Lazada
Shopee
labtec
post Nov 7 2020, 01:56 AM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(buqiuren @ Nov 7 2020, 01:44 AM)
Folks, sum-up the promotion in coming 11.11 for AX1800 entry router:
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/11/07/7dSHh9.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/11/07/7dSHh9.md.jpg </a>
DIR-X1860
Lazada: Lazada
Shopee
TP-Link Archer AX20
Lazada:Lazada
Shopee
ASUS RT-AX55
Lazada
Shopee
ASUS RT-AX56U
Lazada
Shopee
i'm going to get unifi 30Mbps. which router that tmnet will give and is it advise to get any of the router here?
Ludwig.
post Nov 7 2020, 01:57 AM

LOOOL
539 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Nov 7 2020, 01:56 AM)
i'm going to get unifi 30Mbps. which router that tmnet will give and is it advise to get any of the router here?
no, it'll just be a waste of money
most likely the router tm gave you is sufficient
JayceOoi
post Nov 7 2020, 04:22 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Get AX56U

QUOTE(Ludwig. @ Nov 7 2020, 01:57 AM)
no, it'll just be a waste of money
most likely the router tm gave you is sufficient
A better wireless route is always welcome. Much better range and coverage. I am using AC68U even during 8Mbps Streamyx age. smile.gif
akhito
post Nov 7 2020, 11:10 AM

745 posts

for 100Mbps and above only considering upgrade router. Just try the stock router from TM 1st if got issues there is always 12/12 or 1/1
xCryptik
post Nov 7 2020, 03:20 PM

584 posts

RT-AX55 Looks Cool! LOL
fkinmeng
post Nov 7 2020, 03:50 PM

6,373 posts

The price gap between lazada and shopee for ax56u. sleep.gif
Digifriend07
post Nov 7 2020, 03:53 PM

596 posts

Get asus router. They’ll continue to gip update usually 4 years after the router launched...
acbc
post Nov 7 2020, 04:00 PM

9,041 posts

No D-Link. Sampah brand. Dunno how many units I have at home all dead. Everything from routers, switches, USB WiFi and even print servers.

Longest serving will be my old Linksys routers and TP-Link access points. Heck, even the cheap Comfast brand more reliable than D-Link.

Might repurpose the husks with Raspberry Pi boards later.
JohnLai
post Nov 7 2020, 07:47 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

A word of warning.
Don't buy TP-Link AX20 if anyone here wants to use the OneMess functionality.
TP-Link pulled a bait and ignorance on previously AX50 model. They added the NOTICE below after FLASH SALES of AX50. dry.gif
Note that it is "planned" for the OneMess. Who knows if TP-Link will pull another same stunt on AX20 too. puke.gif

https://community.tp-link.com/us/home/forum/topic/224142
TP-Link official statement regarding WPA3 and OneMesh Compatibility.
2020-08-27 00:23:37 - last edited 2020-08-27 00:23:55
Model:General Product
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Recently we have had some inquiries about the OneMesh and WPA3 compatibility update for our products, such as the Archer AX50 and Archer AX3000.  While "Coming Soon" was never intended as a guarantee and more of a reference we understand how it was causing some confusion.  To that regard we have made changes to the splash pages for these two services to better articulate the actual intent.  "Coming Soon" has been changed to "Planned".  We also encourage you to review the disclaimer note at the top of the page for further explanation. 

Splash pages for these two services can be found here:

WPA3:
Note: The WPA3 firmware update for products marked "Planned" are not a guarantee. Firmware will only be added should resources and hardware allow. The compatible device list will be updated regularly and the information of planned models is only for reference; TP-Link reserves the right to modify this page at any time without notifying the user.

OneMesh:
Note: The OneMesh firmware update for products marked "Planned" are not a guarantee. Firmware will only be added should resources and hardware allow. The compatible device list will be updated regularly and the information of planned models is only for reference; TP-Link reserves the right to modify this page at any time without notifying the user.
shinjite
post Nov 7 2020, 07:53 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 7 2020, 07:47 PM)
A word of warning.
TP-Link pulled a bait and ignorance on previously AX50 model. They added the NOTICE below after FLASH SALES of AX50. dry.gif
Note that it is "planned" for the OneMess. Who knows if TP-Link will pull another same stunt on AX20 too. puke.gif

OK, definitely AX55 is the one to go for me. RM259 is a steal!
Exeunt
post Nov 7 2020, 11:19 PM

828 posts

ASUS RT-AX56U vs ASUS RT-AX55

which is better is sifu ? for 100mbps/300mpbs for 3k sqft house
TSbuqiuren
post Nov 8 2020, 01:59 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Nov 7 2020, 11:19 PM)
ASUS RT-AX56U vs ASUS RT-AX55

which is better is sifu ? for 100mbps/300mpbs for 3k sqft house
It depend on are you going to use the USB port and how many devices you going to connect?
RT-AX56U come with 2 USB ports, 2.0 and 3.1 and it had higher RAM size 512MB compared to 256MB in RT-AX55.

