Let's Talk Properties. The Q&As, What would you like to know?

DragonReine
post Apr 13 2021, 07:44 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(YeohKW @ Apr 11 2021, 12:43 AM)
There’s always risk in any types of investment. There’s no best type of investment but the best ways to avoid huge losses is by learning and doing some analysis. However, many prefer to listen to those so called industrial experts than spending time to learn more.
But if you ask me, the reason why property investment remain one of the best investment is because it’s the only investment where you can leverage on other's people money (OPM). To invest in a RM1m property you only need about 20% cash, where as for others, you will need to have equivalent value of the investment amount before you can invest. Correct me if I’m wrong on this. Cos besides property investment, the other investment I’m in are unit trust and some bitcoins. Would like to learn forex too but probably when I learn more about it.

Hope this help
1) Interest rates, legal fees (for transfer and sale later) and maintenance will eat into your profits pretty quickly. That 800k loan (assuming 1mil property with 20% down payment) at fixed 3% p.a. interest will incur more than 400k interest over a 30 year tenure at RM3k/mth instalments, so you're effectively paying RM1.4million on the purchase, which means you need to pray that 30 years later that property will appreciate at least that much. Meanwhile RM200k starting balance in investment, with a monthly additional contribution of RM3k, and a fixed 3% return rate annually, will get you over RM2million after 30 years, without including annual management fees from your UT fund house.

2) it's reliant on you to be able to service instalments, if you buy now at current low interest rates, if base rate for bank changes beyond your affordability you might run into problems

it's great as a form of wealth preservation if you buy at the right price and location, but as a way to profit? very bad 🤣 at least if you purchase a property within the past 6 years.

Don't be fooled by the idea of leveraged investment. The only one that truly works without big risk IRL in Malaysia is ASB loan laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 13 2021, 07:49 PM
DragonReine
post Apr 14 2021, 08:06 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(YeohKW @ Apr 13 2021, 09:56 PM)
wow... from your explanation it seems you are a financial expert! You are quite right with the calculation but you might missed out something too. Not many people actually keep a property for 30 years before selling it. Hence, the calculation you provided might not be 100% representing the actual situation. And for those who keep for 30 years, most likely they buy and stay in the house and not for investment purposes. It's more like they like the property and the environment that they able to live that long in the house. Correct me if im wrong here.

Notes:
Most REN will tell you that property investment is the best
Most Insurance agent will tell you buying insurance is the best
Most financial planner will tell you buying unit trust will offer high return
Most stock brokers will tell you that stocks investment offer fast return

Everyone says their industry is the best... how?
It's true that most investors buy to resell or rent ASAP. The main issue is that due to Malaysia's lack of transparency in housing prices and the rampant practice of inflating SPA prices to get people to finance up to 100% instead of maximum 90%/70%, over the years housing prices have been artificially inflated to the point of unaffordability for most people, especially in high demand areas where a property needs you to fork out nearly a million or higher, except in high density projects or affordable schemes or auction, which comes with their own set of problems. This is not in line with Malaysia's median salary and the relative wealth of the general population. Recent auctions themselves indicate the "true" value, in that banks are often forced to auction off at lower than 70% of SPA after several rounds of wait-and-see.

It means the average retail investor must be prepared to require the resources to buy and hold for a significant amount of time before they can sell a property if they attempt to do so in current situation. We've yet to see government or central bank make significant measures to address the practice of price inflation.

As for the latter, which is best will be dependant on, case by case, the investors' appetite for risk, confidence in cash flow/savings (for leveraged investing like property or margin trading), skill/knowledge in trading/choosing the right place to invest, and ability to stay invested. There's no ultimate best answer as it depends on the individuals needs, wants, age, and capabilities, which will change over the years.

Real estate/insurance/financial agent will obviously sell their own products first and foremost laugh.gif if blindly follow then you're asking for financial death, especially insurance (no insurance out there is genuinely worthwhile as a financial investment).

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 14 2021, 01:22 PM
DragonReine
post Apr 14 2021, 07:09 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(YeohKW @ Apr 14 2021, 04:18 PM)
Totally agreed with you on the inflated pricing. But in recent years, we see things improved as the more incoming supply of properties plus overhang unit, the price slowly drop to a level which reflect the true value. But to some, they see this as a drop in property value instead. Different perception I guess.

I’m a REN by profession but I’m also very transparent in terms of my information sharing with my clients. This is also why I started this thread. To openly reply questions related to real estate rather than to PM here PM there... hopefully be able to provide the right information to the right person who seek for information, before jumping in ...

