Solar Panel for House, Have you install?

Jingle91
post May 2 2023, 01:23 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Mar 28 2023, 04:46 AM)
So far in my fb the most popup brand advertisement is alpha solar, verdant and itramas solarsave

Then there is tnb own gsparx. Not sure how to compare, call all providers ask them to come site visit and give quotation?

Some more need to change to 3 phase first, saw some kena 3k, some kena 5k+.. so much difference..
I have paid deposit to ERS for their small home package during homedec last week, for 5kwp will be RM20.5k. But after that I was told by friend that actually alpha also provide similar package but only cost RM16k. And Verdant pricing is even higher than ERS

So just wondering, why pricing can have big difference up to almost RM5k for same package. Is it because of different materials or device provide by each player?

But to be honest, the sales consultant in Verdant really experience and well train. Just that they don't absorb the charges when pay by card with instalments.
Jingle91
post May 7 2023, 01:30 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(phsilon @ May 6 2023, 11:44 PM)
I paid deposit to XNERGY for 5.5kW package during HomeDec. it is very expensive about 24K.  I am not sure what is different with others company. Alpha offer is much cheaper then that - 21K for 6.6kW! How much is ERS quote you?
My package is 16888 for 4kwp only, just done the site visit last week, now wait for them to confirm whether my roof got enought space to fit panel for 5kwp, the sales team now quote me 20500 including all installation cost. Pros of ERS is they absorb 3% merchant charges for credit card installment.

This year the Homedec is too big with too many redundant stalls, I only manage to check with ERS and Verdant, lol, can't find alpha that day.

Because my house is under strata title, so the cable from panel to DB must be concealed if it pass through exterior wall, now I am waiting ERS to provide me revise plan as they proposed to just fix the cable in pipe on wall surface. Not sure if they can conceal for me and repaint.

Jingle91
post May 7 2023, 01:34 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(AgogoLatoto @ May 7 2023, 12:10 AM)
Use that money to invest in energy saving appliances

I.e. Inverter aircon/fridge with eco mode
Already change to inverter air con, but imagine 4 air con open for 8 hours per day, each mth the bill will still be more than 200 (my air con from 1.5-2.5 horse power), plus other electrical, it is common for monthly bill of RM300-500 per mth for landed house.

Just wondering, nowadays can still find non inverter fridge in mkt? lol
Jingle91
post May 7 2023, 02:51 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 7 2023, 02:43 PM)
its like what is the difference between Proton and Honda.....

the quality of the solar panel, and inverter.

most people familiar with quality of car. not many familiar with solar panel and inverter.  cool2.gif
It would be great if it is so simple, haha, so far the three players I have checked, all give tier 1 board, all can produce minimum 500watt per panel with life expectancy more than 20 years. Alpha their board is even slightly better in terms of productivity despite their price is lowest.

Maybe the only difference is their inverter, tbh I also not really familiar with these.
Jingle91
post May 7 2023, 02:55 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 7 2023, 02:45 PM)
RM4k per kw ok lah.  but you didn't give the spec.

its like myvi cost how much. later you find no spare tyre, no tool box etc.  spec is important....
Mind to shape on how to check the spec for solar system?
Jingle91
post May 7 2023, 04:15 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 7 2023, 04:01 PM)
lol....1.5 cc engine of Proton = 1.5 cc engine of Honda ?  console.gif

1) make sure its Grade 1 solar panel. within grade 1, there are also different tiers. Biggest today is Longi. Previously Trina. i think these are ok. QCell is in cyberjaya. also ok.

2) inverter. best is SMA (germany) but usually they provide PRC.

i lazy to type more.

share your quotation then maybe can comment more.  cool2.gif
For ERS can choose from below option
panel,
1. Jinko
2. JA solar
3. Canadian solar

Inverter
1. APS
2. GoodWe
3. Sungrow
4. SMA

For Verdant
Panel
1. JA Solar
2. Trina solar

Inverter
1. Solis 3p10k

Jingle91
post May 8 2023, 12:39 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ May 7 2023, 05:31 PM)
Jinko > JA > Canadian Solar

SMA #1, goodwe reasonable. make sure got > 10 year warranty

price also different  rclxms.gif
Thanks mate, you are right, SMA cost 20% more, and I ask ERS to give me jinko board plus Goodwe.
They agreed this morning.
Jingle91
post May 8 2023, 12:52 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 7 2023, 07:25 PM)
so the "currency" is kW.

trying to understand. so for a month period.
(1) if usage > generated, i will have to pay for the excess "withdrawal". correct?
(2) if generated > usage, i don't have to pay. the excess "deposit" won't become monetary, but carry forward to contra in the future months. correct?
Just to further highlight, the carry forward portion can only last for 12 mths, if you never utilise it within this period, it will be forfeited. So best is to use your 3 mths bills to come out with average amt, then ask them to advise on ideal number of panel, so you won't underutilise the capacity by paying extra.

