Where do you buy PC components online?

TSxKeneshirox
post Nov 8 2020, 08:08 PM, updated 5y ago

338 posts

Just wondering.
New CPUs and GPUs coming out huat huat, everyone trying to build new PC/upgrade
where do you guys usually see who's selling what and at what price?
I know LYN site got like 2-3 price lists, but is there anywhere else that lists more PC component sellers?
Closest I can think of is Lazada/Shopee
TSxKeneshirox
post Nov 9 2020, 11:13 AM

338 posts

Ohh... i thought everyone approaches sellers here on LYN forums, but then, these few days, I never see any big thread for those.
TSxKeneshirox
post Nov 13 2020, 11:40 AM

338 posts

But how do you guys judge the trustworthiness of those not-established stores. I mean, I see someone selling a Ryzen 5600x for 1.5k saja, and yet other people selling it for 1.8k instead. Feels SO suspicious. And yet, those 1.8k clowns all claim to ship from China. cannot help but feel all of them are scammers

This post has been edited by xKeneshirox: Nov 13 2020, 11:41 AM
TSxKeneshirox
post Nov 26 2020, 10:43 AM

338 posts

QUOTE(604weekendwarrior @ Nov 21 2020, 09:57 PM)
So I ended up going to Lowyat and spent a good 2 hours there going from store to store to see who could price out my rig as close as they could to the online prices. 

Went to TMT, Viewnet, All IT Hypermarket, C-Zone, PC Image, and one more  I forgot which one.

All were able to quote but at least RM 300-800 more than what I could get online.  Though some of them listed out the prices line by line and I asked whether I can buy individually.

Only Viewnet let me pick which ones I wanted whereas the rest said it's a package deal. 
Only restriction with Viewnet is that I had to buy the CPU/mobo together, not a problem for me since I'm looking for the whole PC.
So 4 out of 8 parts I was able to pick up today, the rest I've just ordered on Shopee (since you guys recommend shopee more).

Coincidentally, the 2 out of 4 parts I picked up today were parts that would have taken 10+ working days to get to me, so provided I get my parts next week I can start playing games a week earlier  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the advice all, from the much grateful foreigner  thumbsup.gif
Glad you benefitted from the thread. Ye, i went LY a couple of years back to check prices. Lotsa "don't buy this one, buy this other one", lotsa direct haggling, which is always a lil bit scary for me cause you can't take time, look at what they have on offer, and they pressure you.
But I HAVE found some good deals in LY before. Just, ya know, gotta spend a lotta time walking around. And haggling. Which i suck at
TSxKeneshirox
post Dec 8 2020, 02:21 PM

338 posts

Kek. Just browsing shopee. Looking at people selling 3080s for 1.5k.
Ok kawan. Cmon la, wan scam people must rajin a bit. Must research

0.0179sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:25 PM