Regarding insurance, to my understand, it’s an investment for health protection ... dunno how they can relate it to financial investment....  notworthy.gif
Ironically pandemic actually drove prices down to a more reasonable amount, with discounts and banks' increasingly conservative valuation laugh.gif still inflated but less than before. Oversupply and the increasing auction units will likely push prices even down, although I also predict not by much, because the bull run of stock market in 2020 and government incentives means many investors might have made a quick buck, enough to buy a house. High demand projects still getting nearly booked before official launch laugh.gif

Oh you'd be surprised at the number of insurance agents boasting of investment-linked life insurance/endowment plans being good investment doh.gif because it pays the most commission it's also the most marketed and most misrepresented, it's only too late that many buyers who buy such insurance without understanding the numbers realise how much commission fees and sales charges will eat into the profits.
DragonReine
post Apr 17 2021, 07:33 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(respectmypm @ Apr 17 2021, 01:57 PM)
ok, let says average commission earned for 6 months is rm20k.
from this value, multiply it with 20% to give you  value of your income. so it drop to rm4k.
then, let say bank only approve 60% of income as available fund to pay your loan, it drop to 2400.
2400*200 = 480k value property you can buy.

can anyone share their view on this very strict loan approval method? is it true?

https://www.majalahlabur.com/kewangan/pembi...a-dan-usahawan/
For self employed with no fixed income? All banks will give you a hard time to varying degrees, depending on bank. Some are VERY strict (Public) while others will cincai approve as long as your DSR and CCRIS ok (CIMB, HLB) and they're confident you're good paymaster.

However due to pandemic changing so many people's cashflow and with NPLs on the rise + moratoriums cutting into bank profits, all banks will scrutinize high risk customers more intensely, not just because they're less confident people will service loan, but economic depression means crime and illegal activity tends to rise, so they'll be extra cautious of people/businesses where they cannot verify how you gained your income easily.
DragonReine
post Apr 18 2021, 02:18 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(YeohKW @ Apr 17 2021, 10:16 PM)
Some bank will even ask for a guarantor despite purchaser having a job and stable income which can easily get a loan.
My experience usually one or both of the following;

1) high risk business/job (either because tendency of staff turnover/job change is high, or is a business where stability of earnings is unpredictable).
2) CCRIS/CTOS score sub par. Usually because got too many high risk loan (personal loan or credit card), high credit card utilisation, or the most surprising to most people, lack of CCRIS history (because person never applied card/loan before or settled past loans before applying house loan).

#2 is a shock to people because many think having no loan/card = bank more likely to approve loan, but in fact the lack of credit history is just as bad as having poor credit history, because banks aren't just evaluating your DSR but also your history as a paymaster. If they see no history it's risky because they can't know how good of a paymaster you are.
DragonReine
post Apr 19 2021, 12:19 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Apr 18 2021, 07:11 PM)
Is it true once HOC is over, SST already kicked in, house will become more expensive?

Some property agents told me on this.
apakah 🤣 you mean for buying house within nexr few months? no rush la because government said want to extend HOC, although with some changes

any SST on construction materials for current launches, developer long factored it in into the retail pricing tongue.gif don't be fooled by agents trying to prey on your FOMO

Klang Valley and Johor still having major oversupply especially for high rise, so don't rush into things, do your homework and due diligence for your investment first
DragonReine
post Apr 19 2021, 09:44 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 19 2021, 07:41 AM)
How long do you think the current low OPR will stay in force?
Until economy goes back to normal.

Low OPR aim is encourage spending (via investing or loans) to get money circulating into the economy.

Think of finance and economy and the flow of money as one giant circular supply chain. When people put money in saving account / fixed deposits / money market funds, they're "dead" money because it doesn't actively flow in market. Conversely, when you invest/take loans, your money flows out to businesses, who then get capital to grow, which then can grow more money for the broader economy to partake in.
DragonReine
post Apr 19 2021, 07:29 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Apr 19 2021, 05:54 PM)
To answer this, most of the projects with the HOC one which I come across usually the sales quite slow one.. Those without the HOC package, usually are the ones with consistent sales performance.

I have come across some funny cases whereby the price in the pricelist was inflated to give the perception that the price has been deducted 10% from the pricelist. However, based on the pricelist given before the HOC, which was deemed as HOC price is certainly an 'overvalued pricelist' which i dont think the banks are going to accept it as the valuation point of the project.

By the way, it in turns become a very effective marketing tool to promote the property. But there are still developers who have market it right then those funny cases that I believe is quite misleading.
☝️ Bolded above.

