[2020] Mac Mini with M1 Discussion Thread

TSwestlife
post May 3 2021, 09:10 PM

14,238 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ May 3 2021, 07:58 PM)
Storage can upgrade or add on any additional NVMe? Thinking of getting one.
cannot and dun bother, just buy the right storage size at start.
soonwai
post May 3 2021, 09:15 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ May 3 2021, 08:58 PM)
Thanks, I use Samsung 980 Pro series nvme
No problem lah. Even my Adata running at slower speed, I don't feel much difference. All my Steam games and Parallels VMs resides on the external TBT3 SSD. Downside is that the enclosure a bit more costly than typical USB3 ones.
soonwai
post May 7 2021, 02:22 AM

11,455 posts

qBittorrent M1 available here.
https://github.com/qbittorrent/qBittorrent/...mment-831176881

Also if you need a M1 native Dropbox client. https://www.maestral.app

This post has been edited by soonwai: May 7 2021, 02:25 AM
ericlaiys
post May 7 2021, 01:40 PM

7,544 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 7 2021, 02:22 AM)
qBittorrent M1 available here.
https://github.com/qbittorrent/qBittorrent/...mment-831176881

Also if you need a M1 native Dropbox client. https://www.maestral.app
both app cannot run on rosetta?
ericlaiys
post May 9 2021, 05:39 PM

7,544 posts

m1 mac mini reported in. box came with 11.2.2. upgraded to 11.3.1. so far no issue on Bluetooth
soonwai
post May 9 2021, 07:39 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 7 2021, 01:40 PM)
both app cannot run on rosetta?
Can, both can.
entiti77
post May 15 2021, 04:22 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Feb 24 2021, 06:04 PM)
Hi All, i just gotten M1 Mini last month. Paired it with Dell S2721QS. Bought an el cheapo USB-C to DP cable which stated to work at 4K@60Hz but the display signal keep turning on and off every other second.

May I know which cable is recommended or is it better to buy a USB-C to DP dongle and pair it with DP-DP cable?
I have the same problem with Dell monitor when using UsbC - DP cable. Have you found the solution?
jackdon
post May 15 2021, 11:36 AM

719 posts

I finally go ahead and order a Mac Mini M1 basic model 8/256. Will be testing out Parallels with Windows 10 for Arms first because I have to run Sage UBS accounting on this once in a while. Hopefully, it will run. Other than this it is just normal office stuff like Office stuff, email, browsing and some download here and there. For now, will hook it up to my existing 23" FHD monitor later maybe upgrade to a slightly larger 4K monitor.

Anyone tried Parallels with Windows 10 for Arms. Would be great if I could get some review.

giggs_509
post May 15 2021, 12:15 PM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ May 15 2021, 11:36 AM)

I finally go ahead and order a Mac Mini M1 basic model 8/256. Will be testing out Parallels with Windows 10 for Arms first because I have to run Sage UBS accounting on this once in a while. Hopefully, it will run. Other than this it is just normal office stuff like Office stuff, email, browsing and some download here and there. For now, will hook it up to my existing 23" FHD monitor later maybe upgrade to a slightly larger 4K monitor.

Anyone tried Parallels with Windows 10 for Arms. Would be great if I could get some review.
I’m using currently, and disappointed it doesnt support my office sharp printer/photostat machine.
carpathia
post May 15 2021, 01:01 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(entiti77 @ May 15 2021, 04:22 AM)
I have the same problem with Dell monitor when using UsbC - DP cable. Have you found the solution?
i paid for a more expensive usb c - DP cable also but my issue is no signal during bootup. need to unplug and plug a few times. other than that, no problem with suddenly loss of signal.
soonwai
post May 15 2021, 01:54 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ May 15 2021, 11:36 AM)

I’m using it but mostly just to play a few Windows only Steam games.

Initially I also used it for the software for configuring my routers but I use WINE for that now.

