the years to come smile.gif

I’m holding on to my 2018 MacBook Pro for a while longer and upgrade maybe later next year when they introduce the newer Apple Silicon chip with a new hardware design. So, my interest in the Mac Mini M1 is for heavy photo editing workflow. Raw photo files demand a lot of processing power and my MacBook Pro and Windows PC (i7, 16GB) can barely keep up.
Tried the new MacBooks with M1. Can seriously feel the difference even for simple task like launching safari.
TSwestlife
post Apr 21 2021, 09:16 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Apr 21 2021, 09:01 AM)

wow.....now mac mini M1 can configure with 10Gb ethernet

nice..... but iMac is still more worth it to buy than mini. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by westlife: Apr 21 2021, 09:16 AM
TSwestlife
post Apr 21 2021, 09:30 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 21 2021, 09:27 AM)

The iMac M1 with 8core CPU and 8 Core GPU with 16GB of RAM + Magic Keyboard with Touch ID costs RM6819 student price.

Mac Mini M1 with 8 Core CPU and 8 Core GPU with 16GB or RAM costs RM3599 + Magic Keyboard with Touch ID say estimate RM500 also around RM4100.
That leaves us RM2719 to buy a pretty decent monitor which can plug in multiple sources instead of tied to iMac only.

It depends on your needs. I think Mini is more flexible but 4.5K XDR display is very very nice biggrin.gif
The display is awesome. Rm2719 may not be able to buy a monitor at the same grade.
TSwestlife
post Apr 21 2021, 10:43 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 21 2021, 09:56 AM)
Yes correct, but you lose some flexibility. Depends on each own needs. Some people might wan to go for better or better display but with iMac they are tied to 24".
really depends on the use case. but the new colours are damn nice...
but dun forget the facetime camera, mic and speakers are all studio standard, which mac mini does not even have built-in mic and the speakers seriously... tongue.gif

agreed that mac mini is a good option for one who just wants to step into apple ecosystem or already have existing keyboard, mouse and display.

i just bought an 2018 Intel mac mini to replace my macbook pro 2017 for daily usage also. becos i have been using my macbook pro 2017 like a desktop which it is on 24x7 and the battery kepts on bloated even after replacement becos it is plugged in to AC power all the time.
TSwestlife
post Apr 21 2021, 11:28 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 21 2021, 11:25 AM)
Yaya i also replaced my Windows Laptop with Mini M1 for light editing and daily use. biggrin.gif
Initially wanted to wait for M1X chips on iMac. But now was glad I didn't wait. hehe
yeah. wanted to buy M1 mac mini for daily usage but too bad i still rely on windows quite a bit. so i ended bought a similar price refurbished i3 mac mini 2018. haha. for daily usage. no choice. dun want to spend so much on a brand new intel mac mini also. no point, intel chip is as good as trash. except that it can run bootcamp windows natively. tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Apr 21 2021, 11:39 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Apr 21 2021, 11:33 AM)
Ya I also cannot live without windows. Currently still using my old laptop. Parallels with Windows 10 Arm version is working quite well already with the latest update.
Now hopefully major windows apps can support ARM ASAP.
yes, once there are more arm-based windows app around, i will move to M1 Macs. haha.
TSwestlife
post May 3 2021, 04:27 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 3 2021, 04:20 PM)
parallel now support M1 so u can setup Windows VM
Totally different experience.
TSwestlife
post May 3 2021, 04:29 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 3 2021, 04:20 PM)
parallel now support M1 so u can setup Windows VM
Not the same. It is an arm-based Technical previews and not the full license version. And it can only run arm-based windows applications which are very limited now too.
It cannot run x386 applications.
TSwestlife
post May 3 2021, 09:10 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ May 3 2021, 07:58 PM)
Storage can upgrade or add on any additional NVMe? Thinking of getting one.
cannot and dun bother, just buy the right storage size at start.
TSwestlife
post May 16 2021, 08:49 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ May 16 2021, 04:04 AM)
Im using usb c - dp for 1080p Monitor. The same cable cannot use on 4K monitor.
4K is connected Using HDMI to HDMI.
will hdmi to dp converter works for this case?
TSwestlife
post May 16 2021, 08:49 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ May 16 2021, 04:04 AM)
Im using usb c - dp for 1080p Monitor. The same cable cannot use on 4K monitor.
4K is connected Using HDMI to HDMI.
will hdmi to dp converter works for this case?
TSwestlife
post May 23 2021, 11:57 AM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ May 23 2021, 11:43 AM)
1400 for the Mac only? that's pretty much overkill IMO..
I use a APC backup pro 900 for my 24 core Xeon server (200+W), home network/APs also can last like 30 minutes for proper shutdown laugh.gif
given that normally in bolehland if there is power disruption it will last longer than that. if you are not at home, how do you do a proper shutdown?
TSwestlife
post May 23 2021, 10:49 PM

14,227 posts

QUOTE(maxwell91 @ May 23 2021, 06:51 PM)
hi, can suggest me a good Full Hd monitor for this mac mini? prefer 24-27inch, budget around 800-1k.
Dell u2419h.

0.0383sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:47 PM