post Nov 8 2020, 07:31 PM, updated 4y ago

Getting Started
227 posts

Dear Thelma: I've had no job for 2 years, despite applying for over 800 jobs
LIVING
Sunday, 08 Nov 20203:00 PM MYT
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «

Dear Thelma,

I have an undergraduate degree in Biotechnology since 2018, and I am also unemployed for two years now. Obviously, I did not choose to be unemployed.
I have tried through all the job-search portals available, and even walked to nearby companies to give out my resume.

From the very start, I was aware of the mistake that graduates make, so I had minimum expectation for my first job. But very soon, I decided to set my expectation even lower and opened for any pay and any conditions. Slowly, I started to be available for any jobs, including the ones outside my field of interest.

I get irritated whenever my friends ask,"Have you got any job yet?"

Checking my email every morning, they don't know how I feel about the rejection emails that I receive every single day. I don't tell them about it because I feel it is not important.
Every day, my mother nags at me for sitting at home, staring at the laptop or reading books. She suggested that I do a course in the meantime. So I enrolled for an undergraduate online course in the field of arts. Watching all my money in the bank draining for the online course and PTPTN is stressful. Is it too much for me to ask for a break and be unproductive for a short while?

I have applied for over 800 jobs and attended five interviews so far and did not manage to get through any of it. I was called "overqualified" for one, and I was insulted in another.

I felt my self-respect was deeply attacked and regretted keeping my ego under control. Is it a norm that a fresh grad should not have self-respect, Thelma?