I got Nose Cancer(nasopharyngeal carcinoma) (NPC), A cancer fighter

TSJessica2020 P
post Nov 6 2020, 12:03 AM, updated 6y ago

Probation

Hi fellow forumers, I am Chinese Female and 23 year old year this year and i had NPC . i just want to share about how i been diagnosed with NPC and how the treatment look like and the estimate cost of treating it .

First of all let talk about my lifestyles, i not a smoker or alcohol drinker, i did exercise but not very offen la as i still a student that time , need to rush assignments and prepare for exams. i dont like to eat salted fish or whatever salted preserves food as they say these food will increase the risk of getting NPC and i dont have a family history who got cancer, i am the first one in my family who got cancer . However, my father is a smoker , he like to smoke in the house and i think had inhale alot of 2nd and 3rd hand smoke , maybe this is the factor that put me in risk with NPC.(My DR also assume my case is due to this factor ) (Those fathers who smoke please stay away from your kids when u smoke . these 2nd and 3rd hand smoke really jeopardize ur kids health without notice it . these smokes are silent killer )

I remember 2 year from now . The first symptoms i encounter which is constantly having running nose in a week like 2 to 3 a week , i been sneeze for whole day until the next day i feel better. During that time , i don't concern so much as it was just due to allergy. My nose is not good since i was kid .

On June 2020 , i just realize got a lump on my left side neck (painless and movable swollen lymph node ) around (diameter )5 cm large i guess and there is some blood on my snot when i sneeze . Then, i went to GP. i told him the symptoms i got then he diagnosed bacteria infection and give me some antibiotic. After finish the medicine the lump still remain there , never enlarge or anything. i just leave it for 3 month until September 2020, Yes, i know i made a mistake here , i should go back to the GP as my lump did not go away after the medicine. When i went back to the GP , he said should look for ENT specialist.So he write a letter and refer me to Assunta hospital.

Ok in Assunta , the Dr do endoscopy and CT scan and he found out there is a tumor in my right nasopharynx. During that time , he did not concluded that is a cancer and he say need to do a biopsy to confirm. The Dr ask for RM 10K for the biopsy test (haha private hospital , u know la ) i say i just a fresh graduated and i still unemployed due to covid 19 situation so i cannot afford. Then he refer me to University Malaya Specilaist Centre (UMSC).

In UMSC, i did a biopsy test there which cost RM 1k which is alot cheaper. The result come out , yup i been diagnosed with NPC stage 3. Stage 3 mean the cancer had spread to my 2 side lymph node which cause my lymph node swelling.I remenber the first thing i ask the Dr is my case same with Datuk Lee Chong Wei? he said sorry boy urs is much serious than he had. Ok, i do have a some sad reaction and emotional when i heard it and i keep ask myself why this happen to me, i only 23 year old. Dr did arrange a Pet scan to check whether the cancer had spread beyond my neck. Lucky the cancer only found in my nose and lymph nodes.

After that , i been transter to PPUM oncology department for treament. So for my case the treament will be 2 cycle of chemotherapy+ radiotherapy (total 33 time ) The estimate cost will be RM 20k . Tmr (6/11/2020) will be the 1st day of treatment so wish me luck.

I will continue to update my condition and the side effect once i felt better. Thank you
fireballs
post Nov 6 2020, 12:09 AM

5,646 posts

jia you!
bobowyc
post Nov 6 2020, 12:13 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

Take care and get well soon. My mom had breast cancer and she over came it, i only hope your family helps you to endure this together as a family. My prayers with you and your family. Praying you will live a long and successful life. smile.gif
kenshin81x
post Nov 6 2020, 12:14 AM

71 posts

All the best. Wishing you a speedy recovery! Keep us updated.
sluive
post Nov 6 2020, 12:22 AM

86 posts

I wish you all the luck to you. Stay strong and don't give up. Ever.
LostBoy93
post Nov 6 2020, 01:53 AM

71 posts

Thanks for sharing.
Do update us !
Jiayou
TruboXL
post Nov 6 2020, 02:41 AM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

Good luck
Break a leg for you
Blofeld
post Nov 6 2020, 08:43 AM

4,700 posts

Thank you for sharing.

