[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

tzxsean
post Mar 30 2022, 11:50 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

Will there be a new MBA coming soon?

not sure if it's worth going for M2 chip and ditch my 13" MBP (2019, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM)

I plan to recoup some money for my MBP when I sell it off in future

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Mar 30 2022, 12:04 PM
tzxsean
post Mar 30 2022, 12:17 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 30 2022, 12:10 PM)
heard leak it will . but no M2 in it.
I got MBP 2017 (256GB, 8GB RAM). Can we do trade in at machines and get cash rather than buy from shop. It seem online is more cheaper based on lazada BD sale. From 4.4k dropped till 3.9k before discount.
the thing is .. if you trade in to those shops, you likely will be getting "horrible" prices

I rather sell on Mudah / Carousell for better price

but I don't know when is the timing to sell because intel based MBP is going to be obsolete soon ...

I should really sell ASAP because I see on Carousell ppl are selling below RM4K

man ... I paid RM6,299 for that machine and the next years all MBA/MBP with better specs were sold cheaper mad.gif bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Mar 30 2022, 12:18 PM
tzxsean
post Jun 29 2022, 11:28 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

no discount to M1 MBA eh? I'm planning to sell off my 2019 13" MBP to get M1 machine
tzxsean
post Jun 30 2022, 12:36 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jun 30 2022, 12:17 AM)
no. global chip shortage. so don't expect price to go down.
okay too bad ... not sure at what price ppl willing to grab 2nd hand 2019 13" Intel MBP confused.gif
tzxsean
post Jun 30 2022, 09:35 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 30 2022, 08:56 AM)
Is it true that 8gb of ram on macbook isn't enough for casual work?
8gb is enough based on my experience
tzxsean
post Jul 5 2022, 10:08 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

why like whole malaysia now base MBA M1 (Space Grey and Silver) is out of stock? left gold fugly color
tzxsean
post Jul 5 2022, 10:10 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 3 2022, 09:01 PM)
my experience to share for anyone looking to do trade in.
my model:- macbook pro 2017 (i5, dual core, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM)
plan to get : m1 macbook air

1.Switch - Quayside Mall , Rimbayu
- did not offer trade in for macbook
So advise to go popular shopping mall

2. Try Machines @ Sunway Pyramid
Yes - trade in available. Accoding to them, they offer trade in for 2015 or latest model
Initial price before checking faulty is RM1.1k

3. Try Switch @ Sunway Pyramid
Yes - trade in available.
Final Price - RM880

All shop only got M1 Macbook Air - 256GB Gold color. According to them, price dropped for trade in is lower is due to M2 released last month. Before M2, my unit trade in is RM1.5k

My unit is working fine.

They will minus for every small scratch on surface (back/front/ etc)
Display panel rubber on side
top where keyboard panel, they check side (got little dark due to dust/ try to clean). Give me an excuse side cannot clean which i hardly cannot see it.

Lastly i decided to abort the trade in as not worth it.
The 2017 Macbook pro is still working fine, battery life (replaced a new one 1 1/2 year ago is still great and not faulty)

Switch & Machines got no promotion - RM4399.
Will continue to use till it die and buy new one online with possible cheaper on 11/11 or 12/12 sale.

With this unit still can support MacOS Ventura this year, no hurry to change it.

May be M3 next year will be my target.

That's all my experience & hope this benefit to those want to do trade in
put on carousell, mudah and FB market place ... you can fetch higher price smile.gif

tzxsean
post Jul 7 2022, 03:51 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

fed up with the stock in Malaysia .. I just order MBA M1 from apple store instead (and used my sis's email for education price) tongue.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 7 2022, 08:07 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 7 2022, 05:57 PM)
now shoppee /lazada seller sell 4.2
Only gold colour for base specs no?

I dun wan this colour lol
tzxsean
post Jul 7 2022, 10:30 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 7 2022, 09:33 PM)
now majority shop only got gold color.
tbh i feel this to be fishy/odd

too many coincidences
tzxsean
post Jul 8 2022, 12:01 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 7 2022, 10:58 PM)
curious im powering my m1 with lg usb c, does it mean in longer terms my battery will be depleted quicker as i use it as charger as well?
u can download AlDente to stop the charging at 50-60% if ur laptop is plugged in almost all the time ..
tzxsean
post Jul 8 2022, 09:11 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 8 2022, 07:28 AM)
oh thank you so much for this, guess the 3 months of the ownership had cause my battery wear rather quicker then, i recalled there's an app to trace the battery health, not sure if you know, as i've forgotten it. but lately mac os also have the capability to hold the battery from charging, but this only happen if i not mistaken on my 2nd month of ownership.
coconutbattery

Mac’s own battery optimisation stops at 80% battery, cant go lower

AlDente can go any % you want. I’m only using the free version

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jul 8 2022, 09:13 AM
tzxsean
post Jul 8 2022, 10:34 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 8 2022, 10:18 PM)
thank you, they said chrome is the culprit of m1 mba 8gb is sluggish so i've moved on to other browser like brave, yet i still face sluggishness, even though its not as bad as chrome but yet its still sluggish, does it mean i have to transfer all my google ads, facebook ads, google sheets, google data studio, sharepoint, and office 365 to only use safari in order to avoid sluggishness? but i would need chrome extensions to do debug of website tags and codes which chrome extensions available for now.
Chrome is known to consume alot of resources, especially if you open lots of tabs

Have you tried Firefox though?

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jul 8 2022, 10:35 PM
tzxsean
post Jul 16 2022, 09:40 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 16 2022, 09:21 AM)
hope no issue of m2 MBA's screen crack "randomly"??
tzxsean
post Jul 18 2022, 01:19 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 17 2022, 08:23 PM)
anybody ordered m1 from apple store recently? how's the delivery time?
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 17 2022, 08:34 PM)
8 aug -15 Aug
QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 18 2022, 11:46 AM)
When did you order yours?

Mine 28/7 - 4/8
Ordered on 9/7
3 weeks for base MBA M1

ordered 6 July

ETA 26 July - 2 August (status is still "Processing" now) sad.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 20 2022, 05:52 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(BrightDays @ Jul 20 2022, 05:12 PM)
Any chance Macbook Air M1's price will drop in the future since M2 coming out alrdy....heheh.
depends on how long is the "future" u mentioned ...

few months? unlikely unless got special discount from platform sales

few years? probably when M3 comes out (clearance stock maybe)
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2022, 12:23 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 18 2022, 01:22 PM)
damn looks like i might not get it before end of the month. ordered 8 july. eta 28/7 - 4/8. still processing.
QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 19 2022, 12:01 AM)
Yup, mine is base as well. Gold.

I only want base model, cause I don't want to spend more. So MBA M2 is a no go with the ssdgate. I open thirty over tabs in Safari and WhatsApp, Outlook, Teams etc.
QUOTE(notimetodie @ Jul 19 2022, 11:43 AM)
I odered 11th July.. Eta 2nd to 9th August.. So slow
mine just changed to "Preparing to ship"
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2022, 01:27 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 21 2022, 01:24 AM)
what's the eta?
no change ..
still 26/7 - 2/8
tzxsean
post Jul 21 2022, 01:56 PM