Very important for investors especially those intending to flip to do homework, which means either nicely enquire with your favourite bank officer to help get a verbal valuation, or use tools like Brickz (which records transactions based on subsale, but subsales do give a decent benchmark on the REAL value of the area i.e. what people are willing to and have already paid for) and do your own self valuation. If for rental, look up advertised rental for already completed and existing projects in the area which has similar amenities/room size/furnishing etc., and to be safe deduct 10% from advertised rental because sure got arrangements where advertised rates are not the same as real rates laugh.gif.
DragonReine
post Apr 26 2021, 12:16 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Apr 26 2021, 05:29 AM)
How much cash should I set aside for renovations and cleanup of a subsale property? Painting, flooring, ceiling, wcs, kitchen, etc.
Assess the property for defects and identify areas which will affect the long term integrity and cause major problems. The 'big four' to look out for are

1) Water damage
2) Plumbing/sewerage
3) Electrical/wiring
4) Presence of termites/major pests like rats

These are usually issues that can cost you up to hundreds of thousands if not nipped in the bud early.

Get a reliable home inspection company to check the property for you and then approach a contractor for costs for fixing/preventing these defects.

Things like painting, appliances, cabinets/wardrobe etc. can be done piece by piece/in stages as and when you get funding.

General recommendation is to not spend more than 10% of the property price on renovation, unless you're rich and this is going to be your forever home/holding it for at least twenty years.
DragonReine
post Apr 26 2021, 01:26 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Zwean @ Apr 26 2021, 12:46 PM)
If old house I plan to do like this, please give some pointers if wrong

1) Water damage - Re-do roof struts + replace roof tiles (15-20k), change part to cement when extend front (Extension front 35k)
2) Plumbing/sewerage - Re-do + change toilet position (10k)
3) Electrical/wiring - Re-do (3k use indon)
4) Presence of termites/major pests like rats (2k inject chemical down 5 years guarantee for termite prevention)
Should be ok, although admittedly I've not kept myself updated for past two years prices.

If also staying there for long term and have extra funds for it + big rooftop, might want to look into installing solar panels to take advantage of savings/earnings from net metering scheme. Banks these days also have interest free/low interest loan on installing panels with zero/low upfront cost. Currently savings on monthly electricity for solar panels is around 20% to 30%, which can mean a cool few hundred if your house is big.

Just that it might not be aesthetically pleasing tongue.gif
DragonReine
post Apr 27 2021, 08:27 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ Apr 27 2021, 03:59 AM)
Thanks for the advice.
This would be a subsale condo/apartment for own stay.
10% of the the property is a good start along with the 'big four' advice. I wanted to get an idea of how much i should budget as this is a first purchase.
Glad to help! I would say also that don't overspend on first purchase wink.gif Furnishings especially, you can and should take time to accumulate select good quality pieces that can last, like a nice sofa etc. Most people eventually move out/upgrade from their first home, especially near retirement, so focus on comfort and practical needs first. Too many built in furnishings especially if you do a lot of interior decorating in a particular style will affect future resale value because it can look very dated and out of trend in a decade.

Good luck!
DragonReine
post Apr 30 2021, 06:50 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Apr 30 2021, 11:41 AM)
is that true all condominiums will have to apply TNB as commercial first then only convert after VP?

i got this information from developer for under-con residential condo and this is part of TNB guideline
If I recall correctly, this only applies to residential properties under commercial title (i.e. service apartments).

Developer would have initially applied commercial first as title is commercial.

Subsequently when VP you as owner when apply for electricity supply for your unit you can apply to get residential tariff. Some developers will claim to do this for you on your behalf.

Condos under residential title there is no need to convert, unless the land itself isn't converted to residential title.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Apr 30 2021, 06:56 PM
DragonReine
post May 2 2021, 01:51 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(tjuin @ May 2 2021, 10:34 AM)
I'm planning to buy my first property but I can't decide whether I should buy it for investment or own stay.
Let's say I buy my first property for investment and use to collect rent, 3 years down I decide to buy another one for my own stay, how would that affect my loan chances?
1) DSR/commitment if too high will affect chance of approval (banks don't really look at rental income because it's high risk income which isn't steady)

2) Bank may not give you 90% of SPA loan margin if they see high DSR and you're buying several properties in a short period of time, unless your annual salary is in 6 figures range 😅
DragonReine
post May 3 2021, 12:22 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(tjuin @ May 3 2021, 11:35 AM)
I still have many things to consider I guess, one of the reason I asked was because I was told by a colleague before that its better to do it this way as with the proof of rental income you can still get loans for the second house easily. But its definitely great to get diff opinions. Thank you all for the reply, it was really helpful!! biggrin.gif
NP! Banks rarely take 100% rent as income because they will account for things like agent fees, maintenance costs, assessment tax+quit rent etc., the % they use varies from bank to bank, and will depend on whether they view your tenancy agreement as valid and/or if you submit proof of steady income (like bank statements). Some will only accept based on your tax declaration of rental income, which usually is already nett after deducting expenses, so it won't be much on nett income already. So your colleagues' assurance, while correct technically, is very misleading.
DragonReine
post May 18 2021, 06:46 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(cwt2878 @ May 18 2021, 10:10 AM)
Sorry, should be more specific, the old building is not demolished, i think they will only redo the facade, internal electrical n plumbing plus some wall adjustment.
1) Is this residential or marketed as 'residential under commercial title'? Progress schedule under HDA only applies to residential use properties like suite apartment. SOHO/SOVO/SOFO don't count arh that's consider commercial property, no HDA style progress payment.

