[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

kevinpss
post Oct 11 2021, 08:49 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Oct 11 2021, 06:41 PM)
Guys anyone know what's the punishment for buying using the education discount and if apple call up to check and they find out you don't qualify for it??
it is written in the T&C....if you are not qualify, they will ask you to top-up....that's it

but very hard to not qualify la....all grade of teacher including home-school & tuition teacher can use....father mother buy for their children also can....I buy for my sister also

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Oct 11 2021, 08:50 PM
kevinpss
post Oct 11 2021, 10:51 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Oct 11 2021, 10:45 PM)
Retired teacher can?
why not you just order it and let Apple to judge whether you qualify or not? Or else, you still can order using normal price (without edu price).

P/S: FYI, MBA edu price have the most discount for educations, compare to iMac 24. The NAND price has increase a lot and I think Apple will sell their computer with lesser & lesser edu discount.
kevinpss
post Oct 17 2021, 08:31 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 13 2021, 11:01 AM)
the new M1X/M2 (or whatever the new name) is only for MBP, not MBA...i think the new MBA will come end of 2022 or so as what rumors said smile.gif
exactly, unless the chip size can do <5nm, otherwise, they will just stack their transistor to get more power = higher cost. So no point to wait for M2, M3....if need a laptop, just get M1 MacBook will do.

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Oct 17 2021, 08:33 PM
kevinpss
post Oct 17 2021, 09:54 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 17 2021, 08:40 PM)
If we are following the rumoured redesigned mba, it will only come 2022 fall which is another year or so, not anytime soon so I would grab the current one biggrin.gif
I think so.....I'm already using the M1MBA, so far so good, better than expected.
kevinpss
post Oct 20 2021, 01:31 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Oct 19 2021, 07:17 PM)
Same here. Windows user only. I want to learn the OS as well. Being a photographer I wanna test and see what this laptop is capable of. I survived college without a laptop so this will be my very first laptop. Currently only have a desktop pc.
Welcome to Mac World. You can definitely make use of the Photo applications for your photography, without the need to subscribe Lightroom CC.
kevinpss
post Oct 20 2021, 03:36 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Oct 20 2021, 02:36 PM)
My edits mostly on Lr. I can live without Ps but Lr is my rice bowl hahaha. Ps will use on desktop coz bigger screen.
I’m using Apple Photo now to replace the Lightroom.

kevinpss
post Oct 21 2021, 10:45 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Oct 21 2021, 12:32 AM)
I just watched it. Apple Photos cannot replace Lr because it is not aimed at the professional market. Its more for basic editing. Even the Photos app on windows is similar. I use Lightroom for professional editing and Apple Photos is not the right replacement for it. Its like comparing a single prop aircraft vs a fighter jet. Both of them fly, but for different purposes.
ah.....I prefer to use Affinity Photo + iCloud
kevinpss
post Jan 12 2022, 08:21 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 10 2022, 11:28 PM)
Any long term Space Grey users noticing any discoloration especially palmrest area ?
no. all good. I'm not using any case or protector btw.
kevinpss
post Jan 13 2022, 12:21 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 12 2022, 11:56 PM)
How long have u used it ? do you always clean your mac ?
since Apr 2021, no cleaning..cleaning/wipe once in a blue moon...do not over-worry, you can't get the same spec like MacBook Air in the market edy (at the same price)
kevinpss
post Jan 13 2022, 11:11 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 13 2022, 09:20 PM)
Seeking some advice from tech sifu here. I can't wait for the macbook air m2 launch. Since I really need a laptop now, I have to settle for the macbook air m1. But hati really sakit to he paying such a high price for a 1 year old over tech when in 6 month time for the same price can get a brand new tech the air m2.
Any advice you can share?
buy it when you need it. If you think think m1 will get old faster, then get 14" MacBook Pro lo....M1 Pro chip....correct?
kevinpss
post Mar 9 2022, 10:05 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 7 2022, 08:45 PM)
Sifus -

I plan to buy MacBook air m1 to replace my daily driver. I only used Windows laptop before. Usage is for browsing, doing research, picture editing, YouTube, streaming, video call etc, nothing major or require much power.

I read and watch reviews and seems this is a great buy. But I have some concerns:

1. Alot of windows app still not compatible with M1. Is this true? Will it affect what I'm trying to do?

- some software only build for Windows
- The software that can run in Mac (INTEL) will able to run in Mac (M1) too
- Website to check, I recommend this: https://isapplesiliconready.com
- Not sure what software you want to use

2. Should I buy 512 or 256 + external SSD?

- don't worry about the internal storage, unless you're using the device for videography editing
- choose 256GB will do, save the money and use it to subscribe iCloud....it can expand your devices storage, including iPhone iPad and MacBook etc.

3. Read that it is very expensive if want to repair the SSD. Can cost thousands. Is this true?

4. Do you recommend me to buy extended warranty? Feel like it's a waste of money because my iPad Air 2 has not have any problem for the past 6-7 years.

5. Anything else I should consider (especially cons) before buying?

- The MacOS logic....not everyone can accept the change yea
- If you are gamers, pls stick to windows

Thank you.
Answer at above blue

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Mar 9 2022, 10:06 AM
kevinpss
post Mar 9 2022, 10:09 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 8 2022, 06:14 AM)
#1 is there a site to check which app is compatible??

#3 so if I get everyone points correctly, if the SSD kaput, then the only way to fix it is by buying new MacBook Air? Right?

#4 oh you can buy the extended warranty much later. This is good info.

#5 yes I am aware they will announce M2. But I assume it will be more expensive since it's a new launch?
#3 if you are students and buy the M1 MacBook Air, I think there is no point for you to fix the SSD after 5,6,7 years later. By the time, you should be able to buy more expensive Macs.

The things is, there is still no SSD issue.....in M1 Macs.....and....do you heard any SSD broken in your iPhone/iPad after so many years? The work exactly the same.

#5 the best time to buy Apple product is when the time you need it.

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Mar 9 2022, 10:10 AM
kevinpss
post Mar 14 2022, 04:54 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Mar 14 2022, 11:29 AM)
Is there anything I should take note of if I want to reset my MBA and start with a fresh install?
remember to back-up
kevinpss
post Jun 26 2024, 06:15 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jun 10 2024, 03:36 PM)
Found a source in Lowyat Plaza KL. Good news is possible to replace the soldered SSD for the M1. Bad new is the price will cost you about RM1.4k. moneyflies.gif
RM1.4k is wayyyyyy too expensive to repair. better get a new macbook.
kevinpss
post Jun 26 2024, 06:17 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(mr-2 @ Jun 6 2024, 08:29 AM)
I was reading some stuff on the SSD for Macbook and seem there is a life span of only 5 years or SSD worn from swapping/copying huge data (250GB - 150TDW / 500GB - 300TDW). Whichever come first. As my understanding, once the SSD fails, the MacBook is bricked since no external bootable device able to boot it up with apple security lock down.

Which got me concern, since the SSD chip is soldered on the mainboard and is proprietary. This also will make me think twice to backup my iPhone to this MacBook. Is there any third party can fix and replace the M1 ssd? If yes, any idea how much it cost?
no issue so far for me. i think the "lifespan" concern is just over-worries.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0669sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:32 AM