This post has been edited by soonwai: May 15 2021, 01:57 PM
entiti77
post May 15 2021, 03:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ May 15 2021, 01:01 PM)
i paid for a more expensive usb c - DP cable also but my issue is no signal during bootup. need to unplug and plug a few times. other than that, no problem with suddenly loss of signal.
You are right, i have the same issue. My scenario is even worse, the screen doesnt come out at all even if I plug/unplug the Usb C port.

I have no idea what to do, only HDMI-HDMI cable works for me but I have to use min two monitors. Meanwhile my Mac Mini Intel version doesnt have any problem at all using same USB C - DP cables and same monitors.

toytoy
post May 15 2021, 08:07 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(entiti77 @ May 15 2021, 03:18 PM)
You are right, i have the same issue. My scenario is even worse, the screen doesnt come out at all even if I plug/unplug the Usb C port.

I have no idea what to do, only HDMI-HDMI cable works for me but I have to use min two monitors. Meanwhile my Mac Mini Intel version doesnt have any problem at all using same USB C - DP cables and same monitors.
From the other forums it seems like cable problem.
I reported the problem to seller and he refunded.
So now I m using HDMI to the DELL as my primary display and DP cable to another 1080p monitor as secondary display.

I believe the solution is to buy a proper cable.
carpathia
post May 15 2021, 08:27 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(entiti77 @ May 15 2021, 03:18 PM)

Ok, I thought it was only me with the problem of no display during boot up using USB C to DP cable. My cable is UGREEN ... Pretty expensive rm80 and can give me highest resolution and refresh rate.

QUOTE(toytoy @ May 15 2021, 08:07 PM)
So now I m using HDMI to the DELL as my primary display and DP cable to another 1080p monitor as secondary display.

What is a proper cable boss
entiti77
post May 15 2021, 09:11 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ May 15 2021, 08:07 PM)

Would you please clarify if you are using USB C - DP and USB C - HDMI or USB C - DP and HDMI - HDMI?

To the best of my knowledge Mac Mini M1 has issue to use both USB C as monitors' output, unless we use docking station which can connect up to 6 monitors if i am not mistaken.

Currently i am using USB C - DP and HDMI - HDMI and they are working fine but I may need third monitor.
carpathia
post May 15 2021, 09:14 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(entiti77 @ May 15 2021, 09:11 PM)
Would you please clarify if you are using USB C - DP and USB C - HDMI or USB C - DP and HDMI - HDMI?

To the best of my knowledge Mac Mini M1 has issue to use both USB C as monitors' output, unless we use docking station which can connect up to 6 monitors if i am not mistaken.

Currently i am using USB C - DP and HDMI - HDMI and they are working fine but I may need third monitor.
Hdmi to hdmi is ok but USB C to DP is where most of us are facing problems. Initially I thought it was my cable but after buying a more expensive version, still same old shit.
bem69
post May 15 2021, 09:21 PM

K-Bem
2,657 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ May 15 2021, 09:14 PM)
Hdmi to hdmi is ok but USB C to DP is where most of us are facing problems. Initially I thought it was my cable but after buying a more expensive version, still same old shit.
What’s the workaround to get it working when booting up?
carpathia
post May 15 2021, 10:25 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(bem69 @ May 15 2021, 09:21 PM)
What’s the workaround to get it working when booting up?
Unplug and plug back in a few times.... Damn frustrating
toytoy
post May 16 2021, 04:04 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(entiti77 @ May 15 2021, 09:11 PM)

Im using usb c - dp for 1080p Monitor. The same cable cannot use on 4K monitor.
4K is connected Using HDMI to HDMI.

TSwestlife
post May 16 2021, 08:49 AM

14,238 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ May 16 2021, 04:04 AM)
Im using usb c - dp for 1080p Monitor. The same cable cannot use on 4K monitor.
4K is connected Using HDMI to HDMI.
will hdmi to dp converter works for this case?

29 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:34 AM