RAM size always the higher is better.
blacktubi
post Nov 8 2020, 09:31 AM

-
8,401 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 7 2020, 07:47 PM)
A word of warning.

TP-Link OneMesh firmware for Archer AX20 is already released. wink.gif

JohnLai
post Nov 8 2020, 08:00 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 8 2020, 09:31 AM)
TP-Link OneMesh firmware for Archer AX20 is already released.  wink.gif
O.o?
That is unexpected indeed.

Then I have to retract my earlier post. sweat.gif
fkinmeng
post Nov 8 2020, 10:05 PM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 8 2020, 08:00 PM)
O.o?
That is unexpected indeed.

Then I have to retract my earlier post.  sweat.gif
But not for Malaysia's version right? I remember someone said it's only for v1.0 but ours is v1.2
JohnLai
post Nov 8 2020, 10:10 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Nov 8 2020, 10:05 PM)
But not for Malaysia's version right? I remember someone said it's only for v1.0 but ours is v1.2
I saw both V1.0 and v1.2 being sold at my local pc shops last week. confused.gif

Can't be sure if v1.2 supports OneMess or WPA3 or not. hmm.gif
Secret Hunter
post Nov 8 2020, 10:14 PM

271 posts

Im on unifi 500Mbps
may I know which router should i get?
currently using is unifi router tp link archer c1200
sHawTY
post Nov 8 2020, 11:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Nov 8 2020, 10:14 PM)
Im on unifi 500Mbps
may I know which router should i get?
currently using is unifi router tp link archer c1200
If you need USB function, RT-AX56U
If you don't need USB, RT-AX55U
TSbuqiuren
post Nov 9 2020, 01:28 AM

49 posts

Not sure is V1.2 going to update to onemesh?
This is the trick tp-link always played. Different version different firmware.

So far no update on v1.2.

https://pictr.com/images/2020/11/09/7donuV.md.jpg
xCryptik
post Nov 10 2020, 12:37 PM

584 posts

ASUS RT-AX55 Any reviews online?
michaelkhai
post Nov 10 2020, 10:45 PM

45 posts

Any existing Asus RT-AX56U owner here? What's the price of this router before 11.11?
pizzaboyj
post Nov 11 2020, 12:09 AM

321 posts

The Shopee AX56U price hasn't updated yet :/
XeactorZ
post Nov 11 2020, 12:25 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 11 2020, 12:09 AM)
if you refer this thread it seems sold out hence back to normal price laugh.gif
shinjite
post Nov 11 2020, 12:31 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Nov 11 2020, 12:09 AM)
It's long gone, within 1 minute
silentsunami
post Nov 11 2020, 12:32 AM

891 posts

TUF-AX3000 is selling for 529 in Lazada
shinjite
post Nov 11 2020, 12:40 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Nov 11 2020, 12:32 AM)
TUF-AX3000 is selling for 529 in Lazada
You can get it for RM487.50 at Shopee now from ookas.plus
laksamana
post Nov 11 2020, 12:41 AM

1,356 posts

That AX55 at 259 quid on Laza is very tempting ...
shinjite
post Nov 11 2020, 12:42 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Nov 11 2020, 12:41 AM)
That AX55 at 259 quid on Laza is very tempting ...
I ended up getting it after I failed to get the AX56U. I remember I have cash in my lazada wallet hahahaha. I don't really need the USB function.
laksamana
post Nov 11 2020, 12:44 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 11 2020, 12:42 AM)
I ended up getting it after I failed to get the AX56U. I remember I have cash in my lazada wallet hahahaha. I don't really need the USB function.
It's mainly to replace one of my mesh nodes

Let me sleep on it ...
silentsunami
post Nov 11 2020, 12:46 AM

891 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 11 2020, 12:40 AM)
Just saw it, for 200 more, should I get the tuf-ax3000 instead of ax56u?
laksamana
post Nov 11 2020, 12:49 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Nov 11 2020, 12:46 AM)
Just saw it, for 200 more, should I get the tuf-ax3000 instead of ax56u?
It really depends on the coverage size of your home / number of devices connected

In a <1,000 sq ft unit, the 56U should be sufficient
Skylines93
post Nov 11 2020, 12:50 AM