2) Ask for draft SPA, you can see if it's under HDA schedule because there will be a Schedule G or Schedule H on top of first page + mention of HDA

But usually for "refurbished" cases not under HDA la, cos it's simply cosmetic upgrade of existing building structure. Will be similar to subsale or commercial property sale, you need to start paying loan immediately once developer sends billing to bank asking bank to release money.
DragonReine
post May 19 2021, 09:43 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(cwt2878 @ May 19 2021, 09:38 AM)
Still pending APDL, so nothing black n white yet.

Yeah... I am expecting will need to service a big portion of the loan once SPA signed.
Ah, cool, you can try ask for copy of existing land title also, if nothing on it mentions for residential purpose or for the purpose of "bangunan servis" then it's most likely commercial property

most likely have to fork out large DP 😅 banks usually only give max 80% for commercial use, and even then quite rare, so you need to give the full differential sum on SPA signing unless developer give special arrangement in SPA (like payment in instalments etc)
DragonReine
post Nov 17 2021, 11:51 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Nov 17 2021, 11:16 AM)
new properties that listen with 0% downpayment, no legal fees, etc

is it real? like i only need to pay for booking fee to purchase a house?
no hidden charges
A lot of newly launched properties have such promos, but please read the fine print carefully.

Most only cover legal fees if you sign with their panel lawyers.

You usually still need to pay for stamp duty on memorandum/instrument of transfer aka MOT (chargeable when received vacent possession) and for loan agreement.

However if you're first home owner there's full stamp duty exemption given to both MOT and loan agreement for the purchase of a first home worth not more than RM500,000.

This exemption will be for the Sale and Purchase Agreement completed between January 2021 to 31 December 2025.

In addition there's current Home Ownership Campaign where you can apply to waive the stamp duty for MOT, subject to application of unit with REDHA (not all projects/units within project are under MOT).

Beware that sometimes during application of HOC developer often marks up property price to report to REDHA and this may cause you to need to pay extra charges (sometimes few hundred, sometimes few thousand) because there's a difference between initial agreed price and the REDHA price.

Note that properties with 0% downpayment are often sold at "future price" and are over current market value, so if you're doing this for investment/short term stay, be aware that there's high chance you're overpaying for the property, so do your due diligence.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Nov 17 2021, 11:53 AM
DragonReine
post Nov 17 2021, 12:44 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Nov 17 2021, 12:36 PM)
thanks alot for the insight
im afraid of the MOT charges,  i don't have much cash in hard for this. this is what i worry about.
If you want to avoid MOT altogether then your best bet would be to look for any property with ongoing HOC, or look for property under 500k under residential title if you're first time home buyer to be eligible for exemption.

Other T&Cs associated with first home buyer exemption:
- Only for the Sale and Purchase Agreement that is completed between 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2025.

- Excludes SOHO/SOFO/SOVO types, as well as serviced residences.

- First-time homebuyers must be Malaysian citizens.

- The buyer must not already own a property; if he/she has inherited a property or was given one (no matter if individual or joint ownership), then he/she is no longer eligible.
MOT will only collect when property is fully constructed so it depends if you're able to save up that much during the construction period.
DragonReine
post Nov 17 2021, 01:08 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Nov 17 2021, 12:49 PM)
oh.
this is new. thanks
but the <RM500k limit  sweat.gif
yeah 😅 limited to smaller high rise or non-klang valley property.
DragonReine
post Nov 18 2021, 11:10 AM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(katmai81 @ Nov 18 2021, 07:33 AM)
Can I clarify the following are the miscellaneous fees for buying a new or subsale property

1) stamp duty for MOT (which is also stamp duty for SPA)
2) legal fees for SPA
3) legal fees for loan
4) stamp duty for loan
5) loan processing fees
6) disbursement fees

Anything else I m missing out?
And how much each of these cost usually when taking consideration of the property price (is it 5% of the selling price)
Tq
Can calculate the standard fees for stamp duty and legal fees from the following graphic:

0.0244sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:19 AM