Recommended tyre pressure for my car 175/70 R13, Toyota Corolla KE70 DX 1981

dwRK
post Nov 7 2020, 08:40 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

cars from this decade using 12~13” rims, tyre pressure usually 28~32 psi only... the cars are quite light below 1000kg

I remember pumping 30 psi as "standard"...after a while when it leaks it gets to proper spec... laugh.gif
dwRK
post Nov 7 2020, 10:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 7 2020, 09:23 PM)
Front axle of typical Japanese passenger car like this is likely to carry more load than rear .

Attached below is a load table applicable to you , namely

[attachmentid=10671298]

Minimum tyre pressure of 2.0 bar is 200 kpa which is also equals to 29 psi .

[attachmentid=10671299]

The speed rating T means this tyre is designed for speed 190 km/hr at a tyre air pressure of  270 kpa aka 39 psi .

Add :

[attachmentid=10671304]
what is the psi, associated with 1000kg of load, per ts' tire size?
dwRK
post Nov 8 2020, 12:25 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

ori spec
dwRK
post Nov 8 2020, 11:19 AM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

search for load index inflation table...you can use any tyre brand's table, these are standards... the table will give you proper inflation for the tyre n load, example...

let say your car 900kg + 300kg (4 adults & luggage)...per tyre = 300kg = 660 lbs...ori size 155/70/13 at 26psi can already take 728 lbs, so more than enough, and this matches the recommendation...so 26psi is good. if you carry 800 lbs load, then you need to inflate to 32psi+

but you say i have 175 not 155 wor...load index 82 vs 75 should i try maybe 24psi or lower? answer is you can try but make sure its not too under inflated...but in practice keeping to 26-30psi imho should be ok...

your pm where i got the old data... https://www.tpressure.com/
dwRK
post Nov 8 2020, 12:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 8 2020, 11:41 AM)
Nope , this table from TRA/USTMA is meant for P175/70R13 i.e tyre for American market .
TS Dunlop SP Sport J5 175/70R13 (Without prefix P) is meant to comply with European spec ETRTO  .
ok...found the ETRTO table... 82 index can support 694 lbs per tyre at 22 psi...

dwRK
post Nov 9 2020, 04:18 PM

the consummate chartist
6,228 posts

your vintage tyre 155 SR 13 aspect ratio is 80... last time pakai tube one...below it's inflation table

it's very close to 82 index...imho safe to use this same range lah... your j5 can pump higher...but I scared too hard may shake your car to pieces... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 9 2020, 05:35 PM

0.0220sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:47 AM