46 posts

so AX55 or AX20? hmm
silentsunami
post Nov 11 2020, 12:56 AM

891 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Nov 11 2020, 12:49 AM)
It really depends on the coverage size of your home / number of devices connected

In a <1,000 sq ft unit, the 56U should be sufficient
It's double storey
XeactorZ
post Nov 11 2020, 10:26 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 11 2020, 12:40 AM)
I wondering why Ookas is shopee mall which selling RM 519 which is slightly more expensive than ookas plus which selling for RM 487.50
But at the end I still bought from ookas plus as cheaper alot compared to ookas
laksamana
post Nov 11 2020, 10:51 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Nov 11 2020, 12:56 AM)
It's double storey
In that case, you're better off with two AX routers in mesh

2 x AX55 will do the job very nicely, especially if you have ethernet backhaul
silentsunami
post Nov 11 2020, 12:18 PM

891 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Nov 11 2020, 10:51 AM)

Thinking about that too but i don't have ethernet backhaul in the house. the options now is either using Wifi extender or homeplug.
pizzaboyj
post Nov 11 2020, 02:13 PM

321 posts

any one else managed to find other good deals?
laksamana
post Nov 11 2020, 02:32 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(silentsunami @ Nov 11 2020, 12:18 PM)
Thinking about that too but i don't have ethernet backhaul in the house. the options now is either using Wifi extender or homeplug.
Although I cannot find any online reviews yet, as a mesh system, 2 units of AX55 should have no problem connecting via wireless backhaul

I am currently running AiMesh using different routers / mixed ethernet and wireless backhauls

You do not need any extenders
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 12 2020, 12:30 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 7 2020, 04:00 PM)
No D-Link. Sampah brand. Dunno how many units I have at home all dead. Everything from routers, switches, USB WiFi and even print servers.

Longest serving will be my old Linksys routers and TP-Link access points. Heck, even the cheap Comfast brand more reliable than D-Link.

Might repurpose the husks with Raspberry Pi boards later.
+1

twice kana with d-link, so that's it. the latest one with wifi adapter that damn thing stopped working and kenot be detected in any pc and laptop

JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 12 2020, 12:33 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Nov 11 2020, 10:51 AM)

wise suggestion.

the beauty with aimesh system is that u can mix and match with other asus routers that support aimesh, ax or ac

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Nov 12 2020, 12:34 PM
eoahud
post Nov 12 2020, 07:25 PM

109 posts

Just curious on the speed, is 2x RT-AX56U better than Mesh Wifi like TP-LINK Deco M5 AC1300?

Anyone did any comparison before?
blacktubi
post Nov 12 2020, 10:50 PM

-
8,401 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Nov 12 2020, 12:33 PM)
wise suggestion.

the beauty with aimesh system is that u can mix and match with other asus routers that support aimesh, ax or ac
That's the only beauty I afraid. Stability and performance depends on which models used. Roaming is pretty much non-existent.

I highly value roaming in a mesh WiFi system. Without a good roaming, mesh WiFi is nothing more than wireless repeater on same SSID.
fkinmeng
post Nov 13 2020, 11:59 AM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 8 2020, 10:10 PM)
I saw both V1.0 and v1.2 being sold at my local pc shops last week. confused.gif

Can't be sure if v1.2 supports OneMess or WPA3 or not. hmm.gif
there is an update on their website: https://www.tp-link.com/my/onemesh/product-list/

Archer AX20 V1 V1.20 support to be released

AX1800 Dual-Band Wi-Fi 6 Router
laksamana
post Nov 13 2020, 12:03 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 12 2020, 10:50 PM)
That's the only beauty I afraid. Stability and performance depends on which models used. Roaming is pretty much non-existent.

I highly value roaming in a mesh WiFi system. Without a good roaming, mesh WiFi is nothing more than wireless repeater on same SSID.
Roaming on my Ai Mesh has been pretty good actually, I achieve 99% good handoff to the best node

What's weird is that it's just 3 different Asus routers cobbled together in mesh

No complaints from me
Khalid21
post Nov 13 2020, 12:47 PM

1,138 posts

tplink deco ax20 vs Asus ZenWiFi AX Mini XD4 identical price range
anybody review this
JohnLai
post Nov 13 2020, 08:28 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Nov 13 2020, 11:59 AM)
there is an update on their website: https://www.tp-link.com/my/onemesh/product-list/
Hmmm....I never again trust TP-Link on delivering the promise until the company actually released the functionality.
Note: The OneMesh firmware update for products marked "Planned" is not a guarantee. The compatible device list will be updated regularly, and TP-Link reserves the right to modify this page at any time without notifying the user. Both listed and higher hardware versions of these models are compatible with OneMesh.