I hope this would encourage smokers to stop smoking so that other family members will not be harmed by their actions.
optprime
post Nov 6 2020, 08:50 AM

349 posts

Thank u for sharing.
All the best to u and stay strong.

Recently i have seen a lot of irresponsible men who called themselves father smoking while walking hand in hand with their kids. Just yesterday i saw a man smoking in the car while his kid is in the backseat unstrapped.

TSJessica2020 P
post Nov 6 2020, 09:02 AM

Probation

Thank you all the wishes and blessings. I gonna start my chemotherapy in 30 min. Hope the side effect don’t go too harsh on me. I will update again .
TSJessica2020 P
post Nov 6 2020, 09:09 AM

Probation

QUOTE(optprime @ Nov 6 2020, 08:50 AM)
Thank u for sharing.
All the best to u and stay strong.

Recently i have seen a lot of irresponsible men who called themselves father smoking while walking hand in hand with their kids. Just yesterday i saw a man smoking in the car while his kid is in the backseat unstrapped.
My father used to did this when I was a kid but in another way that my father ride motorcycle and I sit at the back . Hope those fathers who smoke don’t do this while ur child around

carini
post Nov 7 2020, 10:09 AM

Thank you very much for sharing this. Pls rest more and hope u can faster recover.

To all smokers, pls don't smoke when there are non smokers around. Can smokers smoke anywhere in public nowadays or only at designated place/area?
onthefly
post Nov 7 2020, 06:30 PM

1,314 posts

shocking news but wish u all the best. keep us updated
DrBarbarian
post Nov 8 2020, 10:02 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

stay strong.... all the best....
Vintage
post Nov 20 2020, 12:44 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(Jessica2020 @ Nov 6 2020, 12:03 AM)
text
Hi Jessica, I was wondering how you are coping with the treatment so far? My father was recently diagnosed with NPC (between stage 1 & 2) and will be going through radio + chemo next week. Your experience would be helpful for me to understand what my father will go through during this treatment.
Juan86
post Nov 20 2020, 12:50 AM

650 posts

update us
TSJessica2020 P
post Nov 23 2020, 12:08 AM

Probation

QUOTE(Vintage @ Nov 20 2020, 12:44 AM)
Hi Jessica, I was wondering how you are coping with the treatment so far? My father was recently diagnosed with NPC (between stage 1 & 2) and will be going through radio + chemo next week. Your experience would be helpful for me to understand what my father will go through during this treatment.
Hi there , yes i just finish my 1st cycle of chemotherapy (each cycle 2 time ) last friday and my 2nd cycle will start on this coming friday. Luckily the side of chemo doesn't go too harsh on me . what i had experience which is a mild fatigue , loss appetite ,constipation(2nd and 3rd day after chemo) , feel bitterness in my mouth (It may last 3 to 5 day). However, i still able to go for jogging after chemo (it is not advisable if u feel extreme tired and weak ).

it is sad to heard ur dad also been diagnosed with NPC , but dont worry , with advancement of medical technology this disease is highly curable especially during early stage. what i can advise is listen to what doctor said ,always stay positive (i know it maybe hard but family support is very important (For my mum always be my side ) , eat healthy (alot veges and fruit avoid toxic food like prawn and etc ) and exercise more frequently (i went for jog 5km everyday before i start my chemo ) . i believe exercise will help in boosting metabolism as after chemo our body can produce new cell more quickly and therefore side effect will be mild.

so after 2nd cycle , i will proceed to radiotherapy. I will update again once my radio start. Stay strong !!!!
oRoXoRo
post Nov 23 2020, 06:27 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

most importantly is maintain a positive mindset, stay strong TS

you will overcome it
thefryingfox
post Nov 23 2020, 06:33 AM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Bro stay positive and come out of this. You have my respect and support. If need financial aid...pm me I help with what I can. I hope you get well and strong.

You got this bro!
Holiz_Francis12 P
post Nov 23 2020, 06:41 AM

Probation
15 posts

Stay Strong and don't give up. You can overcome it, you got this. May god bless you.

0.0210sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:12 AM