Jingle91
post May 8 2023, 01:27 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 8 2023, 01:02 PM)
just to be clear; do you mean forfeit in a rolling 12mth fashion?
i.e january's credit will forfeit next january, june's credit forfeits next june?

or is it hard 12mth like end-of-contract from a starting date?

or is it whatever credit outstanding at the 13mth will forfeit and all credit restarts collecting again from scratch for the next 12mth?
Based on the example I got, if your panel continously generate extra 100kwh each mth, mean you install more than what you can use, the first mth balance will be forfeited on 13 mth, then on 14th, your balance recorded in 2th mth will be forfeited.

But NEM only last for 10 years, so the sales person only said it have to wait until that time only can know what will be new arrangement, maybe the knock off will start from cheapest tariff instead of highest tariffs under NEM 3.0. So best is to follow their adviser advice on number of board within your usage.

Maybe other experience user can enlighten on this.

Jingle91
post May 8 2023, 01:43 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ May 8 2023, 12:55 PM)
Just wondering, if I buy a house that claims to be "ready for solar system installation" (e.g. Serenia Anisa), will the cost to install become cheaper? How much cheaper?
Is there something I need to check for when signing S&P to ensure they are not conning me?
If your house is strata title, the installation cost will be higher, because management office don't allow to install anything on exterior wall surface. Like mine, the DB is at downstairs storeroom, so the cable have to be pulled from roof top to the rear exterior wall and then all the way go into the kitchen ceiling, and continue pull to my DB. So from rooftop to kitchen's exterior wall, I have to ask my own contractor to hack and conceal the cable and repaint the wall surface, it will cost me about 1k, the solar company can do that but usually will cost more. Minor hacking inside the house, solar installer can cover, but I need to do plaster ceiling to cover it, but anyway I will still do plaster ceiling for whole house so this is not counted.
So if there is no restriction on your exterior wall, you don't need to pay anything. They will put cable in pvc pipe stick on your wall surface.

If your house got sub DB on topper floor, then it will be easier, they can just pull the cable under roof tile go into your house connect to sub DB on upper floor, of course you need to pay if you wan conceal the cable inside your house.

Another thing is the 10mm cable from DB to car porch for EV charger. I haven't received quotation for this.

So it would be great if Sime Darby can conceal all cable inside wall for you with ready points, the solar installer can just come to install, save alot of effort, maybe can save 1 to 1.5k for conceal cost. Just not sure if the solar company can give further discount for hacking and cable cost, since it is included in package

This post has been edited by Jingle91: May 8 2023, 01:52 PM
Jingle91
post Jan 4 2024, 10:51 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jan 4 2024, 10:42 AM)
U can try do this.

Check your inverter app for the total generation for December.

Let’s say 1200kwh

Then u compare with your export figure from Tnb bill for December.

It will be less than 1200kwh. For my case, it will be around 900-1000kwh

Where did the 200-300kwh go?

This means we have used the 200-300 units.

Analogy.
Ur farm produce 100 apples. U eat 30. So u can only sell 70.
Your solar is under which NEM? If NEM 3.0 then definitely your understanding is totally wrong, the extra 200-300kwh is accumulated in your NEM BAKI ACCOUNT balance until 31 Dec of the year, if you don't consume it within the period, TNB will write off the extra balance in next year January bill.

Mine is TNB 3.0 like the other guy explained to you

Checked your TNB bill, think your December 2023 Bill now appear with "NIL" amount of NEM BAKI, maybe you check your November 2023 TNB bill then you will understand

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Jan 4 2024, 10:54 AM
Jingle91
post Jan 4 2024, 02:24 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jan 4 2024, 10:59 AM)
You try this

December production from inverter app: ________
December export figure from Tnb bill : __________

Surely the difference will not be the same as ur nem Baki.
Sorry, I misunderstood your earlier post, thought you meant the difference of units went missing.

Yes my generated units in solar app has been higher than the export unit recorded on the bill.

My apology for didn't read the post properly.

0.0325sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:00 AM