Next thing you know, they said "Archer AX20 V1 V1.20 support to be released" is just a "plan" again. dry.gif

Last time, they also claim AX50 = "WPA3 WILL BE AVAILABLE". rolleyes.gif

Guess how that turned out.

There were many times that TP-Link forced to "release" features on other routers.......EXTREMELY half-baked features with no further support just to satisfy the promise "Hey, we did released it". puke.gif

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Nov 13 2020, 08:29 PM
silentsunami
post Nov 13 2020, 09:55 PM

891 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Nov 11 2020, 02:32 PM)
Although I cannot find any online reviews yet, as a mesh system, 2 units of AX55 should have no problem connecting via wireless backhaul

I am currently running AiMesh using different routers / mixed ethernet and wireless backhauls

You do not need any extenders
Just got the Asus AX56U , so far the reception quite ok. 5G signal can cover 2nd floor back room, my router is at TV cabinet. Quite impress with AX56U compare to the TP-Link Archer C7 that come with Unifi
flam1x
post Nov 15 2020, 01:07 AM

112 posts

I got myself the ax56u, 11.11 sales below RM 300,super happy

Was using ac87u. Can say ax56u coverage is way much better. However, the nightmare begins when my smart home switches can't pair with ewelink app using 56u, I have to use a repeater for the smart switches

Hope there's a fix to this in future firmware or ewelink update
blacktubi
post Nov 15 2020, 11:41 AM

-
8,401 posts

QUOTE(flam1x @ Nov 15 2020, 01:07 AM)

Was using ac87u. Can say ax56u coverage is way much better. However, the nightmare begins when my smart home switches can't pair with ewelink app using 56u, I have to use a repeater for the smart switches

I think it's due to WiFi 6 compatibility issue.

Try to disable the WiFi 6 function on the RT-AX56U.
flam1x
post Nov 15 2020, 01:45 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 15 2020, 11:41 AM)
I think it's due to WiFi 6 compatibility issue.

Try to disable the WiFi 6 function on the RT-AX56U.
1) Would this damper the range of the router?

2) I also use my old Ac87u as media bridge, connected to this ax56u, disabling wifi6 will it mean I have to change any settings in ac87u?

Appreciate your input. Tq in advance
blacktubi
post Nov 15 2020, 02:31 PM

-
8,401 posts

QUOTE(flam1x @ Nov 15 2020, 01:45 PM)
1) Would this damper the range of the router?

2) I also use my old Ac87u as media bridge, connected to this ax56u, disabling wifi6 will it mean I have to change any settings in ac87u?
Appreciate your input. Tq in advance
1) Nope

2) Probably not
neuromancerx
post Dec 7 2020, 01:28 AM

879 posts

QUOTE(flam1x @ Nov 15 2020, 01:07 AM)

im not in wifi6 ecosystem yet, but i have this issue last time since the iot devices only support 2.4Ghz. My simple solution is by disabling smart connect ie run 2.4 and 5ghz using separate ssid
shahie
post Dec 7 2020, 07:38 AM

506 posts

If you need a wifi quality and improvement, get AX20. if not, or you just need a connection and wifi, for that speed 30mbps, stock wifi router can do.
labtec
post Dec 7 2020, 05:54 PM

1,556 posts

QUOTE(shahie @ Dec 7 2020, 07:38 AM)
If you need a wifi quality and improvement, get AX20. if not, or you just need a connection and wifi, for that speed 30mbps, stock wifi router can do.
yup, i got the Dlink DIR842 from tmnet and so far no issue to receive 2.4G signal in my room on second floor
xelamil
post Dec 12 2020, 02:12 PM

166 posts

Good day.

I am currently using RT-AC86U.
Would the AX-55U be a good match as an AiMesh satellite?

If not, what would be a good (low cost) match?

Thank you.

neuromancerx
post Dec 12 2020, 07:39 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(xelamil @ Dec 12 2020, 02:12 PM)
Good day.

Thank you.
I bought AX-56U, planning to form AiMesh with existing AC86U. I opted this model over AX-55 simply because of the double RAM and flash, and the price difference is very low. To answer your question, you should be fine with that setup. AX-55 is the cheapest setup.
blacktubi
post Dec 12 2020, 09:10 PM

-
8,401 posts

QUOTE(xelamil @ Dec 12 2020, 02:12 PM)
Good day.

Thank you.
Try and let us know how stable/reliable it is and the actual performance.

0.0512sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:46 PM